Telecom Commission Letter adressed to Distribution List

Our reference: 1011-NOC2016-0293

Ottawa, 24 February 2017

BY EMAIL

To: Distribution List

Re: Wireless Code Review – Requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential filed by the Coalition

Dear Sir or Madam:

This letter addresses requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential in the Review of the Wireless Code proceeding.Footnote 1

On 17 February 2017, the CoalitionFootnote 2 filed a request for disclosure of certain information filed by wireless service providers (WSPs) in response to undertakings taken at the Wireless Code Review public hearing and designated as confidential.

The information for which the Coalition requested disclosure related mainly to the number of devices that WSPs had unlocked, WSPs’ revenues and costs associated therewith, and the number of devices returned during the trial period at various intervals since the coming into force of the Wireless Code.  The Coalition also requested disclosure of information related to complaints respecting voice roaming filed by Quebecor Media Inc., on behalf of its subsidiary Videotron (Videotron), and how an unlocking fee may mitigate fraud filed by Rogers Communications Company Inc. (RCCI).

The Coalition argued that the public interest in disclosure of the information would outweigh any potential harm to the WSPs arising therefrom. In the alternative, the Coalition argued that any information that was not disclosed on a company-specific basis should be disclosed in the aggregate.

On 22 February 2017, Bell Canada, Bragg Communications Inc., doing business as Eastlink (Eastlink), Rogers Communications Company Inc. (RCCI), Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel), TELUS Communications Company (TCC) and Videotron filed their replies to the disclosure request.

With the exception of SaskTel, these WSPs argued that no additional company-specific information should be disclosed. SaskTel submitted that it did not oppose the release of the information it had designated as confidential in response to CRTC Exhibit 1, Question 22, respecting the number of devices returned during the trial period.

RCCI and Videotron did not oppose disclosure on an aggregated basis. Bell and Eastlink did not support aggregated disclosure, but submitted that if any additional disclosure was required, such disclosure should only be on an aggregated basis. Bell and RCCI submitted that aggregated disclosure should only proceed if information from more than three WSPs was available, and that the total number of WSPs who had provided the information should not be disclosed. SaskTel opposed the disclosure of aggregated information respecting unlocking revenues or costs in any circumstances. TCC opposed the disclosure of any aggregated information in any circumstances, arguing that it would provide parties with no relevant information.

Where the WSPs opposed disclosure, they generally argued that the specific and direct harm that would be caused to the WSPs as a result of revealing sensitive commercial information to competitors would outweigh any potential public interest in disclosure.

On 23 February 2017, the Coalition filed a sur-reply respecting its request for disclosure. However, as the procedure established by Commission staff in its letter of 20 February 2017 to dispose of the request did not provide for such a filing, Commission staff has not taken it into account here.

Disclosure

Requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential are addressed in light of sections 38 and 39 of the Telecommunications Act (the Act) and sections 30 and following of the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules). In evaluating a request, an assessment is made as to whether the information falls into a category of information that can be designated confidential pursuant to section 39 of the Act. The next step in the assessment is to determine whether there is any specific direct harm likely to result from the disclosure of the information in question and whether any such harm outweighs the public interest in disclosure. In making this evaluation, a number of factors are taken into consideration, including the degree of competition and the importance of the information to the ability of the Commission to obtain a full and complete record. The factors considered are discussed in more detail in Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, 23 December 2010, as amended by Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 October 2012.

Conclusions

Commission staff has reviewed the requests for disclosure from the Coalition and considers that further disclosure of certain company-specific information is required.

Specifically, SaskTel and RCCI are to file the information set out in Attachment 1 for the public record by no later than 8 p.m., Ottawa time, on 27 February 2017.

Commission staff notes that SaskTel did not oppose the disclosure of the information in question. While Rogers did oppose disclosure of information related to how an unlocking fee mitigates fraud, Commission staff considers that partial disclosure of this information would be in the public interest. Rogers has not established the likelihood of specific and direct harm that would outweigh the public interest in the disclosure of the information to the extent set out in Attachment 1.

Commission staff further considers that certain additional information should be disclosed on the public record of the proceeding on an aggregated basis. The WSPs that have argued against disclosure on an aggregated basis have not established that they would suffer specific and direct harm as a result. Further, staff considers that disclosure of this information would provide parties with a meaningful opportunity to comment on general and relevant trends in the wireless market that may influence those parties’ submission with respect to proposals on the record of the proceeding.

Commission staff acknowledges that in certain cases the information provided has been identified by the submitting party as an estimate. However, these cases are limited, and staff considers that even estimates would have value to parties as a means of informing their participation.

Having regard to the considerations set out above, on 27 February 2017 Commission staff will place the following aggregated totals on the public record, on an annualized basis from 2014 – 2016: the number of devices unlocked by WSPs, revenues associated with unlocking, and the number of devices returned during the trial period.

The information will be set out in the format of the Table below, as calculated by Commission staff. The aggregated totals will be based on the responses of the WSPs participating in the proceeding to the following undertakings:

The Table will include information from the responses to undertakings noted above, as well as from any responses to undertakings that the WSPs have incorporated by reference into their responses to the listed undertakings. Not every WSP that participated in the proceeding and that filed responses to undertakings has filed information for each category and year set out in the Table below. Accordingly, it cannot be assumed that any particular WSP has contributed information to the table for a specific year under a specific category.

As noted previously, further process to allow parties to comment on the new information may be set out in the coming days.

Sincerely,

[Original signed by]

Nanao Kachi Director, Social and Consumer Policy Consumer Affairs and Strategic Policy

Enclosure

c. c.:  CRTC: Megan Wawryk, megan.wawryk@crtc.gc.ca;

          Guillaume Leclerc, guillaume.leclerc@crtc.gc.ca;

          Megan Maloney, megan.maloney@crtc.gc.ca;

          Adam Balkovec, adam.balkovec@crtc.gc.ca   

Distribution List:

Wireless Service Providers

Bell Mobility (bell.regulatory@bell.ca)

Bragg Communications Inc, dba "Eastlink" (regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca)

Freedom Mobile (eantecol@windmobile.ca)

Quebecor Media Inc., on behalf of its subsidiary Videotron G.P. (dennis.beland@quebecor.com)

Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (monifa.morgan@rci.rogers.com)

Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel) (document.control@sasktel.com)

SSi Micro Ltd. (regulatory@ssimicro.com)

TELUS Communications Company (eric.edora@telus.com)

Consumer Groups

The Coalition, composed of the Consumers’  Association of Canada (CAC), Council of Senior Citizens Organizations of British Columbia (COSCO), National Pensioners Federation (NPF) and Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC) (lawford@piac.ca)

Comité pour le service cellulaire équitable L'Islet (sjmckay49@gmail.com)

Consumers Council of Canada (whitehurst@consumerscouncil.com; dchogarth@gmail.com)

Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee (lisa@deafwireless.ca)

Media Access Canada, on behalf of the Access 2020 Coalition of Disabilities Stakeholders (anthony@tibbs.ca)

Union des consommateurs (slambert-racine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca)

Other Parties

Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association (keby@cwta.ca; info@cwta.ca)

Commissioner for Complaints for Telecommunications Services Inc. (howard.maker@ccts-cprst.ca)

Community Legal Aid (lbahgat@uwindsor.ca)

Dr. Catherine Middleton, Canada Research Chair, Ted Rogers School of Management, Ryerson University and Dr. Tamara Shepherd, Assistant Professor, Department of Communication, Media and Film, University of Calgary (catherine.middleton@ryerson.ca; tamara.shepherd@ucalgary.ca)

Forum for Research and Policy in Communications (execdir@frpc.net; (cynkhoo@gmail.com)

Group of Students from Huntington University at Laurentian University (jgoldie@huntingtonu.ca)

Group of researchers composed of Marina Pavlovic, Mary Cavanagh, Sean Grassie and Lora Hamilton (marina.pavlovic@uottawa.ca)

Ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec et l'Office de la protection du consommateur (karine.lemieux@mcc.gouv.qc.ca)

Vaxination  Informatique (jfmezei@vaxination.ca)

Attachment 1: Disclosure of Information Designated as Confidential

SaskTel

RCCI

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Liste de distribution

No de dossier : 1011-NOC2016-0293

Ottawa, le 24 février 2017

PAR COURRIEL

Destinataire : Liste de distribution

Objet : Examen du Code sur les services sans fil – demande de la Coalition en vue de la divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels

Madame, Monsieur,

Cette lettre porte sur des demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels dans le cadre de l’instance relative à l’Examen du Code sur les services sans filNote de bas de page 1.

Le 17 février 2017, la CoalitionNote de bas de page 2 a déposé une demande de divulgation de certains renseignements présentés par les fournisseurs de services sans fil (FSSF) en réponse à leurs engagements à l’audience publique de l’Examen et désignés comme confidentiels.

La Coalition a demandé que des renseignements soient divulgués principalement sur le nombre d’appareils déverrouillés par les FSSF, les recettes et les coûts afférents des FSSF en lien avec ces déverrouillages, et le nombre d’appareils retournés pendant la période d’essai à divers intervalles depuis l’entrée en vigueur du Code sur les services sans fil. La Coalition a aussi demandé que soient divulgués les renseignements sur les plaintes relatives aux frais d’itinérance des services de voix déposées par Québecor Media, au nom de sa filiale Vidéotron (Vidéotron), et sur la façon dont les frais de déverrouillage pourraient remédier aux allégations de fraude déposées par Rogers Communications Company Inc. (RCCI).

La Coalition a fait valoir que l’intérêt public qui pourrait être tiré de la divulgation de ces renseignements l’emporterait sur tout préjudice possible pour les FSSF. Sinon, la Coalition a demandé que toute information qui n’est pas rendue publique pour chaque entreprise le soit sur une base agrégée pour l’ensemble des FSSF ayant répondu à l’engagement en question.

Le 22 février 2017, Bell Canada, Bragg Communications Inc. sous la dénomination Eastlink (Eastlink), Rogers Communications Company Inc. (RCCI), Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel), TELUS Communications Company (TCC) et Vidéotron ont déposé leurs réponses à cette demande de divulgation.

À l’exception de SaskTel, ces FSSF ont dit qu’aucun autre renseignement propre à une entreprise ne devrait être divulgué. SaskTel maintenait ne pas s’opposer à ce que soit communiquée l’information qu’elle avait désignée comme confidentielle dans sa réponse à la Pièce 1 du CRTC, question 22, au sujet du nombre d’appareils retournés pendant la période d’essai.

RCCI et Vidéotron ne s’opposaient pas à une divulgation sur une base agrégée. Bell et Eastlink n’appuyaient pas une telle mesure, mais jugeaient que, si une nouvelle divulgation était nécessaire, elle devrait être sur une base agrégée. Bell et RCCI ont soumis qu’il ne devrait y avoir de divulgation agrégée que si on disposait de renseignements venant de plus de trois FSSF et que, par ailleurs, on ne devrait pas faire connaître le nombre total de FSSF ayant fourni l’information. SaskTel s’opposait à la divulgation sur une base agrégée des recettes ou des coûts de déverrouillage, quelles que soient les circonstances. TCC s’opposait à la divulgation sur une base agrégée, peu importe la circonstance, en faisant valoir qu’elle ne procurerait pas de renseignements utiles aux parties.

Si les FSSF s’opposaient à la divulgation, ils convenaient généralement que le préjudice qui leur serait causé en révélant des renseignements commerciaux de nature délicate à des compétiteurs l’emporterait sur tout intérêt public en matière de divulgation.

Le 23 février 2017, la Coalition a déposé une contre-réplique au sujet de sa demande de divulgation, mais comme la procédure établie par le personnel du Conseil dans sa lettre du 20 février 2017 sur le traitement de cette demande ne prévoyait pas un tel dépôt, le personnel n’en a pas tenu compte.

Divulgation

Les demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels sont évaluées aux termes des articles 38 et 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi) ainsi que de l’article 30 et des articles suivants des Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC (les Règles de procédure). Lorsqu’il évalue une demande, le Conseil cherche à savoir si les renseignements s’inscrivent dans une catégorie de renseignements considérés comme confidentiels aux termes de l’article 39 de la Loi. Il détermine ensuite si la divulgation des renseignements en question risque d’entraîner un préjudice direct particulier, et si ce préjudice l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation. Dans le cadre de l’évaluation, le Conseil doit tenir compte d’un certain nombre de facteurs, notamment du niveau de concurrence et de l’importance des renseignements pour l’aider à obtenir un dossier complet. Les facteurs à évaluer figurent dans le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961 du 23 décembre 2010, modifié par le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961-1 du 26 octobre 2012, intitulé Procédures à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil.

Conclusions

Le personnel du Conseil a examiné les demandes de divulgation de la Coalition et juge qu’une nouvelle divulgation de renseignements propres à certains FSSF soit nécessaire. Spécifiquement, SaskTel et RCCI doivent déposer les renseignements établis dans l’Annexe 1 au dossier public au plus tard le 27 février 2017 à 20 h, heure d’Ottawa.

Le personnel note que SaskTel ne s’est pas opposé à la divulgation de l’information en question. Bien que Rogers se soit opposé à la divulgation de l’information sur la manière selon laquelle les frais de déverrouillages diminuent la possibilité de fraude, le personnel du Conseil considère qu’une divulgation partielle de cette information serait dans l’intérêt public. Rogers n’a pas établi la probabilité du préjudice direct particulier qui l’emporterait sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation de l’information telle que présentée dans l’Annexe 1.

Le personnel du Conseil considère en outre que certains autres renseignements devraient être versés au dossier public de l’instance comme divulgation sur une base agrégée. Les FSSF qui ont présenté des arguments contre une telle divulgation n’ont pas établi qu’il en résulterait un préjudice direct. De plus, le personnel juge que la communication de ces

renseignements permettrait aux parties d’avoir une opportunité significative de livrer leurs commentaires sur les tendances générales spécifiques du marché des services sans fil, ce qui pourrait influencer les observations des parties sur les propositions au dossier de l’instance.

Le personnel convient que, dans certains cas, l’information fournie a été indiquée par son auteur comme étant une estimation. Toutefois, ces cas sont limités et le personnel pense que même des estimations ont de l’intérêt pour les parties afin d’informer leur participation.

Compte tenu des facteurs susmentionnés, le personnel versera, le 27 février 2017, les totaux agrégés suivants au dossier public en valeurs annuelles pour la période 2014-2016 en ce qui concerne le nombre d’appareils déverrouillés par les FSSF, les recettes tirées de ce déverrouillage et le nombre d’appareils retournés pendant la période d’essai.

Ces données prendront la forme du tableau qui suit, et les données seront issues des calculs du personnel du Conseil. Ces données agrégées seront fondées sur les réponses des FSSF ayant participé à l’instance à l’égard des engagements suivants :

Le tableau présentera notamment les réponses relatives aux engagements ci-dessus, ainsi qu’aux engagements des FSSF par mention dans leurs réponses aux engagements énumérés. Ce ne sont pas tous les FSSF qui ont participé à l’instance et répondu aux engagements qui ont déposé des renseignements pour chaque catégorie et chaque année de ce tableau. Il ne peut donc pas être présumé qu’un FSSF en particulier a soumis de l’information utilisée dans ce tableau pour une année en particulier sous une catégorie spécifique.

Comme nous l’avons indiqué, un processus supplémentaire permettant aux parties de livrer leurs commentaires sur ces nouveaux renseignements pourrait être établi dans les prochains jours.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur, Politique sociale et des consommateurs,
Consommation et Politique stratégique,

[Original signé par]

Nanao Kachi

c.c. : CRTC, Meghan Wawryk, meghan.wawryk@crtc.gc.ca;

Guillaume Leclerc, guillaume.leclerc@crtc.gc.ca;

Megan Maloney, megan.maloney@crtc.gc.ca;

Adam Balkovec, adam.balkovec@crtc.gc.ca

Liste de distribution :

Fournisseurs de services mobiles

Bell Mobilité (bell.regulatory@bell.ca)

Bragg Communications Inc., sous la dénomination Eastlink (regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca)

Freedom Mobile (eantecol@windmobile.ca)

Quebecor Media Inc., au nom de sa filiale Videotron G.P. (dennis.beland@quebecor.com)

Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (monifa.morgan@rci.rogers.com)

Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel) (document.control@sasktel.com)

SSi Micro Ltd. (regulatory@ssimicro.com)

TELUS Communications Company (eric.edora@telus.com)

Groupes de consommateurs

La Coalition, comprenant l’Association des consommateurs du Canada, le Council of Senior Citizens Organizations of British Columbia, la Fédération nationale des retraités et le Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (lawford@piac.ca)

Comité pour le service cellulaire équitable L’Islet (sjmckay49@gmail.com)

Conseil des consommateurs du Canada (whitehurst@consumerscouncil.com; dchogarth@gmail.com)

Comité pour les services sans fil des Sourds du Canada (CSSFSC) (lisa@deafwireless.ca)

Media Access Canada, au nom d’Access 2020 Coalition of Disabilities Stakeholders (anthony@tibbs.ca)

Union des consommateurs (slambert-racine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca)

Autres parties

Association canadienne des télécommunications sans fil (keby@cwta.ca; info@cwta.ca)

Commissaire aux plaintes relatives aux services de télécommunications inc. (howard.maker@ccts-cprst.ca)

Community Legal Aid (lbahgat@uwindsor.ca)

Catherine Middleton, Chaire de recherche du Canada, Ted Rogers School of Management, Université Ryerson, et Tamara Shepherd, professeure adjointe, Département des communications, des médias et des productions cinématographiques, Université de Calgary (catherine.middleton@ryerson.ca; tamara.shepherd@ucalgary.ca)

Forum for Research and Policy in Communications (execdir@frpc.net; cynkhoo@gmail.com)

Groupe d’étudiants de l’Université Huntington à l’Université Laurentienne (jgoldie@huntingtonu.ca)

Groupe de chercheurs composé de Marina Pavlovic, Mary Cavanagh, Sean Grassie et Lora Hamilton (marina.pavlovic@uottawa.ca)

Ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec et Office de la protection du consommateur (karine.lemieux@mcc.gouv.qc.ca)

Vaxination Informatique (jfmezei@vaxination.ca)

Annexe 1: Divulgation d’information désignée comme confidentielle

SaskTel

RCCI

Date de modification :