Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Scott Mitchell (Cochrane Telecom Services)

Ottawa, 6 January 2017

Our reference:  8740-C1-201612383

BY EMAIL

Mr. Scott Mitchell
General Manager
Cochrane Telecom Services
153 6th Avenue
Cochrane, ON  P0L 1C0
smitch@cochranetel.ca

RE: Cochrane Telecom Tariff Notice 77 - Terms of Service

Dear Sir:

On 2 December 2016, the Commission received an application from Cochrane Telecom Services (“Cochrane”) under Tariff Notice 77 (TN 77), in which the company proposed to modify Section 80 – Terms of Service of its General Tariff CRTC 25350.  In TN 77, Cochrane proposes to replace the current provisions of Section 80 with a cross-reference to Item 30 – Terms of Service in the Ontario Independent Services Tariff CRTC 25611 (“the OIST”).

Paragraph 28(1)(a) of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure provides that the Commission may require parties to file information or documents where needed.

Cochrane is requested to file an amended Tariff Notice 77/A (TN 77/A), incorporating the following required revision:

Cochrane is also requested to provide a comprehensive answer, including rationale and any supporting information, to the attached question.

The above-requested information is required to be filed with the Commission by 20 January 2017.

Sincerely,

Original signed by Valerie Plaskacz for

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications sector

c.c: Rudy Rab, CRTC, 819-994-3416, rudy.rab@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1)

Request for information

  1. Section 80, Item 9.01 – Dispute Procedure describes the procedure to be followed by a customer in the event the customer wishes to dispute charges for calls which they do not believe originated from or were accepted at their telephone.

    However, Item 30.10.01 - Dispute Procedure of the OIST states:

    “Customers may dispute charges for calls which they do not believe originated from or were accepted at their telephones.  The dispute procedure set out in the introductory pages of the telephone directory should be followed, and the customer must pay the undisputed portion of the bill.”

    Confirm that the dispute procedure described in Section 80, Item 9.01 of the tariff is also set out in the introductory pages of Cochrane Telecom Services’ telephone directory. If the procedure is not set out in the company’s telephone directory, indicate what steps the company intends to take to be compliant with OIST Item 30.10.01.

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Scott Mitchell (Cochrane Telecom Services)

Ottawa, le 6 janvier 2017

Notre référence : 8740-C1-201612383

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Scott Mitchell
Directeur général
Cochrane Telecom Services
153, 6e Avenue
Cochrane (Ontario)  P0L 1C0
smitch@cochranetel.ca

OBJET : Avis de modification tarifaire 77 de Cochrane Telecom – Modalités

Monsieur,

Le 2 décembre 2016, le Conseil a reçu de Cochrane Telecom Services (Cochrane), une demande dans le cadre de l’avis de modification tarifaire 77 (AMT 77) dans laquelle l’entreprise propose de modifier la section 80 – Modalités de service de son Tarif général (CRTC 25350). Dans l’AMT 77, Cochrane propose de remplacer les dispositions actuelles de la section 80 par une référence à l’article 30 – Modalités de service du Tarif des services des indépendantes de l’Ontario (le TSIO).

Aux termes de l’alinéa 28(1)a) des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, le Conseil peut exiger d’une partie qu’elle lui fournisse les renseignements ou documents qu’il estime nécessaires.

Nous demandons à Cochrane de déposer un avis de modification 77/A modifié (AMT 77/A) qui comprend la modification nécessaire suivante :

Nous demandons aussi à Cochrane de fournir une réponse complète à la question ci-jointe, y compris une justification et toute information à l’appui.

Les renseignements demandés doivent être déposés auprès du Conseil au plus tard le 20 janvier 2017.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes salutations les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Version originale signée par Valerie Plaskacz pour

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Rudy Rab, CRTC, 819-994-3416, rudolf.rab@crtc.gc.ca

Pièce jointe

Demande de renseignements

  1. L’article 9.01 – Procédure de contestation de la section 80 décrit le processus que doit suivre un client afin de contester des frais pour des appels qui, selon lui, ne proviennent pas ou n’ont pas été acceptés à partir de son téléphone.

    Par contre, l’article 30.10.01 – Procédure de contestation du TSIO énonce ce qui suit :

    Les clients peuvent contester des frais pour des appels qui, selon eux, ne proviennent pas ou n’ont pas été acceptés à partir de leur téléphone. Le client doit suivre la procédure de contestation énoncée dans les premières pages de l’annuaire téléphonique et le client doit payer la partie non contestée de la facture. [Traduction]

    Confirmer que la procédure de contestation décrite à l’article 9.01 de la section 80 figure aussi dans les premières pages de l’annuaire téléphonique de Cochrane Telecom Services. Si ce n’est pas le cas, indiquer les mesures que prendra l’entreprise pour se conformer à l’article 30.10.01 du TSIO.

Date de modification :