Broadcasting Commission Letter Addressed to Mr. Jesse Kugler and Ms. Avvy Go (CaleyWray Lawyers and Chinese and Southeast Asian Legal Clinic)

Ottawa, 13 December 2017

BY EMAIL

Mr. Jesse Kugler
CaleyWray Lawyers
Representative, Unifor and its Locals 723M and 830M
kuglerj@caleywray.com

Ms. Avvy Go
Chinese and Southeast Asian Legal Clinic
And representative, Urban Alliance on Race Relations
goa@lao.on.ca

Dear Mr. Kugler and Ms. Go:

Re: Procedural request regarding an application (2017-0975-0) by Unifor for an expedited public hearing concerning the alleged breach by Rogers of conditions of its OMNI stations, and for a mandatory order requiring its compliance

Re: Procedural request regarding an application (2017-0977-6) by CSALC/UARR for an expedited public hearing concerning the alleged breach of a condition of licence for OMNI Regional

This letter is in response to Unifor’s procedural request dated 2 October 2017, as well as the Chinese and Southeast Asian Legal Clinic (CSALC) and Urban Alliance on Race Relations’ (UARR) procedural request received 10 October 2017. In both of these requests, the respective parties have asked that the Commission amend its process for examining an alleged breach of condition of licence.

More specifically, Unifor and CSALC/UARR requested that the Commission call Rogers Media Inc. (Rogers) to an expedited public hearing to enable the Commission to determine whether its OMNI Regional service is in non-compliance with its condition of licence 11, as set out in Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2017-152, as it relates to the production of Chinese-language news programming. Unifor has further requested that the Commission permit parties to cross-examine Rogers at the requested expedited hearing and that any person appearing on behalf of Rogers be sworn or affirmed.

The Commission typically considers alleged breaches of a condition of licence by way of Part 1 of the Commission’s Rules of Practice and Procedure (Rules). The written process provided by Part 1 of the Rules affords parties with the opportunity to make meaningful and complete submissions on these matters. In the Commission’s view, this type of process is appropriate for consideration of the applications in question. Consequently, the Commission denies the requests and will continue consideration of these applications under Part 1 of the Rules.

It should be noted that the Commission’s decision to deny these procedural requests does not constitute a determination on the merits of the applications as filed. The Commission will make its determination on those applications based on the full record of the proceeding and will issue its decision at a later date.

Please note that a copy of your letters and this response will be added to the public record.

Yours sincerely,

Chris Seidl
Acting Secretary General

c.c. Howard Law, Unifor, howard.law@unifor.org
Angelo Contarin, Unifor 723M, angeloc@unifor723m.org
Stephen Hawkins, Unifor 830M, president@unifor830m.ca
Nigel Barriffe, UARR, nigel@urbanalliance.ca

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à M. Jesse Kugler and Mme Avvy Go (CaleyWray Lawyers et Chinese and Southeast Asian Legal Clinic)  

Ottawa, le 13 décembre 2017

PAR COURRIEL

M. Jesse Kugler
CaleyWray Lawyers
Représentant, Unifor et ses locaux 723M et 830M
kuglerj@caleywray.com

Mme Avvy Go
Chinese and Southeast Asian Legal Clinic  
Et représentante, Urban Alliance on Race Relations
goa@lao.on.ca

Monsieur, Madame,

Objet : Demande procédurale concernant une demande (2017-0975-0) par Unifor visant la tenue d’une audience publique accélérée portant sur une violation alléguée par Rogers des conditions de ses stations OMNI, et pour une ordonnance exigeant la conformité à ces conditions

Objet : Demande procédurale concernant une demande (2017-0977-6) par la CSALC et l’UARR visant la tenue d’une audience publique accélérée portant sur une violation alléguée d’une condition de licence d’OMNI Regional

La présente fait suite à la demande procédurale d’Unifor datée du 2 octobre 2017, ainsi qu’à la demande procédurale de la clinique Chinese and Southeast Asian Legal Clinic (CSALC) et l’organisme Urban Alliance on Race Relations (UARR) reçue le 10 octobre 2017. Ces deux demandes procédurales visent à ce que le Conseil modifie son processus d’examen d’une violation alléguée d’une condition de licence.

Plus précisément, Unifor, la CSALC et l’UARR ont demandé au Conseil de convoquer Rogers Media Inc. (Rogers) à une audience publique accélérée afin d’établir si son service OMNI Regional est en situation de non-conformité relativement à sa condition de licence 11, définie dans la Décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2017-152, en ce qui concerne la production d’émissions de nouvelles en langues chinoises. Unifor a également demandé que le Conseil autorise les parties à contre-interroger Rogers durant l’audience et qu’on demande à toute personne comparaissant au nom de Rogers de prêter serment ou faire une déclaration solennelle.

Le Conseil examine généralement les allégations de violation d’une condition de licence au moyen du processus prévu à la Partie 1 des Règles de pratique et de procédure (les Règles). Le processus par écrit en question fournit aux parties l’occasion de présenter des observations pertinentes et complètes sur les questions à l’étude. Aux yeux du Conseil, ce processus convient à l’examen des demandes en question. Ainsi, le Conseil rejette les demandes procédurales et continuera d’examiner les demandes en se fondant sur la Partie 1 des Règles.

Il convient de souligner que la décision du Conseil de rejeter les demandes procédurales n’est pas une décision concernant le bien-fondé des demandes déposées initialement. Le Conseil prendra sa décision en ce qui a trait à ces demandes en fonction du dossier complet de l’instance et publiera cette décision à une date ultérieure.

Veuillez prendre note qu’une copie de vos lettres et de la présente réponse seront versées au dossier public.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, Madame, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Chris Seidl
Secrétaire général par intérim

C.c. Howard Law, Unifor, howard.law@unifor.org
Angelo Contarin, Unifor 723M, angeloc@unifor723m.org
Stephen Hawkins, Unifor 830M, president@unifor830m.ca
Nigel Barriffe, UARR, nigel@urbanalliance.ca

Date de modification :