Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Dallas Yeulett (Northwestel)

Ottawa, 24 March 2017

Our reference:  8740-N1-201701821

BY EMAIL

Dallas Yeulett
Senior Manager, Regulatory Compliance
Northwestel
P.O. Box 2727
Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 4Y1
regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca

RE:  Tariff Notice 981– Special Services Tariff, Special Assembly #1 Layer 3 IP/VPN

Dear Sir:

On 9 March, 2017 the Commission received an application by Northwestel Inc. (Northwestel), under Tariff Notice (TN) 981, in which the company proposed changes to Northwestel’s Special Services Tariff CRTC 3010 to revise Item 752, Special Assembly #1 Layer 3 IP/VPN. Among other things, the company proposed to revise the total number of terrestrial served circuits.

Commission staff is continuing its analysis of this application.

Consequently, this application, along with any associated subsequent revisions, will not be approved on an interim basis on the 15th calendar day following receipt. However, the Commission intends to dispose of this application, along with any associated subsequent revisions, within 45 business days of receipt of the filing.

Paragraph 28(1) (a) of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure provides that the Commission may request parties to file information or documents where needed.

Northwestel is requested to provide comprehensive answers, including rationale and any supporting information, to the attached questions by 31 March 2017.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector
c.c: Joanne Baldassi, CRTC, 819-997-3498, joanne.baldassi@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1)


ATTACHMENT

Request for information

At paragraph 2 of its application, Northwestel proposes to revise the total number of terrestrial served circuits to 31 communities with 36 sites. Northwestel also proposes to revise the tariff to remove the reference to satellite sites, which were forborne from rate regulation in Telecom Decision CRTC 2013-710.

Commission staff notes that under TN 894 in which the Special Assembly #1 Layer 3 IP/VPN service was introduced, the monthly rate for this Special Services Tariff was $158,603.25 and that under TN 981, Northwestel is proposing a base monthly charge of $76,605.75.

  1. Identify what is causing the decrease in the monthly rate proposed in TN 981 compared to the rate approved under TN 894.
  2. Identify the portion of the current monthly rate of $158,603.25 that was made up of satellite circuits and the portion that was made up of terrestrial circuits.
  3. If the proposed base monthly charge of $76,605.75 for 36 terrestrial circuits represents an increase to the current terrestrial monthly rate for 35 terrestrial circuits, on a per-circuit basis, explain why an increase is being proposed and confirm whether the customer is in agreement with this increase.
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Dallas Yeulett (Norouestel)

Ottawa, le 24 mars 2017

Notre référence : 8740-N1-201701821

PAR COURRIEL

Dallas Yeulett
Gestionnaire principal, Conformité à la réglementation
Norouestel
C.P. 2727
Whitehorse (Yukon)  Y1A 4Y1
regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca

Objet :  Avis de modification tarifaire 981– Tarif des services spéciaux, IP/RPV, couche 3, montages spéciaux no 1

Monsieur,

Le 9 mars 2017, le Conseil a reçu une demande présentée par Norouestel Inc. (Norouestel), dans le cadre de l’avis de modification tarifaire (AMT) 981, dans laquelle l’entreprise a proposé de modifier le tarif des services spéciaux 3010 en vue de réviser l’article 752, couche 3, montages spéciaux no 1, IP/RPV. Entre autres, l’entreprise a proposé de réviser le nombre total de circuits terrestres desservis.

Le personnel du Conseil poursuit l’analyse de la demande.

Par conséquent, la présente demande, ainsi que toute révision subséquente de celle-ci, ne sera pas approuvée provisoirement le 15e jour civil suivant sa réception. Toutefois, le Conseil compte se prononcer sur cette demande, ainsi que sur toute révision subséquente connexe, au plus tard 45 jours après avoir reçu celle-ci.

Aux termes de l’alinéa 28(1)a) des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, le Conseil peut exiger d’une partie qu’elle lui fournisse les renseignements ou documents qu’il estime nécessaires.

Norouestel est priée de fournir, au plus tard le 31 mars 2017, des réponses détaillées, comprenant les justifications à l’appui, aux questions ci-jointes.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications
c. c. Joanne Baldassi, CRTC, 819-997-3498, joanne.baldassi@crtc.gc.ca

Pièce jointe (1)


PIÈCE JOINTE

Demande d’information

Au paragraphe 2 de sa demande, Norouestel propose de réviser le nombre total de circuits terrestres desservis à 31 collectivités dans 36 emplacements. Norouestel propose également de modifier le tarif en vue de retirer la référence aux emplacements satellites, qui faisaient l’objet d’une abstention de la réglementation des tarifs dans la Décision de télécom CRTC 2013-710.

Le personnel du Conseil remarque que dans l’AMT 894, qui introduisait la couche 3, montages spéciaux no 1, services IP/RPV, le tarif mensuel prévu au tarif des services spéciaux était de 158 603,25 $; dans l’AMT 981, Norouestel propose un tarif mensuel de base de 76 605,75 $.

  1. Quelle est la cause de la diminution du tarif mensuel proposé à l’AMT 981 par rapport au tarif approuvé dans l’AMT 894?
  2. Quelle est la portion du tarif mensuel actuel de 158 603,25 $ composée des circuits satellites et la portion composée des circuits terrestres?
  3. Si le tarif mensuel de base proposé de 76 605m75 $ pour 36 circuits terrestres représente une augmentation du tarif terrestre actuel pour 35 circuits terrestres, veuillez expliquer pourquoi une augmentation est proposée et confirmer si le client est d’accord avec cette hausse.
Date de modification :