Telecom Commission Letter adressed to Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, 27 February 2017

Our reference: 8690-C126-201612250

BY EMAIL

Mr. Philippe Gauvin
Senior Legal Counsel
Bell Canada
Floor 19
160 Elgin St.
Ottawa, Ontario  K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

RE: Application for Determinations and Approvals re: Municipal Consent by the City of Calgary – Request for an extension

Dear Mr. Gauvin:

On 28 November 2016, the City of Calgary (Calgary) filed an application requesting that the Commission make certain determinations concerning the access and use of municipal rights-of-way (ROW) by telecommunications service providers pursuant to its ROW Bylaw and its proposed Municipal Consent and Access Agreement (MCAA)  (the Application).

By letter dated 23 January 2017, Bell Canada, Rogers Communications, Shaw Communications Inc., TELUS Communications Company and Zayo Canada (collectively, the Carriers), advised the Commission that they intend to file in February 2017 an application with the Alberta Court of Queens’ Bench (the Alberta Court) to challenge the constitutional validity of  Calgary’s ROW Bylaw. Consequently, the Carriers requested that the Commission suspend consideration of the Application while the related constitutional issues are before the courts; subject, however, to the ability of any party to file a procedural request to resume consideration of the Application.

Following a request from Calgary, Commission staff agreed, on 26 January 2017, to give Calgary and any other interested party, until 21 February 2017 to file its response only with respect to the Carriers’ procedural request that the Commission suspend consideration of the Application for the time being or alternatively, extend the timelines for filing comments in response to the 28 November 2016 Application.  Furthermore, the Carriers were given until 27 February 2017 to file a reply.

On 24 February 2017, the Carriers requested an extension until 10 March 2017 to file a reply.

In the circumstances, the Carriers may, by 10 March 2017, file its reply and serve a copy on Calgary and any other interested party.

In view of the above, the date of 31 January 2017 for the filing of interventions and answers to the Application remains suspended pending the Commission’s ruling on the Carriers’ procedural request.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Jesslyn Mullaney, CRTC, 819-953-5255, jesslyn.mullaney@crtc.gc.ca
Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
City of Calgary, matt.lonsdale@calgary.ca
Rogers Communications, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Shaw Communications Inc., regulatory@sjrb.ca
TELUS Communications Company, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Zayo Canada, Steve.Snow@zayo.com
The Federation of Canadian Municipalities, stephane_emardchabot@sympatico.ca
Douglas I. Evanchuk, McLennan Ross LLP,  devanchuk@mross.com

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, le 27 février 2017

Notre référence : 8690-C126-201612250

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Philippe Gauvin
Conseiller juridique principal
Bell Canada
19e étage
160, rue Elgin
Ottawa (Ontario)  K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Objet :  Demande de conclusions et d’approbations concernant un consentement municipal présentée par la Ville de Calgary – Demande de prolongation de délai

Monsieur,

Le 28 novembre 2016, la Ville de Calgary (la Ville) a déposé une demande visant à ce que le Conseil rende certaines conclusions au sujet de l’accès et de l’utilisation de servitudes municipales par les fournisseurs de services de télécommunication conformément à son règlement sur les servitudes et à sa proposition d’accord d’accès et de consentement municipal (la demande).

Dans une lettre datée du 23 janvier 2017, Bell Canada, Rogers Communications, Shaw Communications Inc., la Société TELUS Communications et Zayo Canada (collectivement les entreprises), ont informé le Conseil de leur intention de déposer une demande en février 2017 auprès de la Cour du banc de la Reine de l’Alberta (Cour de l’Alberta) pour contester la constitutionnalité du règlement sur les servitudes de la Ville. En conséquence, les entreprises ont demandé au Conseil de suspendre l’examen de la demande pendant que la Cour est saisie des questions constitutionnelles connexes, sous réserve que toute partie puisse demander la reprise de l’examen par voie d’une requête procédurale.

Après qu’une demande ait été déposée par la Ville, le personnel du Conseil a convenu, le 26 janvier 2017, d’accorder un délai à la Ville, ainsi qu’à toute partie intéressée, soit jusqu’au 21 février 2017, pour déposer une réponse portant uniquement sur la requête procédurale des entreprises visant à ce que le Conseil suspende l’examen de la demande pour l’instant ou, à titre subsidiaire, qu’il prolonge le délai prévu pour le dépôt d’observations relativement à la demande déposée le 28 novembre 2016. De plus, les entreprises ont eu jusqu’au 27 février 2017 pour déposer une réplique.

Le 24 février 2017, les entreprises ont demandé une prolongation au 10 mars 2017 pour déposer une réplique.

Étant donné les circonstances, les entreprises ont jusqu’au 10 mars 2017 pour déposer une réplique et en signifier copie à la Ville, ainsi qu’à toute partie intéressée.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le dépôt, pour le 31 janvier 2017, des interventions et des réponses à la demande demeure suspendu en attendant que le Conseil se prononce sur la requête procédurale des entreprises.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

L’original signé par

Michel Murray
Directeur, Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c.  Jesslyn Mullaney, CRTC, 819-953-5255, jesslyn.mullaney@crtc.gc.ca
Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Ville de Calgary, matt.lonsdale@calgary.ca
Rogers Communications, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Shaw Communications Inc., regulatory@sjrb.ca
Société TELUS Communications, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Zayo Canada, Steve.Snow@zayo.com
La Fédération canadienne des municipalités, stephane_emardchabot@sympatico.ca
Douglas I. Evanchuk, McLennan Ross LLP,  devanchuk@mross.com

Date de modification :