Telecom Commission Letter adressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 24 February 2017

Our reference:   8740-B2-201700055

BY EMAIL

To Distribution List

Re:  Bell Canada Tariff Notice 7522 – Disaggregated wholesale high-speed access service– Bell Canada request for a new filing date to file proposed additional cost studies

The Commission is in receipt of a letter filed on 21 February 2017 by Bell Canada requesting extensions of various filing dates set out by the Commission for filing cost studies (and related interrogatory responses) associated with Bell Canada Tariff Notices (TN) 7504 and 7522 as well as Bell Mobility TN 1B and 2.  Bell Canada specifically requested:

Bell Canada also requested that these extensions, along with related procedural dates be extended to all of the parties that are required to file responses to requests for information on the impacted dates in the applicable proceedings.

This letter addresses Bell Canada’s request for a new filing date of 4 April 2017 for its proposed cost data filings related to its disaggregated wholesale HSA service (item b). The requests related to the aggregated wholesale HSA service proceeding (item a) and the wireless roaming proceeding (item c) are addressed in separate letters.

The Canadian Network Operators Consortium did not oppose the proposed extensions on the condition that the Commission make its consent to the extensions conditional on a commitment from Bell Canada and other parties to file cost studies and costing data in response to interrogatory responses in full compliance with all Commission disclosure and information guidelines.

In its 9 January 2017 covering letter for its disaggregated wholesale HSA service tariff filing Bell Canada indicated that to the extent that it would file revisions to its aggregated wholesale HSA service cost study pursuant to the Commission's directive and provide explanations for deviations from prior Commission rulings in the context of that study, it would make similar revisions to its disaggregated wholesale HSA service cost studies (specifically for capacity-based-billing (CBB) and fibre to the premises (FTTP) access) and provide the supporting explanation for similar deviations in the context of that study at the same time. At that time Bell Canada proposed to file any revisions and associated explanations by 27 February 2017.

Commission staff is of the view that an extension for filing revisions for its disaggregated wholesale HSA service cost study is reasonable, as it allows the company to focus its immediate efforts on delivery of its filings for the aggregated wholesale HSA service proceeding. In its extension request, Bell Canada indicated that it would have asked for a two week extension if the March break holiday was not within its requested extension period. Commission staff considers that the occurrence of March break is not an appropriate reason to extend filing deadlines. As such, an extension of two weeks would be appropriate

Accordingly, Bell Canada’s revisions for its disaggregated wholesale HSA service (CBB and FTTP access) cost studies are to be filed on or before 20 March 2017. Bell Canada is reminded that its responses are to follow the Commission’s disclosure guidelines.

A procedural letter setting out further process for the disaggregated wholesale HSA service proceeding will be issued in due course.

Please contact Tom Vilmansen (tom.vilmansen@crtc.gc.ca) at (819) 997-9253 or me (lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca) at (819) 953-5414 should you have any questions in regard to this letter.

Sincerely,

Original signed by Doug Thurston for

Lyne Renaud
Director, Competitor Services and Costing Implementation
Telecommunication Sector

DISTRIBUTION LIST

nels2510@telus.net; robin.winsor@cybera.ca; steve@openmedia.ca; reza.rajabiun@ryerson.ca; darrellkrahn@shaw.ca; chall2k5@gmail.com; heather.b.gold@ftthcouncil.org; ron.murch@haskayne.ucalgary.ca; regulatory@fibernetics.ca; jeff_mcnamee@sympatico.ca ; cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca; regulatory@ssimicro.com; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca; regulatory@mts.ca ; regulatory@zayo.com; rs@summer.com; corinne.pohlmann@cfib.ca; john.pecman@cb-bc.gc.ca; jpanter@auroracollege.nt.ca; slambert-racine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca; george.burger@vmedia.ca; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com; ; jlawford@piac.ca; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca; MaryAnne.Bendfeld@calgary.ca; blackwell@giganomics.ca; jfmezei@vaxination.ca; Derek.Leschinsky@bc-cb.gc.ca; Monique.Moreau@cfib.ca; regulatory@bell.aliant.ca; document.control@sasktel.com; regulatory.affairs@telus.com; dennis.beland@quebecor.com; david.watt@rci.rogers.com; regulatory@sjrb.ca; ctacit@tacitlaw.com; regulatory@distributel.ca; regulatory@primustel.ca; regulatory@bcba.ca; telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com; bell.regulatory@bell.ca; regulatory@teksavvy.com ; regaffairs@quebecor.com; steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca; dmckeown@viewcom.ca ; Nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com ; lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca ; marc.pilon@crtc.gc.ca ; tom.vilmansen@crtc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 24 février 2017

Notre référence : 8740-B2-201700055

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Objet : Avis de modification tarifaire 7522 de Bell Canada – Service d’accès haute vitesse de gros dégroupé – Demande de Bell Canada visant le report de dates limites pour le dépôt des études de coûts proposées

Madame, Monsieur,

Le Conseil a reçu une lettre déposée le 21 février 2017 par Bell Canada dans laquelle la société demande le report de diverses dates limites de dépôt établies par le Conseil relativement aux études de coûts (et aux réponses aux demandes de renseignements) liées aux avis de modification tarifaire (AMT) 7504 et 7522 de Bell Canada ainsi qu’aux AMT 1B et 2 de Bell Mobilité. Bell Canada a précisément demandé :

Bell Canada a également demandé que ces prolongations, ainsi que les dates de procédure correspondantes, soient accordées à toutes les parties qui doivent présenter une réponse à une demande de renseignements dans le cadre des instances visées.

La présente lettre concerne la demande de Bell Canada visant le report au 4 avril 2017 de la date limite pour le dépôt des études de coûts proposées liées à son service AHV de gros dégroupé (point b). Les demandes concernant l’instance relative au service AHV de gros groupé (point a) et l’instance sur les services d’itinérance sans fil (point c) sont traitées dans des lettres distinctes.

Le Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens approuve les prolongations à la condition que le Conseil exige que Bell Canada et les autres parties s’engagent à déposer les études de coûts et les données sur les coûts en réponse aux demandes de renseignements en conformité avec les lignes directrices du Conseil sur la divulgation et l’information.

Dans sa lettre de présentation du 9 janvier 2017 liée au dépôt du tarif de son service AHV de gros dégroupé, Bell Canada a précisé qu’elle déposerait des modifications à l’étude de coûts y étant associée conformément aux directives du Conseil et justifierait les écarts par rapport aux décisions antérieures du Conseil dans le contexte de cette étude. En même temps, elle apporterait des modifications semblables à ses études de coûts du service d’accès haute vitesse de gros dégroupé (précisément pour la facturation fondée sur la capacité [FFC] et la fibre jusqu’aux locaux de l’abonné [FTTP]) et fournirait une justification pour les écarts similaires de la même manière que pour son service AHV de gros dégroupé. Bell Canada a également proposé de déposer ces modifications et justifications d’ici le 27 février 2017.

Le personnel est d’avis qu’il est raisonnable d’accorder un délai à Bell pour le dépôt de modifications à son étude de coûts liée au service AHV de gros dégroupé puisqu’il permettra à l’entreprise de consacrer ses efforts immédiats au dépôt des renseignements exigés dans l’instance concernant le service AHV de gros groupé. Dans sa demande de report, Bell Canada a précisé qu’elle aurait sollicité un report de deux semaines si la relâche scolaire du mois de mars n’était pas tombée durant la période de prolongation demandée. Le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que la relâche scolaire n’est pas un motif adéquat pour justifier le report de dates limites. Ainsi, un report de deux semaines conviendrait.

Conséquemment, les modifications de Bell Canada à ses études de coûts pour le service AHV de gros dégroupé (FFC et FTTP) doivent être déposées d’ici le 20 mars 2017. On rappelle à Bell Canada que ses réponses doivent être conformes aux lignes directrices du Conseil sur la divulgation.

Une lettre de procédure établissant les étapes ultérieures dans le cadre de l’instance sur le service AHV de gros dégroupé sera publiée en temps utile.

Veuillez communiquer avec Tom Vilmansen (tom.vilmansen@crtc.gc.ca ou 819-997-9253) ou moi‑même (lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca ou 819-953-5414) si vous avez des questions au sujet de cette lettre.

Veuille agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La directrice,

L’original signé par Doug Thurston au nom de

Lyne Renaud
Services aux concurrents et Établissement des coûts
Secteur des télécommunications

LISTE DE DISTRIBUTION

nels2510@telus.net; robin.winsor@cybera.ca; steve@openmedia.ca; reza.rajabiun@ryerson.ca; darrellkrahn@shaw.ca; chall2k5@gmail.com; heather.b.gold@ftthcouncil.org; ron.murch@haskayne.ucalgary.ca; regulatory@fibernetics.ca; jeff_mcnamee@sympatico.ca ;  cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca; regulatory@ssimicro.com; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca; regulatory@mts.ca ; regulatory@zayo.com; rs@summer.com; corinne.pohlmann@cfib.ca; john.pecman@cb-bc.gc.ca; jpanter@auroracollege.nt.ca; slambert-racine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca; george.burger@vmedia.ca; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com; ; jlawford@piac.ca; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca; MaryAnne.Bendfeld@calgary.ca; blackwell@giganomics.ca; jfmezei@vaxination.ca; Derek.Leschinsky@bc-cb.gc.ca; Monique.Moreau@cfib.ca; regulatory@bell.aliant.ca; document.control@sasktel.com; regulatory.affairs@telus.com; dennis.beland@quebecor.com; david.watt@rci.rogers.com; regulatory@sjrb.ca; ctacit@tacitlaw.com; regulatory@distributel.ca; regulatory@primustel.ca; regulatory@bcba.ca; telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com; bell.regulatory@bell.ca; regulatory@teksavvy.com ; regaffairs@quebecor.com; steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca; dmckeown@viewcom.ca ; Nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com ; lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca ; marc.pilon@crtc.gc.ca ; tom.vilmansen@crtc.gc.ca

Date de modification :