Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Mr. Samer Bishay (Iristel Inc.)

Ottawa, 8 March 2017

Our reference:  8740-N1-201700740

BY EMAIL

Mr. Samer Bishay
President & CEO
Iristel Inc.
675 Cochrane Drive
6 th Floor, East Tower
Markham, ONT  L3R 0B8
regulatory@iristel.com

RE:  Northwestel Inc. Tariff Notice 976: Wholesale Connect service New Rates and Circuits – Request for procedural changes

Northwestel Inc. (Northwestel) filed on 6 February 2017, a Tariff Notice (TN) 976 in which it proposed changes to its Access Services Tariff for Interconnection with Interexchange Carriers CRTC 21480 Item 300 Wholesale Connect Service in response to the Commission’s rulings in Telecom Decision CRTC 2016-443.
The Commission is in receipt of a letter filed on 24 February 2017 by Iristel requesting, among other things, an extension of the deadline for submission of interventions with respect to Northwestel’s TN 976. More specifically, Iristel requested a new procedural deadline to file interventions that is thirty (30) days from the day that Northwestel complies with any Commission order resulting from Iristel’s request for disclosure and additional information.

In its submission dated 2 March 2017, Northwestel indicated that it does not object to Iristel’s extension request. It further indicated that it continues to prepare a response to Iristel’s request for additional information and will reply in a separate response as soon as possible.

In this circumstance, and given that there is no evidence that such an extension would prejudice any interested person, Commission staff finds it reasonable to extend the filing date for interventions associated with any additional information that Northwestel provides or is directed to provide related to TN 976. Commission staff notes that the standard procedural rules for comments and reply comments for tariff application proceedings will apply.

Accordingly, upon receipt of Northwestel’s upcoming response to Iristel’s request for additional information, parties will have 30 days from that date to submit interventions. Furthermore, additional procedures may be established at that time if necessary.

Where a document is to be filed or served by a specific date, the document must be received, not merely sent, by that date. Copies of the documents should also be sent to nat.natraj@crtc.gc.ca.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Lyne Renaud
Director Competitor Service and costing Implementation
Telecommunication sector

c.c.: Mohammed Omar, CRTC, 819-934-6378, mohammed.omar@crtc.gc.ca
B.Natraj (Nat Natraj), CRTC, 819-953-0361, nat.natraj@crtc.gc.ca
Linda Maljan, Government of the Northwest Territories, linda_Maljan@gov.nt.ca
Steve Sorochan, Government of Yukon, steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca
Dallas Yeullet, Northwestel Inc., regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca
Dean Proctor, SSi Group of companies, regulatory@ssimicro.com

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à Monsieur Samer Bishay (Iristel Inc.)

Ottawa, le 8 mars 2017

Notre référence : 8740-N1-201700740

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Samer Bishay
Président-directeur général
Iristel Inc.
6e étage, tour Est
675, Cochrane Drive
Markham (Ontario)  L3R 0B8
regulatory@iristel.com

Objet :  Avis de modification tarifaire de Norouestel Inc. : nouveaux tarifs et circuits du service de raccordement de gros – demande de modifications procédurales

Le 6 février 2017, Norouestel Inc. (Norouestel) a déposé l’avis de modification tarifaire (AMT) 976, dans lequel elle proposait de modifier son tarif de services d’accès visant l’interconnexion avec les fournisseurs de services intercirconscriptions (article 300 – Service de raccordement de gros, Tarif CRTC 21480), en réponse aux conclusions tirées par le Conseil dans la Décision de télécom CRTC 2016-443.

Le Conseil a reçu une lettre d’Iristel déposée le 24 février 2017 demandant, entre autres, le report de la date limite pour le dépôt des interventions concernant l’AMT 976 de Norouestel. Plus précisément, Iristel a demandé un nouveau délai procédural pour déposer des interventions de trente (30) jours suivant la date à laquelle Norouestel se conforme à une ordonnance du Conseil découlant de la demande de divulgation et de renseignements supplémentaires d’Iristel.

Dans son mémoire daté du 2 mars 2017, Norouestel a indiqué qu’elle ne s’opposait pas à la demande de report de la date limite d’Iristel. Elle a en outre indiqué qu’elle continuait de préparer une réponse à la demande de renseignements supplémentaires d’Iristel et qu’elle transmettra sa réponse séparément dès que possible.

Dans ces circonstances, puisque rien n’indique que le report de date demandé porterait préjudice à une personne intéressée, le personnel du Conseil estime qu’il est raisonnable de reporter la date limite pour le dépôt des interventions concernant tout renseignement supplémentaire fourni par Norouestel ou que celle-ci est tenue de fournir relativement à l’AMT 976. Le personnel du Conseil souligne que les règles de procédure normalisées concernant les observations et les répliques dans les instances portant sur des demandes tarifaires s’appliqueront.

Par conséquent, dès la réception de la réponse de Norouestel à la demande de renseignements supplémentaires d’Iristel, les parties auront 30 jours pour déposer des interventions. De plus, des procédures supplémentaires pourront être établies à ce moment‑là, au besoin.
Lorsqu’un document doit être déposé ou signifié à une date précise, il doit être reçu, et non seulement envoyé, à la date indiquée. Une copie des documents doit également être envoyée à nat.natraj@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La directrice,

Original signé par

Lyne Renaud
Mise en œuvre des services aux concurrents et établissement des coûts
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c. :  Mohammed Omar, CRTC, 819-934-6378, mohammed.omar@crtc.gc.ca
B.Natraj (Nat Natraj), CRTC, 819-953-0361, nat.natraj@crtc.gc.ca
Linda Maljan, gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, linda_Maljan@gov.nt.ca
Steve Sorochan, gouvernement du Yukon, steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca
Dallas Yeullet, Norouestel Inc., regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca
Dean Proctor, SSi Group of companies, regulatory@ssimicro.com

Date de modification :