Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Linda Cicco (BT Canada Inc.)

Ottawa, 21 March 2017

Our reference:  8663-C12-201015470

BY EMAIL

Ms. Linda Cicco
Regulatory Compliance Manager
BT Canada Inc.
Suite 1904
200 King Street West
Toronto, Ontario M5H 3T4
linda.cicco@bt.com

RE:  BT Canada Inc. Obligations of local VoIP service providers with respect to 9-1-1 emergency service

Dear Ms. Cicco:

On 7 March 2017, BT Canada Inc. (BT) filed information related to its local VoIP 9-1-1 emergency service. This is to advise you that based on the information provided by BT, including the name of the 9-1-1 service provider, Commission staff is satisfied that BT’s new VoIP service would meet obligations for providing VoIP 9-1-1 service. Commission staff also considers that the proposed customer notification texts submitted by the company for review by the Commission are in compliance with the directives in Telecom Decision 2005-21Footnote 1 and Telecom Decision 2005-61Footnote 2. Finally, as of the date of this letter, Commission staff notes that BT has a Basic International Telecommunications Service (BITS) licence and is on the Commission’s list of Resellers.

It is the company’s responsibility to continue to provide 9-1-1 service to its customers and to provide customer notification texts informing customers of any 9-1-1 service limitations. The customer notification texts must be posted on the company’s website within five (5) business days of this letter or by the date the company begins offering service to consumers. The company is also responsible for meeting all ongoing regulatory filings to maintain its BITS licence and registrations.

Finally, the company is responsible for keeping current with regulations concerning the provision of 9-1-1 service. These regulations can be found on the Commission’s website at http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/telephone8.htm.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Linda Cicco (BT Canada Inc.)

Ottawa, le 21 mars 2017

Notre référence : 8663-C12-201015470

PAR COURRIEL

Madame Linda Cicco
Gestionnaire de la conformité réglementaire
BT Canada Inc.
200, rue King Ouest, bureau 1904
Toronto (Ontario)  M5H 3T4
linda.cicco@bt.com

Objet : BT Canada Inc. Obligations des fournisseurs de services VoIP à l’égard du service d’urgence 9-1-1

Madame,

Le 7 mars 2017, BT Canada Inc. (BT) a déposé des renseignements concernant le service d’urgence 9-1-1 lié à ses services VoIP locaux. Le présent message vise à vous informer qu’après avoir analysé les renseignements fournis par BT, y compris le nom du fournisseur du service 9-1-1, le personnel du Conseil est convaincu que le nouveau service VoIP de BT satisfait à son obligation de fournir un service d’urgence 9-1-1. Le personnel du Conseil estime également que le texte de l’avis aux clients proposé par la compagnie à des fins d’examen par le Conseil est conforme aux directives énoncées dans les décisions de télécom 2005-21Note de bas de page 1 et 2005-61Note de bas de page 2. Enfin, le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer qu’en date de la présente lettre, BT détient une licence pour l’exploitation d’un service de télécommunication internationale de base (STIB) et figure sur la liste des revendeurs du Conseil.

La compagnie est responsable de continuer d’offrir le service 9-1-1 à ses clients et de leur envoyer un avis les informant de toute limite du service 9-1-1. Les avis aux clients doivent être publiés sur le site Web de la compagnie dans les cinq (5) jours ouvrables suivant la date de la présente lettre ou suivant la date à laquelle la compagnie commence à offrir le service aux consommateurs. La compagnie est également responsable de respecter en tout temps les exigences réglementaires en matière de dépôt pour conserver sa licence STIB et ses inscriptions.

Enfin, la compagnie est responsable de rester à l’affût des dispositions réglementaires concernant la prestation du service 9-1-1. Ces dispositions sont énoncées sur le site Web du Conseil à l’adresse http://www.crtc.gc.ca/fra/telephone8.htm.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

L’original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

Date de modification :