Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Distribution list

Ottawa, 28 February 2017

Our references: 8740-T66-201513028
8740-B38-201600023
8740-T66-201513028
8740-B38-201600023

BY EMAIL

To Distribution list

RE: Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2015-177 – Regulatory framework for wholesale mobile wireless services – Follow-up process to finalize GSM-based wholesale roaming services proposed tariffs for the National Wireless Carriers – Bell Canada request for a new filing dates - Interrogatories Second Round

The Commission is in receipt of a letter filed on 21 February 2017 by Bell Canada requesting extensions of various filing dates set out by the Commission for filing cost studies (and related interrogatory responses) associated with Bell Canada Tariff Notices (TN) 7504 and 7522 as well as Bell Mobility TN 1B and 2. Bell Canada specifically requested:

Bell Canada also requested that these extensions, along with related procedural dates be extended to all of the parties that are required to file responses to requests for information on the impacted dates in the applicable proceedings.

This letter addresses Bell Canada’s request for an extension for filing interrogatory responses related to Bell Mobility TN 1B and TN 2 (GSM-based wholesale roaming service), item c above. The requests related to the aggregated wholesale HSA service proceeding (item a) and for the proposed cost data filings related to disaggregated wholesale high-speed access (HSA) service (item b) were addressed in separate letters issued on 24 February 2017.

The Commission is in receipt of letters dated 22 February 2017 from Rogers and 23 February 2017 from TELUS Communications Company (TCC), Bragg Communications Inc., doing business as Eastlink (Eastlink), Ice Wireless Inc. (Ice Wireless), Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC), Quebecor Media Inc., on behalf of its affiliate Videotron G.P (Videotron)., and from Freedom Mobile In. (Freedom) .

Rogers and TCC indicated that they did not object to Bell Canada’s extension request, as an extension would provide all parties with additional time to ensure the quality of their submissions and to respond to Commission staff’s request for information.

CNOC and Ice Wireless submitted that they do not oppose the proposed extensions under the condition that the Commission make its consent to the extension conditional on a commitment from Bell Canada and Other Parties to file cost studies and costing data in response to interrogatory responses in full compliance with all Commission disclosure and information guidelines.

Videotron submitted that they are concerned about the long delays that have already characterized the follow-up process to finalize GSM-based wholesale roaming services proposed tariffs and that a four week extension to provide interrogatory responses related to Bell Mobility TN 1B and TN 2 is excessive.

Freedom opposed granting an extension and submitted that Bell Canada’s request would add more delay to a review process of cost studies that were first filed on 23 November 2015.

Eastlink submitted that the National Wireless carriers (Bell Mobility, TCC and Rogers) were provided three months to provide their wholesale roaming tariff interrogatory responses, and that it is important that the proceeding (i.e. Follow-up process to finalize GSM-based wholesale roaming services proposed tariffs for the National Wireless Carriers ) progresses in timely manner. Consequently, Bell’s request for one-month extension to the filing date should be denied.

On 24 February 2017, Bell Canada responded to parties’ comments and submitted that it would support a solution whereby the filing date for the responses to the wholesale wireless roaming interrogatories be extended only to 4 April 2017, provide that the filing date for item b. above be extend to 17 April 2017.

Taking into consideration the comments and reply comments submitted by all parties, as well as the associated procedural timelines related to the other proceedings (items a. and b. above-noted), Commission staff informs all parties that the procedural dates of the follow-up process to finalize GSM-based wholesale roaming services proposed tariffs for the National Wireless Carriers – Interrogatories Second Round are modified as follows:

In addition, the National Wireless Carriers are reminded that disclosure of information in the responses should comply with the guidelines established in Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2012-592, Confidentiality of information used to establish wholesale service rates, 26 October 2012 and the Commission staff letters dated 13 September 2013.

It is Commission staff’s intention to provide further process information after the request for further information and public disclosure processes are completed.

The National Wireless Carriers are asked to serve all other parties with any documents filed in this proceeding, and to send an electronic copy directly to the following Commission staff:

Lyne Renaud, lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca
Abderrahman El Fatihi, abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca
William Lloyd, William.lloyd@crtc.gc.ca

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Lyne Renaud
Director, Competitor Services and Costing Implementation
Telecommunication Sector

c.c.: Abderrahman El Fatihi, CRTC, (819) 953-3662, abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca
William Lloyd, CRTC, (819) 997-4654, william.lloyd@crtc.gc.ca

Distribution list:

Bell Mobility Inc., bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Rogers Communications Partnership, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com

Nathan Jarrett, Nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com
TELUS Communications Company, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Videotron G.P., regaffairs@quebecor.com
Bragg Communications Incorporated (Eastlink), regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Globalive Wireless Management Corp. (WIND), lisajackson@globalive.com
Ed Antecol EAntecol@WINDMobile.ca
TBayTel, rob.olenick@tbaytel.com
MTS Inc., iworkstation@mtsallstream.com
Saskatchewan Telecommunications, document.control@sasktel.com
Ice Wireless Inc., regulatory@icewireless.ca
Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. regulatory@cnoc.ca
Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC) lawford@piac.ca
Corridor Communications, Inc.amirb@corp.cciwireless.ca
Benjamin Klass, benjiklass@hotmail.com
Vaxination Informatique, jfmezei@vaxination.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 28 février 2017

Nos références : 8740-T66-201513028
8740-B38-201600023
8740-T66-201513028
8740-B38-201600023

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

OBJET : Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2015-177 – Cadre de réglementation régissant les services sans fil mobiles de gros – Processus de suivi afin de finaliser les tarifs des services d’itinérance de gros sur réseau GSM pour les entreprises de services sans fil nationales – Demande de Bell Canada visant le report des dates de dépôt - demandes de renseignements, deuxième ronde

Le Conseil a reçu une lettre déposée le 21 février 2017 par Bell Canada dans laquelle la société demande un report des diverses dates de dépôt établies par le Conseil relativement aux études de coûts (et aux réponses aux demandes de renseignements) liées aux avis de modification tarifaire (AMT) 7504 et 7522 de Bell Canada ainsi qu’aux AMT 1B et 2 de Bell Mobilité. Bell Canada a précisément demandé :

Bell Canada a également demandé que ces prolongations, ainsi que celles touchant les dates de procédure connexes, soient accordées à toutes les parties qui doivent présenter une réponse à une demande de renseignements dans le cadre des instances visées.

La présente lettre concerne la demande de Bell Canada visant le report de la date limite pour le dépôt des réponses aux demandes de renseignements liées aux AMT 1B et 2 de Bell Mobilité (service d’itinérance de gros sur réseau GSM), c’est-à-dire le point c ci-dessus. Les demandes concernant l’instance relative au service d’AHV de gros groupé (point a) et l’instance sur les études de coûts proposées liées au service AHV de gros dégroupé (point b) sont traitées dans des lettres distinctes envoyées le 24 février 2017.

Le Conseil a reçu une lettre de Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI) datée du 22 février 2017 et des lettres datées du 23 février 2017 de la Société TELUS Communications (STC), de Bragg Communications Inc., exerçant ses activités sous le nom d’Eastlink (Eastlink), d’Ice Wireless Inc. (Ice Wireless), du Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens inc. (CORC), de Québecor Média Inc., au nom de sa filiale Vidéotron s.e.n.c. (Vidéotron) et de Freedom Mobile Inc. (Freedom).

RCCI et la STC ont indiqué ne pas s’opposer à la demande de Bell Canada, puisqu’un report donnerait aux parties davantage de temps pour assurer la qualité de leurs observations et répondre aux demandes de renseignements du personnel du Conseil.

Le CORC et Ice Wireless ont déclaré ne pas s’opposer au report proposé à la condition que le Conseil exige que Bell Canada et les autres parties s’engagent à déposer les études de coûts et les données sur les coûts en réponse aux demandes de renseignements conformément aux lignes directrices du Conseil sur la divulgation et l’information.

Vidéotron a soulevé des préoccupations au sujet du fait que le processus de suivi afin de finaliser les tarifs des services d’itinérance de gros sur réseau GSM a déjà été beaucoup retardé et qu’une prolongation de quatre semaines de la période durant laquelle les parties peuvent répondre aux demandes de renseignements liées à l’AMT 1B et 2 de Bell Mobilité est excessive.

Freedom s’est opposée à la prolongation et a fait valoir que la demande de Bell Canada retarderait davantage le processus d’examen d’études de coûts déposées le 23 novembre 2015.

Eastlink a fait valoir que les entreprises de services sans fil nationales (Bell Mobilité, la STC et RCCI) ont disposé de trois mois pour fournir les réponses aux demandes de renseignements relatives à leur tarif d’itinérance de gros, et qu’il est important que l’instance (c.-à-d. le processus de suivi afin de finaliser les tarifs des services d’itinérance de gros sur réseau GSM pour les entreprises de services sans fil nationales) se déroule dans un temps raisonnable. Par conséquent, on devrait rejeter la demande de Bell visant le report d’un mois de la date limite pour le dépôt.

Le 24 février 2017, Bell Canada a répondu aux observations des parties et a fait valoir qu’elle appuierait une solution selon laquelle la date limite pour le dépôt de réponses aux demandes de renseignements sur les tarifs d’itinérance sans fil de gros serait reportée au 4 avril 2017, pourvu que la date limite associée au point b ci-dessus soit reportée au 17 avril 2017.

Après avoir examiné les observations et les répliques présentées par toutes les parties, ainsi que les délais liés à d’autres procédures (points a et b, ci-dessus), le personnel du Conseil informe toutes les parties que les dates d’échéance du processus de suivi afin de finaliser les tarifs des services d’itinérance de gros de type GSM pour les entreprises de services sans fil nationales – demandes de renseignements, deuxième ronde – sont modifiées de la manière suivante :

De plus, on rappelle aux entreprises de services sans fil nationales que les renseignements fournis en réponse aux questions doivent être divulgués conformément aux lignes directrices établies dans la Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2012-592 du 26 octobre 2012 intitulée Traitement des renseignements confidentiels utilisés pour établir les tarifs des services de gros et les lettres du personnel du Conseil datées du 13 septembre 2013.

Le personnel du Conseil compte fournir davantage de renseignements sur le processus lorsque l’étape du traitement des demandes de renseignements supplémentaires et de divulgation sera complétée.

En ce qui concerne tous les documents qu’elles déposent dans le cadre de l’instance, les entreprises de services sans fil nationales sont priées d’en signifier copie aux autres parties et d’en envoyer une copie électronique aux membres du personnel du Conseil suivants:

Lyne Renaud  (lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca)
Abderrahman El Fatihi  (abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca)
William Lloyd  (william.lloyd@crtc.gc.ca)

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs,

La directrice,

L’original signé par

Lyne Renaud
Services aux concurrents et établissement des coûts
Secteur des télécommunications

c c.  Abderrahman El Fatihi, CRTC, 819-953-3662, abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca
William Lloyd, CRTC, 819-997-4654, william.lloyd@crtc.gc.ca

Liste de distribution :

Bell Mobilité inc., bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Rogers Communications Canada Inc., rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Nathan Jarrett, Nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com
Société TELUS Communications, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Vidéotron s.e.n.c., regaffairs@quebecor.com
Bragg Communications Incorporated (Eastlink), regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Globalive Wireless Management Corp. (WIND), lisajackson@globalive.com
Ed Antecol EAntecol@WINDMobile.ca
TBayTel, rob.olenick@tbaytel.com
MTS Inc., iworkstation@mtsallstream.com
Saskatchewan Telecommunications, document.control@sasktel.com
Ice Wireless Inc., regulatory@icewireless.ca
Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens inc. regulatory@cnoc.ca
Centre pour la défense de l'intérêt public (CDIP) lawford@piac.ca
Corridor Communications, Inc. amirb@corp.cciwireless.ca
Benjamin Klass, benjiklass@hotmail.com
Vaxination Informatique, jfmezei@vaxination.ca

Date de modification :