Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Matt Lonsdale (Law Department, City of Calgary)

Ottawa, 26 January 2017

Our reference: 8690-C126-201612250

BY EMAIL

Mr. Matt Lonsdale
Legal Counsel
City of Calgary
Law Department,
P.O Box 2100 Stn. M
Calgary, Alberta  T2P 2M5
matt.lonsdale@calgary.ca

RE: Application for Determinations and Approvals re: Municipal Consent by the City of Calgary – Request for a suspension or extension

Dear Mr. Lonsdale:

On 28 November 2016, the City of Calgary (Calgary) filed an application requesting that the Commission make certain determinations concerning the access and use of municipal rights-of-way (ROW) by telecommunications service providers pursuant to its ROW Bylaw and its proposed Municipal Consent and Access Agreement (MCAA)  (the Application).

By letter dated 23 January 2017, Bell Canada, Rogers Communications, Shaw Communications Inc., TELUS Communications Company and Zayo Canada (collectively, the Carriers), advised the Commission that they intend to file in February 2017 an application with the Alberta Court of Queens’ Bench (the Alberta Court) to challenge the constitutional validity of  Calgary’s ROW Bylaw. Consequently, the Carriers requested that the Commission suspend consideration of the Application while the related constitutional issues are before the courts; subject, however, to the ability of any party to file a procedural request to resume consideration of the Application.

In the alternative, the Carriers requested that, should the Commission determine that adjournment of the Application is not appropriate, an extension of time be granted to file comments in response to the Application of 30 days from the date of any such determination or from the date its constitutional challenge has been filed in the Alberta Court, whichever occurs first. The Carriers were of the view that as the ROW Bylaw is not meant to come into effect before 1 January 2018, such an extension would not be prejudicial to any party.

Calgary has requested that it be given until 21 February 2017 to file its reply due to the nature of the issues raised by the request and the availability of Calgary’s counsel.

In the circumstances, Calgary and any other interested party may, by 21 February 2017, file its response only with respect to the Carriers’ procedural request that the Commission suspend consideration of the Application for the time being or alternatively, extend the timelines for filing comments in response to the 28 November 2016 Application, and serve a copy of such submissions on the Carriers.  The Carriers may, by 27 February 2017, file a reply and serve a copy on Calgary and any other interested party.

In view of the above, the date of 31 January 2017 for the filing of interventions and answers to the Application issuspended pending the Commission’s ruling on the Carriers’ procedural request.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Jesslyn Mullaney, CRTC, 819-953-5255, jesslyn.mullaney@crtc.gc.ca
Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Rogers Communications,rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Shaw Communications Inc.,regulatory@sjrb.ca
TELUS Communications Company, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Zayo Canada, david.peaker@zayo.com
The Federation of Canadian Municipalities,stephane_emardchabot@sympatico.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Matt Lonsdale (Services juridiques, Ville de Calgary)

Ottawa, le 26 janvier 2017

Notre référence : 8690-C126-201612250

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Matt Lonsdale
Conseiller juridique
Ville de Calgary
Services juridiques
C.P. 2100, succursale M
Calgary (Alberta)  T2P 2M5
matt.lonsdale@calgary.ca

Objet :  Demande de décision et d’approbation au sujet du consentement municipal de la Ville de Calgary – Demande de suspension ou de prolongation

Monsieur,

Le 28 novembre 2016, la Ville de Calgary a déposé une demande dans laquelle elle réclamait que le Conseil prenne certaines décisions au sujet de l’accès des fournisseurs de services de télécommunication aux servitudes municipales, ainsi que de l’utilisation qu’ils font des servitudes, et ce, aux termes de son règlement sur les servitudes et de l’accord d’accès et de consentement municipal qu’elle propose (la Demande).

Dans une lettre du 23 janvier 2017, Bell Canada, Rogers Communications, Shaw Communications Inc., Société TELUS Communications et Zayo Canada (collectivement les entreprises), ont informé le Conseil qu’elles entendaient présenter à la Cour du Banc de la Reine de l’Alberta (Cour de l’Alberta), en février 2017, une demande visant à contester la constitutionnalité du règlement sur les servitudes de la Ville de Calgary. En conséquence, les entreprises ont demandé au Conseil de suspendre l’examen de la Demande pendant que les tribunaux sont saisis des questions constitutionnelles connexes, sous réserve que toute partie puisse demander la reprise de l’examen par voie d’une requête procédurale.

Par ailleurs, si le Conseil déterminait qu’il ne convient pas de suspendre l’examen de la Demande, les entreprises ont demandé qu’il leur accorde une extension de délai pour le dépôt des observations relativement à la Demande, soit 30 jours de plus à partir de la date de la décision en ce sens ou de la date du dépôt de leur contestation devant la Cour de l’Alberta, selon la première éventualité. Comme le règlement sur les servitudes ne devrait entrer en vigueur que le 1er janvier 2018, les entreprises estimaient que le délai ne nuirait à aucune partie.

En raison de la nature des questions soulevées par la requête et de la disponibilité de son conseiller juridique, la Ville de Calgary a demandé au Conseil de lui accorder jusqu’au 21 février 2017 pour déposer sa réponse.

Dans les circonstances, la Ville de Calgary et les autres parties intéressées ont jusqu’au 21 février 2017 pour déposer leur réponse en ce qui concerne uniquement la requête procédurale des entreprises voulant que le Conseil suspende l’examen de la Demande pour l’instant ou, à titre subsidiaire, qu’il prolonge le délai prévu pour le dépôt des observations relativement à la Demande déposée le 28 novembre 2016, et, le cas échéant, signifier copie des observations aux entreprises. Pour leur part, les entreprises auront jusqu’au 27 février 2017 pour déposer une réplique et, le cas échéant, en signifier copie à la Ville de Calgary et toute autre partie intéressée.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, la date du 31 janvier 2017 comme date butoir pour le dépôt des interventions et des réponses relativement à la Demande est mise en suspens en attendant que le Conseil rende sa décision au sujet de la requête procédurale des entreprises.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c.   Jesslyn Mullaney, CRTC, 819-953-5255, jesslyn.mullaney@crtc.gc.ca
Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Rogers Communications, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Shaw Communications Inc., regulatory@sjrb.ca
Société TELUS Communications, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Zayo Canada, david.peaker@zayo.com
La Fédération canadienne des municipalités, stephane_emardchabot@sympatico.ca

Date de modification :