Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 9 March 2017

Our reference:  8638-C12-201509663

BY EMAIL

To: Distribution list

RE:  Follow-up process to consider implementation issues of disaggregated wholesale HSA services, including over FTTP access facilities, in other regions

Dear Madams/Sirs:

In Telecom Regulatory Policy 2015-326,Footnote1 the Commission mandated the provision of disaggregated wholesale high-speed access (HSA) services, including over fibre-to-the-premises (FTTP) access facilities, for the large incumbent carriers.

As a first phase in the implementation of disaggregated wholesale HSA services across Canada, the Commission directed Bell Aliant, Bell Canada, Cogeco Communications on behalf of Cogeco Connexion Inc. (Cogeco), Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI), and Québecor Média Inc. on behalf of its subsidiary Videotron (Videotron) to file configurations for their respective disaggregated wholesale HSA services in Ontario and Quebec. The Commission approved the configurations in Telecom Decision 2016-379,Footnote2 and initiated a tariffing process. The affected incumbent carriers have submitted proposed tariffs that are being assessed by the Commission.

The Commission stated in Telecom Regulatory Policy 2015-326 that incumbent carriers operating in other regions will be expected to identify appropriate configurations and implementation plans for their respective disaggregated wholesale HSA services at a later date, depending on demand considerations.

The Commission also stated in its Three Year Plan 2016-2019 that it would initiate processes regarding the configurations for disaggregated wholesale HSA services for incumbent carriers operating in other regions in the 2016/2017 fiscal year.

There are several factors to consider when assessing whether or not to implement disaggregated wholesale HSA services, including competitor demand for wholesale HSA services and the deployment of FTTP access facilities.

As a first step in the 2nd stage of implementing disaggregated wholesale HSA services, the Commission is collecting information relating to these factors. Accordingly, requests for information addressed to Bell Canada, Bragg Communications Incorporated (Eastlink), MTS Inc. (MTS), RCCI, Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel), Shaw Cablesystems G.P. (Shaw), and TELUS Communications Company (TCC) are attached. Reponses to these requests for information are to be filed with the Commission by 10 April 2017.

Commission staff note that Bell Canada and RCCI are to provide the requested information, by province, for their serving areas outside of Ontario and Quebec, as these companies have already been required to implement disaggregated wholesale HSA services in these provinces. All other parties listed above are required to provide the requested information for each province, as applicable.

As set out in section 39 of the Telecommunications Act and in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, persons may designate certain information as confidential. A person designating information as confidential must provide a detailed explanation on why the designated information is confidential and why its disclosure would not be in the public interest, including why the specific direct harm that would be likely to result from the disclosure would outweigh the public interest in disclosure. Furthermore, a person designating information as confidential must either file an abridged version of the document omitting only the information designated as confidential or provide reasons why an abridged version cannot be filed.

Sincerely,

Original signed by Doug Thurston for

Lyne Renaud
Director, Competitor Services and Costing Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

Attach. (1)


Distribution List


ATTACHMENT

  1. RFIs to Eastlink, RCCI, and Shaw
  1. For each of the years 2014 to 2016, provide by province:
    1. the total number of retail high-speed Internet service customers served by the company over fixed-wireline networks and the associated revenue;
    2. a breakdown of the retail high-speed Internet service demand over fixed-wireline networks by speed and associated revenue for each year;
    3. the number of premises passed by the company’s technologies for providing HSA services (retail Internet service or wholesale HSA service). Provide the total premises passed and a breakdown by access technology deployed (e.g. premises passed by: hybrid fibre-coaxial (HFC) facilities, FTTP facilities, and both HFC and FTTP facilities);
    4. the total number of wholesale HSA service end-users served by the company, a breakdown of the end-user wholesale HSA service demand by speed and the associated revenue;
  2. For each of the years 2017 to 2019 provide, by province, a forecast of:
    1. the total number of retail high-speed Internet service customers served by the company over fixed-wireline networks and the associated revenue;
    2. a breakdown of the retail high-speed Internet service demand over fixed-wireline networks by speed and associated revenue for each year;
    3. the number of premises passed by the company’s technologies for providing high-speed access services (retail Internet service or wholesale HSA service). Provide the total premises passed and a breakdown by access technology deployed (e.g. premises passed by: HFC facilities, FTTP facilities, and both HFC and FTTP facilities);
    4. the total number of wholesale HSA service end-users served by the company, a breakdown of the end-user wholesale HSA service demand by speed and the associated revenue;
  1. RFI to Bell Canada, MTS, SaskTel, and TCC
  1. For each of the years 2014 to 2016, provide by province:
    1. the total number of retail high-speed Internet service customers served by the company over fixed-wireline networks and the associated revenue;
    2. a breakdown of the retail high-speed Internet service demand over fixed-wireline networks by speed and associated revenue for each year;
    3. the number of premises passed by the company’s technologies for providing HSA services (retail Internet service or wholesale HSA service). Provide the total premises passed and a breakdown by access technology deployed (e.g. for copper-based HSA access facilities, provide total premises passed by fibre-to-the-node (FTTN) facilities, legacy digital subscriber line (DSL) facilities, and by both FTTN and legacy DSL facilities; for FTTP facilities provide total premises passed and premises passed by FTTP facilities only; and
    4. the total number of wholesale HSA service end-users served by the company, a breakdown of the end-user wholesale HSA service demand by speed and the associated revenue;
  2. For each of the years 2017 to 2019 provide, by province, a forecast of:
    1. the total number of retail Internet service customers served by the company and the associated revenue;
    2. a breakdown of the retail Internet service demand by speed and associated revenue for each year;
    3. the number of premises passed by the company’s technologies for providing HSA services (retail Internet service or wholesale HSA service). Provide the total premises passed and a breakdown by access technology deployed (e.g. for copper-based HSA access facilities, provide total premises passed by FTTN facilities, legacy DSL facilities, and by both FTTN and legacy DSL facilities; for FTTP facilities provide total premises passed and premises passed by FTTP facilities only; and
    4. the total number of wholesale HSA service end-users served by the company, a breakdown of the end-user wholesale service demand by speed and the associated revenue.
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 9 mars 2017

Notre référence : 8638-C12-201509663

PAR COURRIEL

À : Liste de distribution

OBJET : Instance de suivi visant à examiner les questions de mise en œuvre des services d’accès haute vitesse de gros dégroupés, y compris par l’intermédiaire d’installations de fibre jusqu’aux locaux de l’abonné, dans d’autres régions

Madame, Monsieur,

Dans la politique réglementaire de télécom 2015-326Note de bas de page1, le Conseil a obligé les grandes entreprises titulaires à offrir des services d’accès haute vitesse (AHV) de gros dégroupés, y compris par l’intermédiaire d’installations de fibre jusqu’aux locaux de l’abonné (FTTP).

En guise de premier pas vers la mise en place de services AHV de gros dégroupés à l’échelle du Canada, le Conseil a ordonné à Bell Aliant, Bell Canada, Cogeco Communications, au nom de Cogeco Connexion inc. (Cogeco), Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI) et Québecor Média inc., au nom de sa filiale Vidéotron (Vidéotron) de lui soumettre une version actualisée de la configuration de leurs services AHV de gros dégroupés respectifs en Ontario et au Québec. Le Conseil a approuvé ces configurations dans la décision de télécom 2016-379Note de bas de page2 et a lancé un processus de tarification. Les entreprises titulaires en question ont déposé des tarifs proposés qui font l’objet d’un examen par le Conseil.

Dans la politique réglementaire de télécom 2015-326, le Conseil a affirmé qu’il s’attendait à ce que les entreprises titulaires exerçant des activités dans d’autres territoires établissent des configurations et des plans de mise en œuvre adéquats pour leurs services AHV de gros dégroupés respectifs à une date ultérieure, en fonction de la demande.

Le Conseil a aussi indiqué dans son plan triennal 2016-2019 qu’il lancerait au cours de l’exercice 2016-2017 des processus relatifs aux configurations de services d’accès haute vitesse de gros dégroupés exploités par les entreprises titulaires dans d’autres régions.

Il faut tenir compte de plusieurs facteurs pour évaluer la pertinence de la mise en œuvre de services d’accès haute vitesse de gros dégroupés, y compris la demande des concurrents pour des services AHV de gros et le déploiement d’installations de FTTP.

À titre de première étape de la deuxième phase de mise en œuvre des services AHV de gros dégroupés, le Conseil recueille des renseignements à ce sujet. Par conséquent, des demandes de renseignements à l’intention de Bell Canada, Bragg Communications Incorporated (Eastlink), MTS Inc. (MTS), RCCI, Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel), Shaw Cablesystems G.P. (Shaw) et la Société TELUS Communications (STC) sont jointes à la présente. Les réponses à ces demandes de renseignements doivent être déposées auprès du Conseil d’ici le 10 avril 2017.

Le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer que Bell Canada et RCCI doivent fournir les renseignements demandés, par province, pour leurs zones de desserte à l’extérieur de l’Ontario et du Québec, puisqu’elles sont déjà tenues de mettre en œuvre les services AHV de gros dégroupés dans ces deux provinces. Les autres parties susmentionnées doivent fournir les renseignements demandés pour chaque province, le cas échéant.

Tel qu’il est établi à l’article 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications, ainsi que dans le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961 intitulé Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, des personnes peuvent désigner certains renseignements comme étant confidentiels. La partie qui désigne des renseignements comme confidentiels doit expliquer en détail pourquoi les renseignements sont confidentiels et pourquoi la divulgation ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public, y compris comment le préjudice direct particulier que la divulgation pourrait entraîner l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation. De plus, la personne qui fournit des renseignements sous le sceau de la confidentialité doit également déposer une version abrégée du document, de laquelle seuls les renseignements confidentiels ont été retranchés, ou doit fournir les motifs pour lesquels une version abrégée ne peut être déposée.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La directrice,

L’original signé par Doug Thurston au nom de

Lyne Renaud
Services aux concurrents et établissement des coûts
Secteur des télécommunications

p. j. (1)


Liste de distribution


PIÈCE JOINTE

  1. Demandes de renseignement à l’intention d’Eastlink, RCCI et Shaw
  1. Fournir, par province, pour chacune des années de 2014 à 2016 :
    1. le nombre de clients de services Internet haute vitesse de détail servis par l’entreprise au moyen de réseaux filaires fixes, et les revenus connexes;
    2. une ventilation, pour chaque année, de la demande de services Internet haute vitesse de détail au moyen de réseaux filaires fixes, par vitesse et les revenus connexes;
    3. le nombre de locaux desservis par les technologies utilisées par l’entreprise pour fournir des services AHV (service Internet de détail ou AHV de gros). Préciser le nombre de locaux desservis et fournir une ventilation par technologie d’accès déployée (p. ex., locaux desservis par des installations d’accès hybride par fibre optique et câbles coaxiaux [HFC], par des installations d’accès FTTP, et par les deux);
    4. le nombre d’utilisateurs finals de service AHV de gros servis par l’entreprise, une ventilation de la demande d’utilisateurs finals de service AHV de gros par vitesse et les revenus connexes;
  2. Fournir, par province, pour chacune des années de 2017 à 2019, les prévisions suivantes :
    1. le nombre de clients de services Internet haute vitesse de détail servis par l’entreprise au moyen de réseaux filaires fixes, et les revenus connexes;
    2. une ventilation, pour chaque année, de la demande de services Internet haute vitesse de détail au moyen de réseaux filaires fixes, par vitesse et revenus connexes;
    3. le nombre de locaux desservis par les technologies utilisées par l’entreprise pour fournir des services AHV (service Internet de détail ou AHV de gros). Préciser le nombre de locaux desservis et fournir une ventilation par technologie d’accès déployée (p. ex., locaux desservis par des installations d’accès HFC, par des installations d’accès FTTP, et par les deux);
    4. le nombre d’utilisateurs finals de service AHV de gros servis par l’entreprise, une ventilation de la demande d’utilisateurs finals de service AHV de gros par vitesse et les revenus connexes;
  1. Demande de renseignements à l’intention de Bell Canada, MTS, SaskTel et la STC
  1. Fournir, par province, pour chacune des années de 2014 à 2016 :
    1. le nombre de clients de services Internet haute vitesse de détail servis par l’entreprise au moyen de réseaux filaires fixes, et les revenus connexes;
    2. une ventilation, pour chaque année, de la demande de services Internet haute vitesse de détail au moyen de réseaux filaires fixes, par vitesse et les revenus connexes;
    3. le nombre de locaux desservis par les technologies utilisées par l’entreprise pour fournir des services AHV (service Internet de détail ou AHV de gros). Indiquer le nombre de locaux desservis et fournir une ventilation des technologies d’accès déployées (p. ex., pour les installations d’accès AHV au moyen de câbles de cuivre, préciser le nombre de locaux desservis par des installations de fibre jusqu’au nœud [FTTN], par des installations de ligne d’abonné numérique et par les deux; pour des installations FTTP, préciser le nombre de locaux desservis et le nombre desservi uniquement par des installations FTTP);
    4. le nombre d’utilisateurs finals de service AHV de gros servis par l’entreprise, une ventilation de la demande par des utilisateurs finals de service AHV de gros par vitesse et les revenus connexes;
  2. Fournir, par province, pour chacune des années de 2017 à 2019, les prévisions suivantes :
    1. le nombre total de clients de service Internet de détail desservis par l’entreprise, par province, et les revenus connexes;
    2. une ventilation du service Internet de détail par province ainsi que par vitesse et les revenus connexes pour chacune de ces années;
    3. le nombre de locaux desservis par les technologies utilisées par l’entreprise pour fournir des services AHV (service Internet de détail ou AHV de gros). Indiquer le nombre de locaux desservis et fournir une ventilation par technologie d’accès déployée (p. ex., pour les installations d’accès AHV au moyen de câbles de cuivre, préciser le nombre de locaux desservis par des installations FTTN, par des installations par ligne d’abonné numérique traditionnelle et par les deux; pour des installations FTTP, préciser le nombre de locaux desservis et le nombre desservi uniquement par des installations FTTP);
    4. le nombre d’utilisateurs finals de service AHV de gros servis par l’entreprise, une ventilation de la demande d’utilisateurs finals de service de gros par vitesse et les revenus connexes.
Date de modification :