Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Samer Bishay (Iristel Inc.)

Ottawa, 17 February 2017

Our reference:  8663-J64-201611913

BY EMAIL

Mr. Samer Bishay
President and CEO, Iristel Inc.
675 Cochrane Drive, 6th Floor, East Tower
Markham, Ontario  L3R 0B8
regulatory@iristel.ca

RE: Part 1 application by Iristel Inc. requesting implementation of local competition in the exchange of Aylmer, Ontario – requests for information

Dear Mr. Bishay,

On 17 November 2016, Iristel Inc. (Iristel) filed a Part 1 application requesting an order from the Commission directing Amtelecom Telco GP Inc., a business unit of Bragg Communications Inc. carrying on business as Eastlink (Eastlink) to implement local competition in Aylmer, Ontario (Aylmer, ON), a territory served solely by Eastlink.

To assist the Commission in disposing of Iristel’s application, the company is to file responses to the attached requests for information with the Commission by 20 March 2017.

Parties to this proceeding may file comments to Iristel’s responses to the requests for information by 19 April 2017.

Iristel may reply to any comments by 3 May 2017.

Documents to be filed or served by a specific date must be actually received, not merely sent, by that date.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Kay Saicheua
Director, Competition and Emergency Service Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Christine Brock, CRTC, 819-997-4557, christine.brock@crtc.gc.ca
Rizwana Alamgir-Arif, CRTC, 819-997-4651, rizwana.alamgir-arif@crtc.gc.ca
Bragg Communications Inc., carrying on business as Eastlink, regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
TELUS Communications Company, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Independent Telecommunications Providers Association, regulatory@itpa.ca

Attach. (1)


ATTACHMENT

Requests for information

  1. Describe how Iristel plans to meet, in the exchange of Aylmer, ON, all its obligationsFootnote1 as a telecommunications carrier seeking Type 1 CLEC status. Your description should detail how Iristel plans to meet, among others, its obligation to provide 9-1-1 and message relay services to its customers.
  2. Describe Iristel’s plan to deploy transmission facilities to implement its local voice services in the exchange of Aylmer, ON. Specifically, the response should provide details on:
    1. Iristel’s proposed fibre build, including i) the length of the fibre to be deployed, ii) the location of the terminations points; iii) the portion of the fibre that will be constructed as a joint-build to a mutually agreed point, and iv) any portion exclusively built by Iristel as a part of its deployment of transmission facilities;
    2. the location of Iristel’s switch for voice services, and its interconnection path to Eastlink’s local and tandem switches; and
    3. other relevant facts to demonstrate that Iristel plans meet the definition of a transmission facility, as defined in the Telecommunications Act. Footnote2  
  3. Provide an annual forecast over 5 years, starting in January 2018 of the volume of voice traffic (in minutes) going over the planned interconnection path. The forecast is to include a breakdown between total incoming and total outgoing voice traffic minutes.
  4. In paragraph 24 of its reply comments dated 19 January 2017, Iristel stated that:
     “NAS forecasts are becoming a misleading indicator of the number of subscribers that a CLEC hopes to attract as there are increasingly advanced telecommunications Internet of Things technologies being deployed in the market that allow a wider range of household devices to be connected to the Internet with phone numbers.”

    Provide an annual forecast over 5 years, starting in January 2018, of the Voice over Internet Protocol demand for telephone numbers for the proposed Aylmer, ON exchange. If possible, identify the percentage of this forecast associated with the adoption of Internet of Things. If it is not possible to identify a percentage, explain why.

  5.  Provide an annual forecast over 5 years, starting in January 2018, of i) the number of local service customers expected to be physically located within the Aylmer, ON exchange and ii) the number of customers using that service that are expected to be physically located outside of the Aylmer, ON exchange. 
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Samer Bishay (Iristel Inc.)

Ottawa, le 17 février 2017

Notre référence 8663-J64-201611913

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Samer Bishay
Président - directeur général
Iristel Inc.
6e étage, Tour Est
675, Cochrane Drive
Markham (Ontario) L3R 0B8
regulatory@iristel.ca

OBJET :  Demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par Iristel Inc. concernant la mise en œuvre de la concurrence locale dans la circonscription d’Aylmer, en Ontario – Demandes de renseignements

Monsieur Bishay,

Le 17 novembre 2016, Iristel Inc. (Iristel) a déposé une demande en vertu de la partie 1 pour réclamer une ordonnance du Conseil enjoignant à Amtelecom Telco GP Inc., une division opérationnelle de Bragg Communications Inc. qui exerce ses activités sous le nom d’Eastlink (Eastlink), de mettre en œuvre la concurrence locale dans la circonscription d’Aylmer, en Ontario [Aylmer (ON)], un territoire desservi uniquement par Eastlink.

Pour aider le Conseil à traiter la demande d’Iristel, l’entreprise est priée de déposer auprès du Conseil, d’ici le 20 mars 2017, les réponses aux demandes de renseignements ci-jointes.

Les parties à la présente instance peuvent soumettre leurs observations aux réponses d’Iristel aux demandes de renseignements au plus tard le 19 avril 2017.

Iristel pourra répliquer à toute observation au plus tard le 3 mai 2017.

Les documents qui doivent être déposés ou signifiés à une date précise doivent être effectivement reçus, et non simplement envoyés, à la date indiquée.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur Bishay, mes salutations distinguées.

La directrice,

Original signé par

Kay Saicheua
Politiques de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c.  Christine Brock, CRTC, 819-997-4557, christine.brock@crtc.gc.ca
Rizwana Alamgir-Arif, CRTC, 819-997-4651, rizwana.alamgir-arif@crtc.gc.ca
Bragg Communications Inc., exerçant ses activités sous le nom d’Eastlink, regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Société TELUS Communications, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Independent Telecommunications Providers Association, regulatory@itpa.ca

P.j. (1)


PIÈCE JOINTE

Demandes de renseignements

  1. Veuillez décrire comment Iristel compte satisfaire, dans la circonscription d’Aylmer (ON), à l’ensemble de ses obligationsNote de bas de page1 à titre d’entreprise de télécommunication désirant obtenir le statut d’ESLC de type 1. Votre description doit indiquer comment Iristel entend satisfaire, entre autres, à son obligation de fournir des services 9-1-1 et des services de relais téléphonique à ses clients.
  2. Veuillez décrire le plan d’Iristel en vue de déployer les installations de transmission qui serviront à la mise en œuvre de ses services téléphoniques locaux dans la circonscription d’Aylmer (ON). Plus précisément, la réponse doit fournir les détails suivants :
    1. Le câble à fibre optique proposé par Iristel, y compris : i) la longueur du câble qui sera mis en place; ii) l’emplacement des points d’arrivée; iii) la partie du câble à fibre optique qui sera installé conjointement selon un accord mutuel; iv) toute portion installée exclusivement par Iristel dans le cadre du déploiement de ses installations de transmission;
    2. L’emplacement du commutateur d’Iristel utilisé pour ses services téléphoniques et son trajet d’interconnexion vers les commutateurs local et de transit d’Eastlink;
    3. Tout autre détail pertinent visant à démontrer qu’Iristel compte satisfaire à la définition d’une installation de transmission, tel que défini dans la Loi sur les télécommunicationsNote de bas de page2.
  3. Veuillez fournir des prévisions annuelles pour une période de 5 ans, commençant en janvier 2018, pour le volume de trafic téléphonique (en minutes) qui utilisera le trajet d’interconnexion prévu. Les prévisions doivent inclure une répartition des minutes totales entrantes et sortantes du trafic téléphonique.
  4. Au paragraphe 24 de sa réplique datée du 19 janvier 2017, Iristel a déclaré :
    « Les prévisions relatives au SAR deviennent un indicateur trompeur du nombre d’abonnés qu’une ESLC espère attirer car on met en marché des technologies de l’Internet des objets de plus en plus avancées en matière de télécommunications qui permettent à un plus grand nombre d’appareils ménagers d’établir une connexion à Internet en utilisant un numéro de téléphone. » [Traduction]

    Veuillez fournir des prévisions annuelles pour une période de 5 ans, commençant en janvier 2018, au sujet de la demande de numéros de téléphone VoIP pour la circonscription d’Aylmer (ON). Dans la mesure du possible, veuillez indiquer quel pourcentage de ces prévisions est associé à l’adoption de l’Internet des objets. S’il est impossible de donner un pourcentage, veuillez expliquer.

  5. Veuillez fournir des prévisions annuelles pour une période de 5 ans, commençant en janvier 2018, au sujet : i) du nombre de clients du service local qui devraient être situés physiquement dans la circonscription d’Aylmer (ON) et ii) le nombre de clients du service qui devraient être situés physiquement à l’extérieur de la circonscription d’Aylmer (ON).
Date de modification :