Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 24 March 2017

Our reference: 1011-NOC2017-0033

BY EMAIL

To: Distribution List

Subject:  Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2017-33, Review of the regulatory framework for text-based message relay services (MRS Review)  - Request for disclosure of information

Dear Sir/Madam:

This letter addresses requests made by Bell Canada by letter dated 28 February 2017 for the Commission to release the following aggregated information concerning the delivery of traditional message relay services (MRS) in Canada:

Bell Canada also requested an extension to the 3 April 2017 filing deadline for interventions in order to allow interested parties to have at least two weeks to review the data.

In a letter dated 6 March 2017, the Commission responded by inviting parties to file comments regarding Bell Canada’s requests. The Commission subsequently received comments from Cogeco, Québecor Média, and Rogers, each of whom supports the requests made by Bell Canada.
Commission staff is of the view that granting the request to release the information noted above would be in the public interest. The aggregate information would not reveal specific confidential data about any one TSP and Commission staff notes that no TSP opposed Bell Canada’s request. Commission staff considers that no direct harm would result from its release, and no party to the proceeding would be prejudiced. Releasing the data would allow parties to provide more fulsome interventions, thereby contributing to a more complete record on the delivery of MRS services in this proceeding.
As such, on 27 March 2017, Commission staff intends to release the aggregate information requested above. With respect to Bell Canada’s request for an extension to the deadline to file interventions, given that the aggregate data is very high-level and a relatively small amount of data is being released, it is the view of Commission staff that there is insufficient rationale to extend the deadline. Therefore, the 3 April 2017 filing deadline for interventions is maintained.

If you have any questions with regards to this letter, please contact Bradley Gaudet at bradley.gaudet@crtc.gc.ca.

Yours sincerely,

 

Nanao Kachi
Director, Social and Consumer Policy
Consumer Affairs and Strategic Policy

 

Distribution List

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 24 mars 2017

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2017-0033

PAR COURRIEL :

À : Liste de distribution

Objet : Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2017-33, Examen du cadre réglementaire régissant les services de relais téléphonique fondés sur le texte – Demande de divulgation de renseignements

Madame, Monsieur,

La présente fait suite à la lettre datée du 28 février 2017 présentée par Bell Canada afin de demander la divulgation des renseignements agrégés suivants concernant la fourniture au Canada de services de relais téléphonique (SRT) traditionnels :

Bell Canada a également demandé qu’on reporte au 3 avril 2017 la date limite pour le dépôt des observations afin que les parties intéressées disposent d’au moins deux semaines pour examiner les données.

Dans une lettre datée du 6 mars 2017, le Conseil a répondu en invitant les parties à déposer des observations au sujet des demandes de Bell Canada. Le Conseil a subséquemment reçu des observations de Cogeco, Québecor Média et Rogers, qui appuient toutes les demandes formulées par Bell Canada.
Le personnel du Conseil est d’avis qu’approuver la demande de divulgation des renseignements susmentionnés serait dans l’intérêt public. Les renseignements agrégés ne révéleraient aucune information confidentielle sur un FST, et le personnel du Conseil souligne qu’aucun FST ne s’est opposé à la demande de Bell Canada. Le personnel juge que la divulgation ne causerait pas de préjudice direct et ne nuirait à aucune partie à l’instance. La divulgation des données permettrait aux parties de faire des interventions exhaustives, ce qui améliorerait le dossier de l’instance sur la prestation des SRT.
Ainsi, le 27 mars 2017, le personnel du Conseil compte divulguer les renseignements agrégés visés par la demande de Bell Canada. En ce qui concerne la demande visant à faire repousser la date limite de dépôt des interventions, puisque les données agrégées sont très générales et que peu de données seront mises à la disposition du publique, le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que la justification n’est pas suffisante pour repousser la date limite. Ainsi, la date limite pour le dépôt des interventions, soit le 3 avril 2017, est maintenue.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de la présente lettre, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec Bradley Gaudet, à l’adresse bradley.gaudet@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs,

Directeur, Politique sociale et des consommateurs
Consommation et politique stratégique

Nanao Kachi


Liste de distribution