Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, 2 February 2017

Our reference:  8640-B2-201600049

BY EMAIL

Mr. Philippe Gauvin
Bell Canada
160 Elgin Street, 19th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Re:  Part 1 Application by Bell Canada regarding Forbearance of Wholesale Unbundled Relay Services

Dear Mr. Gauvin:

This letter is in regards to a Part 1 application, dated January 6, 2016, in which Bell Canada (Bell) requested, among other things, that the CRTC refrain from exercising its powers and performing its duties under certain sections of the Telecommunications Act in relation to Bell’s Wholesale Unbundled Relay Services (WURS).

As announced in the CRTC 2016-2017 Report on Plans and Priorities, the CRTC published Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-33 today to initiate a review of the regulatory framework for message relay service (MRS). The upcoming process will allow for an examination of wholesale and retail MRS issues on a holistic basis, and will give all interested parties (e.g. Local Exchange Carriers, public interest groups and Canadians who are Deaf, hard of hearing or speech-impaired) an opportunity to provide comments.

Accordingly, the CRTC is closing the Bell application related to this matter, as the issues raised may be rendered moot by the determinations arising from this proceeding. By closing the application, the CRTC is not ruling on its merits.

Once the process has been concluded and a decision issued, Bell may choose, if it deems necessary, to file a new application regarding WURS that takes into consideration the outcomes of the proceeding.

Yours sincerely,

Danielle May-Cuconato

Secretary General

Enclosure

c.c.: Laura Jung, Laurajung@outlook.com
        Managed Network Systems Inc., clayton@mnsi.net
        TELUS Communications Company, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
        Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc., chickey@cnoc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, le 2 février 2017

Notre référence : 8640-B2-201600049

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Philippe Gauvin
Bell Canada
160, rue Elgin, 19e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Objet : demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par Bell Canada concernant l’abstention de la réglementation des services de relais dégroupés de gros

Monsieur,

La présente concerne la demande en vertu de la partie 1, datée du 6 janvier 2016, dans laquelle Bell Canada (Bell) a demandé, entre autres choses, que le CRTC s’abstienne d’exercer les pouvoirs et les fonctions que lui confèrent certains articles de la Loi sur les télécommunications relativement à ses services de relais de gros dégroupés (SRGD).

Comme il l’avait annoncé dans son Rapport sur les plans et priorités 2016-2017, le CRTC a publié aujourd’hui l’avis de consultation de télécom 2017-33 pour amorcer un examen du cadre de réglementation des services de relais téléphoniques (SRT). Le processus à venir permettra d’examiner les questions ayant trait aux SRT de gros et de détail suivant une approche holistique et donnera à toutes les parties intéressées (p. ex. les entreprises de services locaux, les groupes de défense de l’intérêt public et les Canadiens sourds, malentendants ou ayant un trouble de la parole) la possibilité de présenter des observations.

Par conséquent, le CRTC ferme le dossier de la demande de Bell à ce sujet parce qu’une fois les conclusions de l’instance tirées, les questions soulevées pourraient être sans portée pratique. En fermant le dossier, le conseil ne se prononcera pas sur le bien-fondé de la demande.

Une fois que le processus sera terminé et qu’une décision sera rendue, Bell pourra, si elle l’estime nécessaire, déposer une nouvelle demande concernant les SRGD, laquelle tiendra compte des conclusions de l’instance.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La secrétaire générale,

Danielle May-Cuconato

Pièce jointe

c.c. : Laura Jung, Laurajung@outlook.com
         Managed Network Systems Inc., clayton@mnsi.net
         Société TELUS Communications, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
         Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens Inc., chickey@cnoc.ca

Date de modification :