Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Various Parties

Ottawa, 1 February 2017

Our reference: 1011-NOC2016-0116

BY EMAIL

Lisa Anderson-Kellett
Chair, Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee
lisa@deafwireless.ca

Frank Folino
President, Canadian Association of the Deaf/
Association des Sourds du Canada
ffolino@cad.ca

Megan McHugh
President
Canadian National Society of the Deaf-Blind
mchugh.mm@gmail.com

RE: Establishment of a regulatory framework for next-generation 9-1-1 in Canada, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2016-116 - Request for extension

Dear Ms. Anderson-Kellett, Mr. Folino and Ms. McHugh,

By letter dated 31 January 2017, the Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee, the Canadian Association of the Deaf/Association des Sourds du Canada, and the Canadian National Society of the Deaf-Blind requested an extension to 17 February 2017 to submit final written submissions citing the need for more time to review the transcripts and the need to prepare for the public hearing associated with Review of the Wireless Code, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2016-293.

Under the circumstances, given that the duration of the oral hearing was limited to five days during which transcripts were made available the following business day, Commission staff considers that a two week extension to the deadline for submission of final written responses is appropriate.

The Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee, the Canadian Association of the Deaf, and the Canadian National Society of the Deaf-Blind will now have until 14 February 2017 to file their final submission. This final submission is to be limited to matters within the scope of the proceeding and may not respond to the comments made in the final submissions that have already been received from other parties.

Staff reminds parties that if procedural requests for extensions are required, they can be submitted at any time, prior to the applicable deadline. These requests should be made as far in advance of the deadline as possible.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Kay Saicheua
Director, Competition and Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c: Renée Doiron, CRTC, renee.doiron@crtc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à diverse parties

Ottawa, le 1 février 2017

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2016-0116

PAR COURRIEL

Madame Lisa Anderson-Kellett
Présidente
Comité pour les services sans fil des Sourds du Canada
lisa@deafwireless.ca

Monsieur Frank Folino
Président
Association des Sourds du Canada
ffolino@cad.ca

Madame Megan McHugh
Présidente
Canadian National Society of the Deaf-Blind
mchugh.mm@gmail.com

Objet :  Établissement d’un cadre réglementaire pour le 9-1-1 de prochaine génération au Canada, Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2016-116 – Demande de prolongation

Mesdames, Monsieur,

Dans une lettre datée du 31 janvier 2017, le Comité pour les services sans fil des Sourds du Canada, l’Association des Sourds du Canada et la Canadian National Society of the Deaf-Blind ont demandé une prolongation au 17 février 2017 du délai pour le dépôt de leurs observations écrites finales, invoquant le besoin de temps pour l’examen des transcriptions et pour la préparation en vue de l’audience publique associée à l’Examen du Code sur les services sans fil, Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2016-293.

Compte tenu du fait que la durée de l’audience publique était limitée à cinq jours et que les transcriptions étaient disponibles le jour ouvrable suivant, le personnel du Conseil estime qu’il est approprié de prolonger de deux semaines le délai pour le dépôt des observations écrites finales.

Le Comité pour les services sans fil des Sourds du Canada, l’Association des Sourds du Canada et la Canadian National Society of the Deaf-Blind ont maintenant jusqu’au 14 février 2017 pour déposer leurs observations finales. Ces dernières doivent se limiter aux questions relevant de la portée de l’instance et ne pas répondre aux observations finales déjà déposées par d’autres parties.

Le personnel rappelle aux parties que les requêtes procédurales de prolongation, lorsque nécessaires, peuvent être déposées en tout temps avant le délai applicable. Ces requêtes devraient être déposées le plus tôt possible avant le délai.

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Monsieur, nos salutations distinguées.

L’original signé par

Kay Saicheua
Directrice, Politique de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c. Renée Doiron, CRTC, renee.doiron@crtc.gc.ca

Date de modification :