Telecom Comission Letter Addressed to Lisa Anderson-Kellett (Deaf Wireless Canada) and Frank Folino (Canadian Association of the Deaf-Association des Sourds du Canada)

Ottawa, 17 March 2017

Our reference: 1011-NOC2017-0033

BY EMAIL

Lisa Anderson-Kellett, Chair
Deaf Wireless Canada
Consultative Committee
251 Bank Street, Suite 606,
Ottawa, Ontario  K2P 1X3
lisa@deafwireless.ca

Frank Folino, President
Canadian Association of the Deaf-
Association des Sourds du Canada
251 Bank Street, Suite 606,
Ottawa, Ontario  K2P 1X3
ffolino@cad.ca

Re:  Request to conduct a national survey in Review of the regulatory framework for text-based message relay services, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-33

Dear Ms. Anderson-Kellett and Mr. Folino:

The Commission received a letter from the Canadian Association of the Deaf-Association des Sourds du Canada (CAD-ASC) and Deaf Wireless Canada Committee (DWCC) dated 10 March 2017 in connection with the Commission’s current review of the regulatory framework for text-based message relay services (MRS)Footnote1 (the review).  

In the letter, CAS-ASC and DWCC requested Commission permission to conduct a national survey in order to respond to the questions set out in the review.  CAD-ASC and DWCC also provided the following timelines with respect to conducting the survey and intervening in the review:

It is open to the CAD-ASC and DWCC, as well as other parties to this proceeding, to choose the manner in which they wish to undertake the required analysis in order to make submissions to assist the Commission in developing a better understanding of the matters under consideration. Such submissions must follow the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Procedure)Footnote2 and the procedure set out in the notice of consultation. Thus, for example, final submissions must address matters within the scope of this proceeding and must not exceed 15 pages.Footnote3

You are encouraged to consult the guidelines set out in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-959, as they provide information to help interested persons and parties understand the Rules of Procedure so that they can more effectively participate in Commission proceedings.

We value your organizations’ contributions to the Commission’s public consultations and look forward to receiving your submissions during the present review of MRS.

If you have any questions with regards to this letter, please contact Bradley Gaudet at bradley.gaudet@crtc.gc.ca.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Nanao Kachi
Director, Social and Consumer Policy
Consumer Affairs and Strategic Policy

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Lisa Anderson-Kellett (Deaf Wireless Canada) and Frank Folino (Canadian Association of the Deaf-Association des Sourds du Canada)

Ottawa, le 17 mars 2017

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2017-0033

PAR COURRIEL

Lisa Anderson-Kellett, présidente
Comité consultatif
Deaf Wireless Canada
251, rue Bank, bureau 606,
Ottawa (Ontario) K2P 1X3
lisa@deafwireless.ca

Frank Folino, président
Canadian Association of the Deaf-
Association des Sourds du Canada
251, rue Bank, bureau 606,
Ottawa (Ontario) K2P 1X3
ffolino@cad.ca

Objet :  Demande d’effectuer un sondage national sur l’Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2017-33, Examen du cadre réglementaire régissant les services de relais téléphonique fondés sur le texte

Madame Anderson-Kellett, Monsieur Folino,

Le Conseil a reçu une lettre de l’Association des Sourds du Canada-Canadian Association of the Deaf (ASC-CAD) et du Comité de Deaf Wireless Canada (DWCC), datée du 10 mars 2017, en ce qui a trait à l’examen en cours du cadre réglementaire régissant les services de relais téléphonique fondés sur le texte (SRT)Note de bas de page1 (l’examen).

Dans leur lettre, l’ASC-CAD et DWCC ont demandé au conseil l’autorisation d’effectuer un sondage national afin de répondre aux questions énoncées dans l’examen. L’ASC‑CAD et DWCC ont aussi indiqué les échéances relatives au déroulement du sondage et aux interventions dans le cadre de l’examen :

Il est loisible à l’ASC-CAD et DWCC, ainsi qu’aux autres parties à la présente instance, de choisir la façon dont elles veulent entreprendre l’analyse exigée, afin de présenter des observations pour aider le Conseil à mieux comprendre les questions à l’étude. Ces observations doivent respecter les Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (les Règles de procédure)Note de bas de page2 et la procédure énoncée dans l’avis de consultation. Par exemple, les observations finales doivent porter sur les questions visées par la portée de la présente instance et ne pas dépasser 15 pagesNote de bas de page3.

Nous vous encourageons à consulter les lignes directrices énoncées dans le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom 2010-959, car elles fournissent de l’information pour aider les personnes et les parties intéressées à comprendre les Règles de procédure afin qu’elles puissent participer plus efficacement aux instances du Conseil.

Nous accordons de l’importance aux contributions de vos organismes dans le cadre des consultations publiques du Conseil, et sommes impatients de recevoir vos observations sur l’examen des SRT.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de la présente lettre, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec Bradley Gaudet à l’adresse bradley.gaudet@crtc.gc.ca.

Cordialement,

Original signé par

Nanao Kachi
Directeur, Politique sociale et des consommateurs

Consommation et Politique stratégique
Date de modification :