Telecom Commission Letter adressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 2 March 2017

File number: 8638-T102-201607657

BY EMAIL

To: Distribution List
Re: TELUS Communications Company’s Part 1 Application, Show cause proceeding for use of deferral account funds to improve access to telecommunication services for persons with disabilities – Request for comment on NSS proposal and revised timelines

Dear Sirs/Madams:

With this letter, Commission staff is seeking comment on the proposal put forward by the Neil Squire Society (NSS) in response to TELUS Communications Company’s (TELUS) Part 1 Application, Follow-up to Telecom Decision 2016-193 - Show Cause Proceeding for further proposals for the use of deferral account funds to improve access to telecommunications services for persons with disabilities.
Filed as Appendix A of its final submission on 30 December 2016, NSS proposed an initiative for deferral account funding where it would pilot a program in collaboration with the Tetra Society of North America. NSS submitted that this proposal would provide practical and hands-on technical support to people with disabilities across the province of British Columbia, with the goals of:

In its final reply filed with the Commission on 13 January 2017, and in response to this proposal, TELUS submitted that the current process does not provide the interested parties involved with an opportunity to further explore the proposal by NSS.
Commission staff considers that it would be in the public interest to provide interested parties who have participated in this proceeding with the opportunity to provide comment on NSS’ proposal. Commission staff therefore invites interested parties who have already participated in the current proceeding to file comments with the Commission on the above noted proposal by NSS, according to the revised process set out below.
Commission staff reminds parties that comments must be limited to the proposal outlined by NSS in Appendix A of its final submission.
Set out below are the additional date for the comment period and the revised date for TELUS’ reply:


Sincerely,

Original signed by

 

Nanao Kachi
Director 
Social and Consumer Policy
Consumer Affairs and Strategic Policy


c.c.:  Meghan Zwiers, meghan.zwiers@crtc.gc.ca
Megan Maloney megan.maloney@crtc.gc.ca

Distribution List:
regulatory.affairs@telus.com; Eric Edora, eric.edora@telus.com; Isabell Morneau, ISABELLE.MORNEAU@telus.com; Harry Lew, harryl.neilsquire@gmail.com; Anthony Tibbs, anthony@tibbs.ca; Gary Birch, garyb@neilquire.ca; Lui Greco, lui.greco@cnib.ca; Rob Falconer, rbflaconer@me.com

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 2 mars 2017

Numéro de dossier : 8638-T102-201607657

PAR COURRIEL

Dest. : Liste de distribution
Objet :   Demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par la Société TELUS Communications (Instance de justification concernant l’utilisation des fonds du compte de report pour améliorer l’accès des personnes handicapées aux services de télécommunication)– Demande de commentaires sur la proposition de la SNS et nouvelles échéances

Madame, Monsieur,

Par la présente, le personnel du Conseil sollicite des commentaires sur la proposition déposée par la Société Neil Squire (SNS) en réponse à la demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par la Société TELUS Communications (TELUS) (Suivi de la décision de télécom 2016‑193 – Autres propositions relatives à l’utilisation des fonds du compte de report en vue d’améliorer l’accès des personnes handicapées aux services de télécommunication).

Dans l’annexe A de l’observation finale qu’elle a déposée le 30 décembre 2016, la SNS a proposé une initiative de financement au moyen du compte de report dans le cadre de laquelle elle mettrait à l’essai un programme en collaboration avec l’organisme Tetra Society of North America. La SNS a indiqué que sa proposition permettrait de fournir un soutien technique pratique et concret aux personnes handicapées dans l’ensemble de la province de la Colombie‑Britannique et qu’elle visait les objectifs suivants :

Dans la réplique finale qu’elle a fournie au Conseil le 13 janvier 2017 et en réponse à la proposition de la SNS, TELUS a indiqué que le processus actuel ne donnait pas aux parties intéressées l’occasion d’explorer cette proposition en profondeur.
Le personnel du Conseil est d’avis qu’il serait dans l’intérêt public de donner aux parties intéressées ayant déjà participé à la présente instance l’occasion de formuler des commentaires sur la proposition de la SNS. Il invite donc ces parties intéressées à formuler au Conseil des commentaires, selon le processus révisé indiqué ci‑dessous.
Le personnel du Conseil rappelle aux parties que leurs commentaires doivent se limiter à la proposition que la SNS a décrite à l’annexe A de son observation finale.
Voici la date limite pour formuler des commentaires et la nouvelle échéance pour la réplique de TELUS :


Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Original signé par

 

Nanao Kachi
Directeur 
Politique sociale et des consommateurs
Consommation et Politique stratégique

c.c.   Meghan Zwiers (meghan.zwiers@crtc.gc.ca)
Megan Maloney (megan.maloney@crtc.gc.ca)

Liste de distribution
regulatory.affairs@telus.com; Eric Edora, eric.edora@telus.com; Isabelle Morneau, ISABELLE.MORNEAU@telus.com; Harry Lew, harryl.neilsquire@gmail.com; Anthony Tibbs, anthony@tibbs.ca; Gary Birch, garyb@neilquire.ca; Lui Greco, lui.greco@cnib.ca; Rob Falconer, rbflaconer@me.com

Date de modification :