Broadcasting Procedural letter addressed to Lui Greco (CNIB)

Ottawa, 5 December 2017

Our reference: 2017-1028-6

BY EMAIL :

Lui Greco
National Manager of Advocacy 
CNIB
1929 Bayview Avenue
Toronto, Ontario
M4G 3E8

Re: Extension of deadline for submission of interventions regarding the application by Québecor Média inc. with respect to the provision of described video

Dear Mr. Greco:

On 1 November 2017, Québecor Média inc. (Québecor), on behalf of Groupe TVA inc. (Groupe TVA), filed a Part 1 application with the Commission regarding the provision of described video as set out in Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2016-436, Standard requirements for television stations, discretionary services, and on-demand services.

In its application, Québecor requested that only first-run programming be subject to the standard condition of licence imposed on Groupe TVA television stations and discretionary services in Broadcasting Decision 2017-147, Group-based licence renewals for French-language television stations and services. The condition of licence states the following:

The licensee shall, by 1 September 2019, provide described video for all English- and French-language programming that is broadcast during prime time (i.e., from 7 p.m. to 11 p.m.), and that is drawn from program categories 2(b) Long-form documentary, 7 Drama and comedy, 9 Variety, 11(a) General entertainment and human interest and 11(b) Reality television, and/or is programming targeting preschool children (0-5 years of age) and children (6-12 years of age).

On 20 November 2017, in response to Québecor’s application, the Canadian National Institute for the Blind (CNIB) filed a procedural request to extend the deadline for the submission of interventions to 19 January 2018. CNIB stated that it would need more time to obtain an English-language version of Québecor’s application, which would enable it to better evaluate the application and prepare its comments.

Staff considers it essential for groups and associations representing persons who count on described video to access programming broadcast to be heard in connection with this application. Staff also considers that a procedural request such as this one is in the interest of the very principle of accessibility, and that an extended deadline for the submission of interventions will enable more groups and associations to be heard.

Accordingly, the request to extend the deadline for the submission of interventions has been approved.

Interventions regarding the application must be filed with the Commission by 19 January 2018, and Québecor’s subsequent reply must be filed with the Commission by  29 January 2018.

Sincerely,

(Original signed by)

Nanao Kachi
Director, Social and Consumer Policy
Consumer Affairs and Strategic Policy

c. c.:       Rémi Savard, CRTC

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à Lui Greco (INCA)

Ottawa, le 5 décembre 2017

PAR COURRIEL :

Notre réference : 2017-1028-6

Lui Greco
Gestionnaire national de la défense des intérêts
INCA
1929, avenue Bayview
Toronto (Ontario)
M4G 3E8

Objet : Extension du délai pour le dépôt des interventions en ce qui a trait à la demande de Québecor Média inc. à l’égard de la fourniture de vidéodesdcription

Monsieur Greco,

Le 1er novembre 2017, Québecor Média inc. (Québecor), au nom de Groupe TVA inc. (Groupe TVA), a déposé auprès du Conseil une demande en vertu de la Partie 1 en ce qui a trait à la fourniture de vidéodescription telle qu’envisagée dans la politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2016-436, Exigences normalisées pour les stations de télévision, les services facultatifs et les services sur demande.

Dans sa demande, Québecor a demandé à ce que seule la programmation en première diffusion ne soit assujettie à la condition de licence normalisée imposée aux services facultatifs et aux stations de télévision de Groupe TVA dans la décision de radiodiffusion 2017-147, Renouvellement des licences de télévision pour des stations et des services de langue française. Cette condition de licence se lit comme suit :

Le titulaire doit fournir, au plus tard le 1er septembre 2019, la vidéodescription pour toute la programmation de langue française et de langue anglaise diffusée aux heures de grande écoute (soit entre 19 h et 23 h) et tirée des catégories d’émissions 2b) Documentaires de longue durée, 7 Émissions dramatiques et comiques, 9 Variétés, 11a) Émissions de divertissement général et d’intérêt général et 11b) Émissions de téléréalité, ou composée d’émissions pour enfants d’âge préscolaire (0-5 ans) et pour enfants (6-12 ans).

Le 20 novembre 2017, en réponse à la demande de Québecor, l’Institut national canadien pour les aveugles (INCA) a déposé une requête procédurale en vue de proroger la date limite pour le dépôt des interventions jusqu’au 19 janvier 2018. INCA avance qu’elle aura besoin de davantage de temps afin d’obtenir une version en langue anglaise de la demande de Québecor, laquelle lui permettra de mieux évaluer l’évaluer et de préparer des commentaires.

Le personnel estime qu’il est d’une importance capitale que les groupes et associations représentant les personnes qui comptent sur la vidéodescription pour accéder à la programmation diffusée puissent se faire entendre dans le cadre de la présente demande. Il est également d’avis qu’une requête procédurale telle que celle-ci est dans l’intérêt du principe même de l’accessibilité, et qu’une période de dépôt des interventions prolongée permettra à davantage de groupes et associations de se faire entendre.

Par conséquent, la demande de prorogation de la date limite pour le dépôt des interventions est approuvée.

Les interventions relatives à la demande doivent être déposées auprès du Conseil au plus tard le 19 janvier 2018, et la réplique subséquente de Québecor doit être déposée auprès du Conseil au plus tard le 29 janvier 2018.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Directeur, Politique sociale et des consommateurs,
Secteur de la consommation et des politiques stratégiques

(Original signé par)

Nanao Kachi

c. c. :   Rémi Savard, CRTC

Date de modification :