Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, 20 February 2017

Our reference: 1011-NOC2016-0293

BY EMAIL

Philippe Gauvin
Senior Legal Counsel
Bell Mobility
Floor 19, 160 Elgin Street
Ottawa, ON  K2P 2C4

Re: Wireless Code Review – Bell Mobility Procedural Request

Dear Sir:

Bell Mobility appeared at the public hearing component of the Wireless Code Review proceeding on 7 February 2017.Footnote 1 During that appearance, Bell Mobility undertook to file responses to a number of questions from Commissioners and Commission legal counsel by no later than 16 February 2017. These undertakings included the questions set out in CRTC Exhibit 1, which was tabled on 6 February 2017.

On 16 February 2017, Bell Mobility filed a procedural request to extend the deadline to respond to eleven of these questions until 20 March 2017.  Bell Mobility argued that the magnitude of the changes that would be required to its systems and processes prevented it from providing responses to questions concerning the cost of implementation of various proposed changes to the Wireless Code.

In reply to Bell Mobility’s procedural request, Rogers Communications (Rogers) and TELUS Communications Company (TCC) filed letters dated 16 February 2017, submitting that they would be prejudiced by filing their own responses to these questions before the Commission disposed of the procedural request.

No other wireless service provider (WSP) that appeared at the public hearing failed to file responses to their own undertakings.Footnote 2

Bell Mobility’s request would significantly alter the timelines associated with this proceeding and would inevitably delay the Commission’s deliberations of the issues raised and ultimate determinations in these matters. In the circumstances, it is not clear that such a delay would be appropriate. Further, Bell Mobility has made assertions regarding its ability to comply with the pre-established deadline, but has provided minimal explanation or support for these assertions, and the Commission notes that no other WSP has made similar arguments regarding the ability to provide similar information by the pre-established deadline. Finally, the Commission expects that parties who agree to specific timelines make the necessary inquiries to determine their ability to comply with these timelines as early as possible.

Accordingly, the Commission denies Bell Mobility’s procedural request. Bell Mobility, Rogers and TCC are to file responses to all questions they undertook to answer during the public hearing by no later than 22 February 2017, using the best available information. All other parties that filed responses to undertakings may update any information in their responses by this same date, should they so choose.

The deadline for final replies shall remain 27 February 2017, as set out in Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2016-293-5.

Yours Sincerely,

Danielle May-Cuconato
Secretary General

c.c.

Distribution List:

Wireless Service Providers

Bell Mobility (bell.regulatory@bell.ca)

Bragg Communications Inc, dba "Eastlink" (regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca)

Quebecor Media Inc., on behalf of its subsidiary Videotron G.P. (dennis.beland@quebecor.com)

Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (monifa.morgan@rci.rogers.com)

Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel) (document.control@sasktel.com)

SSi Micro Ltd. (regulatory@ssimicro.com)

TELUS Communications Company (eric.edora@telus.com)

WIND Mobile Corp. (eantecol@windmobile.ca)

Consumer Groups

The Coalition, composed of the Consumers’ Association of Canada (CAC), Council of Senior Citizens Organizations of British Columbia (COSCO), National Pensioners Federation (NPF) and Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC) (gwhite@piac.ca)

Comité pour le service cellulaire équitable L'Islet (sjmckay49@gmail.com)

Consumers Council of Canada (whitehurst@consumerscouncil.com; dchogarth@gmail.com)

Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee (lisa@deafwireless.ca)

Media Access Canada, on behalf of the Access 2020 Coalition of Disabilities Stakeholders (anthony@tibbs.ca)

Union des consommateurs (slambert-racine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca)

Other Parties

Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association (keby@cwta.ca)

Commissioner for Complaints for Telecommunications Services Inc. (howard.maker@ccts-cprst.ca)

Community Legal Aid (lbahgat@uwindsor.ca)

Dr. Catherine Middleton, Canada Research Chair, Ted Rogers School of Management, Ryerson University and Dr. Tamara Shepherd, Assistant Professor, Department of Communication, Media and Film, University of Calgary (catherine.middleton@ryerson.ca; tamara.shepherd@ucalgary.ca)

Forum for Research and Policy in Communications (execdir@frpc.net)

Group of Students from Huntington University at Laurentian University (jgoldie@huntingtonu.ca)

Group of researchers composed of Marina Pavlovic, Mary Cavanagh, Sean Grassie and Lora Hamilton (marina.pavlovic@uottawa.ca)

Ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec et l'Office de la protection du consommateur (karine.lemieux@mcc.gouv.qc.ca)

Vaxination Informatique (jfmezei@vaxination.ca)

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, le 20 février 2017

Notre référence: 1011-NOC2016-0293

PAR COURRIEL

Philippe Gauvin
Conseiller juridique principal
Bell Mobilité
19e étage, 160 rue Elgin
Ottawa, ON K2P 2C4

Sujet: Examen du Code sur les services sans fil - Requête procédurale de Bell Mobilité

Monsieur:

Bell Mobilité a comparu à l’audience publique de l’examen du Code sur les services sans fil le 7 février 2017.Note de bas de page 1 Au cours de cette comparution, Bell Mobilité s’est engagée à déposer des réponses à un certain nombre de questions des conseillers et des conseillers juridiques du Conseil au plus tard le 16 février 2017. Ces engagements incluaient les questions énoncées dans la pièce no. 1 du CRTC, qui a été déposée le 6 février 2017.

Le 16 février 2017, Bell Mobilité a déposé une procédure visant à prolonger la date limite pour répondre à onze de ces questions jusqu’au 20 mars 2017.  Bell Mobilité a fait valoir que l’ampleur des changements qui seraient nécessaires pour ses systèmes et ses processus l’empêche de fournir des réponses aux questions concernant le coût de la mise en œuvre de divers changements proposés au Code sur les services sans fil.

En réponse à la requête procédurale de Bell Mobilité, Rogers Communications (Rogers) et TELUS Communications Company (TCC) ont déposé des lettres en date du 16 février 2017, faisant valoir qu’ils seraient lésés par le dépôt de leurs propres réponses à ces questions avant que le Conseil ait statué sur la requête procédurale.

Aucun autre fournisseur de services sans fil (FSSF) qui ont comparu à l’audience publique ont omis de déposer des réponses à leurs propres entreprises.Note de bas de page 2

La demande de Bell Mobilité pourrait modifier sensiblement les délais liés à la présente instance et entraînerait inévitablement le Conseil à retarder les délibérations des questions soulevées et des conclusions tirées dans ces questions. Dans les circonstances, il n’est pas évident qu’un tel retard serait approprié.  De plus, Bell Mobilité a fait des affirmations au sujet de sa capacité de se conformer à la limite préétablie, mais a fourni peu d’explication ou d’appui pour ces affirmations, et le Conseil fait remarquer qu’aucune des autres FSSF a présenté des arguments semblables au sujet de la capacité de fournir des renseignements semblables par le délai préétabli. Enfin, le Conseil s’attend à ce que les parties qui acceptent des délais précis de s’interroger sur leur capacité de se conformer à ces délais le plus tôt possible.

 Par conséquent, le Conseil rejette la requête procédurale de Bell Mobilité. Bell Mobilité, Rogers et TCC doivent déposer leurs réponses à toutes les questions qu’ils ont entrepris de répondre au cours de l’audience publique au plus tard le 22 février 2017, à l’aide de la meilleure information disponible. Toutes les autres parties qui ont déposé des réponses aux engagements peuvent mettre à jour les renseignements dans leurs réponses par cette même date, s’ils le désirent.

La date limite pour la réponse finale demeure le 27 février 2017, tel qu’énoncé dans l’avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2016-293-5.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Danielle May-Cuconato
Secrétaire générale

c.c.

Liste de distribution:

Fournisseurs de services sans fil

Bell Mobilité (bell.regulatory@bell.ca)

Bragg Communications Inc, dba « Eastlink » (regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca)

Québecor Média inc., au no de sa filiale Vidéotron s.e.n.c. (dennis.beland@quebecor.com)

Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (monifa.morgan@rci.rogers.com)

Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel) (document.control@sasktel.com)

SSi Micro Ltd. (regulatory@ssimicro.com)

Société TELUS Communications (eric.edora@telus.com)

WIND Mobile Corp. (eantecol@windmobile.ca)

Groupes de consommateurs

La Coalition, composée de l’Association des consommateurs du Canada (ACC),  du Council of Senior Citizens Organizations of British Columbia (COSCO), de la Fédération National des Retraités (FNR) et du Centre pour la Défense de L’Intérêt Public (CDIP) (gwhite@piac.ca; jlawford@piac.ca)

Comité pour le service cellulaire équitable L'Islet (sjmckay49@gmail.com)

Conseil des consommateurs du Canada (whitehurst@consumerscouncil.com; dchogarth@gmail.com)

Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee (lisa@deafwireless.ca)

Media Access Canada, au nom d’Access 2020 Coalition of Disabilities Stakeholders (anthony@tibbs.ca)

Union des consommateurs (slambert-racine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca)

Autres parties

Association canadienne des télécommunications sans fil (keby@cwta.ca)

Commissaire aux plaintes relatives aux services de télécommunications inc. (howard.maker@ccts-cprst.ca)

Community Legal Aid (lbahgat@uwindsor.ca)

Catherine Middleton, Chaire de recherche du Canada, Ted Rogers School of Management, Université Ryerson, et Tamara Shepherd, professeure adjointe, Département des communications, des médias et des productions cinématographiques, Université de Calgary (catherine.middleton@ryerson.ca; tamara.shepherd@ucalgary.ca)

Forum for Research and Policy in Communications (execdir@frpc.net)

Groupe d’étudiants de l’Université Huntington à l’Université Laurentienne (jgoldie@huntingtonu.ca)

Groupe de chercheurs composé de Marina Pavlovic, Mary Cavanagh, Sean Grassie et Lora Hamilton (marina.pavlovic@uottawa.ca)

Ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec et l'Office de la protection du consommateur (karine.lemieux@mcc.gouv.qc.ca)

Vaxination Informatique (jfmezei@vaxination.ca)

Date de modification :