Telecom Commission Letter Adressed to Tom Woo (TELUS Communications Company)

Ottawa, 28 March 2017

Our reference:  8740-T66-201612292

BY EMAIL

Mr. Tom Woo
Senior Regulatory Advisor
Telecom Policy & Regulatory Affairs
TELUS Communications Company
10-10020-100 Street NW
Edmonton, Alberta
Canada T5J 0N5
tom.woo@telus.com

RE: TELUS Communications Company Tariff Notices 516 and 516A – Annual Provincial AB/BC 9-1-1 Service Rates

Dear Sir,

On 1 December 2016 and 8 December 2016 respectively, the Commission received applications by TELUS Communications Company (TELUS) under Tariff Notice 516 (TN 516) and Tariff Notice 516A (TN 516A), in which TELUS proposed a revision to its General Tariff CRTC 21461, Item 203 – Provincial 9-1-1 Service. TELUS filed its applications as group A filings.

In its applications, TELUS proposed a 2017 Provincial 9-1-1 Service rate for each access to the public switched telephone network (PSTN) of $0.09 per month, and for each wireless telephone number of $0.05 per month. The company submitted that it had completed the recalculation of its service rates for 2017 in accordance with the Commission-approved methodology set out in Telecom Decision CRTC 99-17,  9-1-1 Service – Rates for Wireless Service Providers Centrex Customers and Multiline Customers/Manual Access to the Automatic Location Identification database, October 29, 1999 (Decision 99-17), and Telecom Order CRTC 2000-630,  Rates Modified for Province-Wide 9-1-1 Service, July 6, 2000 (Order 2000-630). In addition, TELUS submitted that the recalculation was in accordance with the weight-averaging approach approved in Telecom Order CRTC 2004-49, TELUS Communications Inc., Amalgamation of Provincial 9-1-1 Service, February 18, 2004.

The Commission received comments from Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers) and Freedom Mobile Inc. (Freedom Mobile) regarding TELUS’ 2017 monthly wireless telephone number portion of the Provincial 9-1-1 Service rates. Both Rogers and Freedom Mobile submitted that further to Decision 99-17, the wireless rate must be 50 percent of the PSTN Access rate and should therefore be $0.045 for 2017 rather than $0.05, as proposed by TELUS.

In response to the comments from Rogers and Freedom Mobile, TELUS submitted that its calculations resulted in 2017 integrated 9-1-1 network access and wireless access rates of $0.0919 per wireline PSTN access per month and $0.0460 per wireless telephone number per month, expanding to 4 decimal places. TELUS indicated that using accepted conventional rounding methods, it rounded these amounts to the nearest cent or two decimal places for billing purposes.

Commission staff notes that the provisions of Decision 99-17 and Order 2000-630 apply to TELUS, Bell Canada and MTS Inc., and that the rates approved by the Commission in Order 2000-630 for each PSTN Access were based on two decimal places. Staff has reviewed the methodology used since 2001 by TELUS, Bell Canada and MTS Inc. for the monthly wireless telephone number portion of the Provincial 9-1-1 Service rates, which must be 50 percent of the wireline 9-1-1 rate on a per telephone number basis.  This review has shown that, where the PSTN Access rate calculation resulted in an odd number, the wireless rate that has been filed by these companies has been rounded to three decimal places. An exception to this practice was the filing for 2016 in which TELUS rounded its monthly wireless telephone number portion of the Provincial 9-1-1 Service rates to two decimal places.

Commission staff considers that, given that the financial impacts of the wireless 9-1-1 service rates are significant, it is important that these rates accurately reflect the Commission’s determinations in Decision 99-17 that the 9-1-1 network access rates must be discounted by 50 percent for WSPs. Commission staff is of the view that setting the wireless 9-1-1 service rates rounded to three decimal places achieves this result. This approach is also consistent with the practice used over the past 16 years by the companies that were subject to Decision 99-17 and Order 2000-630.

Accordingly, TELUS is requested to file by 7 April 2017 a revised tariff page for Item 203 using a rate rounded to three decimal places for each wireless telephone number, effective 7 April 2017, for the year 2017.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

cc:  Edward Antecol, Freedom Mobile Inc., eantecol@freedommobile.ca
Howard Slawner, Rogers Communications Canada Inc., rci_gr@rci.rogers.com
Wendy McClintock, CRTC (819) 639-6211, wendy.mcclintock@crtc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Tom Woo (Société TELUS Communications)

Ottawa, le 28 mars 2017

Notre référence : 8740-T66-201612292

PAR COURRIEL

M. Tom Woo
Conseiller principal en matière de réglementation
Politiques de télécommunication et Affaires réglementaires
Société TELUS Communications
100 Street N.-O., bureau 10 020, 10e étage
Edmonton (Alberta)
Canada T5J 0N5
tom.woo@telus.com

OBJET : Avis de modification tarifaire 516 et 516A de la Société TELUS Communications – Tarifs annuels du service 9-1-1 pour les provinces de l’Alberta et de la Colombie-Britannique

Monsieur,

Le Conseil a reçu des demandes de la Société TELUS Communications (TELUS) dans le cadre de l’avis de modification tarifaire 516 (AMT 516) et de l’avis de modification tarifaire 516A (AMT 516A), le 1er et le 8 décembre 2016 respectivement, dans lesquelles TELUS a proposé une révision de l’article 203 du Tarif général CRTC 21461 – Service 9-1-1 provincial. TELUS a présenté ses demandes dans le cadre de dépôts du groupe A.

Dans sa demande, TELUS propose, en 2017, un tarif mensuel pour le service provincial 9-1-1 pour chaque accès au Réseau téléphonique public commuté (RTPC) de 0,09 $, et pour chaque numéro de téléphone sans fil, un tarif mensuel de 0,05 $. L’entreprise a déclaré qu’elle avait terminé le nouveau calcul de ses tarifs de services pour 2017 conformément à la méthode approuvée par le Conseil et dans la Décision télécom CRTC 99-17, Service 9-1-1 – Tarifs applicables aux fournisseurs de services sans-fil, aux abonnés du service Centrex et aux abonnés du service multiligne/consultation manuelle de la base de données d’affichage automatique d’adresses, 29 octobre 1999 et l’Ordonnance de télécom CRTC 2000-630, Modification des tarifs applicables au service 9-1-1 à la grandeur de la province, 6 juillet 2000. De plus, TELUS a indiqué que le nouveau calcul était conforme à la méthode de la moyenne pondérée approuvée dans la Décision télécom CRTC 2004-49, TELUS Communications Inc., Intégration du service 9-1-1 provincial, 18 février 2004.

Le Conseil a reçu les commentaires de Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers) et de Freedom Mobile Inc. (Freedom Mobile) concernant les tarifs mensuels de TELUS 2017 relatif au service 9-1-1 provincial pour la portion des numéros de téléphone sans fil. Rogers et Freedom Mobile ont ajouté qu’en plus de la Décision 99-17, le tarif sans fil doit correspondre à 50 % du tarif d’accès au RTPC, soit 0,045 $ pour 2017 plutôt que 0,05 $, proposé par TELUS.

En réponse aux commentaires de Rogers et de Freedom Mobile, TELUS a déclaré que le résultat de ses calculs pour 2017 était de 0,0919 $, par mois, par accès filaire au RTPC pour l’accès intégré au réseau 9-1-1 et l’accès sans fil, et de 0,0460 $ par numéro de téléphone sans fil par mois, à la quatrième décimale près. TELUS a déclaré qu’en utilisant les méthodes d’arrondissage établies, elle a arrondi les montants au cent ou à la deuxième décimale près pour la facturation.   

Le personnel du Conseil souligne que les dispositions de la Décision 99-17 et de l’Ordonnance 2000-630 s’appliquent à TELUS, à Bell Canada et à MTS Inc., et que les tarifs approuvés par le Conseil dans l’Ordonnance 2000-630 pour chaque accès au RTPC tenaient compte de deux décimales. Le personnel a examiné la méthodologie utilisée par TELUS, Bell Canada et MTS Inc. depuis 2001 dans le calcul des tarifs mensuels du service 9-1-1 provincial pour la portion des numéros de téléphone sans fil qui doit correspondre à 50 % du tarif filaire pour le service 9-1-1 par numéro de téléphone. Cet examen a montré que lorsque le résultat du calcul du tarif d’accès au RTPC était un nombre pair, le tarif sans fil présenté par les entreprises avait été arrondi à trois décimales près. Seule exception à cette pratique, la demande de TELUS en 2016 qui a arrondi la portion des numéros de téléphone sans fil des tarifs mensuels du service 9-1-1 provincial à deux décimales près.

Le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que, compte tenu l’importance de l’incidence financière des tarifs du service 9-1-1 sans fil, il faut que ces tarifs reflètent avec exactitude les conclusions formulées par le Conseil dans la Décision 99-17, c’est-à-dire que les tarifs d’accès au réseau 9-1-1 doivent être réduits de moitié pour les FSSF. Le personnel du Conseil estime que l’arrondissage des tarifs du service 9-1-1 sans fil à trois décimales près arrive à ce même résultat. L’approche est aussi conforme à la pratique utilisée au cours des seize dernières années par les entreprises prescrite par la Décision 99-17 et l’Ordonnance 2000-630.

TELUS doit donc déposer d’ici le 7 avril 2017, une page de tarif révisée pour l’article 203 qui utilise le tarif arrondi à trois décimales près pour chaque numéro de téléphone sans fil. Ces tarifs seront en vigueur le 7 avril 2017 pour l’année 2017.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, L’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation Secteur des télécommunications

c. c: Edward Antecol, Freedom Mobile Inc., eantecol@freedommobile.ca
Howard Slawner, Rogers Communications Canada Inc., rci_gr@rci.rogers.com
Wendy McClintock, CRTC (819) 639-6211, wendy.mcclintock@crtc.gc.ca

Date de modification :