Broadcasting Commission Letter Addressed to Mr. Aldo Di Felice and Mr. Dennis Sentes (Telelatino Network Inc. and Saskatchewan Telecommunications)

Ottawa, 7 November 2017

BY EMAIL:

Mr. Aldo Di Felice
President
Telelatino Network Inc.
aldo@tlntv.com

Mr. Dennis Sentes
Regulatory Affairs Manager
Saskatchewan Telecommunications
dennis.sentes@sasktel.com

Re: Dispute regarding the continued carriage of TLN by SaskTEL

On 21 August 2017, Telelatino Network Inc. (Telelatino) filed a notice of dispute advising the Commission that it was in a dispute with Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel) concerning the ongoing carriage of the discretionary service, TLN.  Telelatino noted that it had received a notice of non-renewal from SaskTel on 29 June 2017 indicating that SaskTel did not wish to renew the affiliation agreement between the parties beyond the current term, which expired 30 September 2017.  Telelatino stated that it was committed to discussing the possibility of renewed carriage on SaskTel in hopes of avoiding the complete disruption of their service, however, to date, SaskTel had not responded to Telelatino’s requests to discuss the matter further. 

Commission staff wrote to the parties on 26 September 2017, setting out the applicable regulatory framework, as follows:

Sections 12(1) of the Broadcasting Distribution Regulations (BDU Regulations) and Section 14(1) of the Discretionary Services Regulations (Discretionary Regulations) permit one or both parties to a dispute concerning carriage or terms of carriage of a programming service to refer the matter to the Commission for dispute resolution.

Section 15.01 of the BDU Regulations requires that, during a dispute between a broadcasting distribution undertaking (BDU) and a programmer, the BDU continue to distribute the programming service at the same rates and on the same terms and conditions as it did before the dispute (the “standstill” rule).

Based on the foregoing, Commission staff found that the parties were engaged in a dispute and that the standstill rule applies until the parties resolve their dispute or the Commission issues a decision concerning this unresolved matter. 

To assist the Commission in considering this matter, the parties were asked to demonstrate that fair commercial negotiations have taken place and to submit the following information:

The parties responded on 2 October 2017.

Position of Parties

Telelatino stated that SaskTel’s decision to remove TLN from its list of services would have a significant impact on TLN, and would not be consistent with the letter and spirit of the Broadcasting Act.  According to Telelatino, the service has been carried by SaskTel since 2004 and has over 13,000 subscribers.  It argued that the financial impact on TLN and the impact on its subscribers would be significant should SaskTel remove the service.  It also noted that SaskTel currently offers some ten multicultural channels on both a standalone and pre-determined package basis.  Telelatino stated that SaskTel has not been willing to negotiate any new terms and that it cannot understand SaskTel’s arbitrary decision to unilaterally remove TLN without any notice or the opportunity to discuss the matter further.  In its 2 October 2017 letter, Telelatino also requested staff-assisted mediation.

In its 2 October 2017, SaskTel submitted that there is no dispute between the parties within the meaning of either the BDU Regulations or the Discretionary Regulations.  It noted that TLN no longer has genre protection or carriage rights.  It stated that it has determined that it does not want to enter into an agreement to carry the service, therefore, in its view, no questions of carriage or terms of carriage have arisen that can be the subject of a dispute.

In a letter dated 5 October 2017, SaskTel indicated that, for similar reasons, it did not support Telelatino’s request for staff-assisted mediation.

Analysis and Determinations

The Commission’s dispute resolution regime is designed to ensure a healthy and dynamic wholesale market, one in which negotiations are conducted fairly and in good faith.  Similarly, the standstill rule was put in place to level the field during negotiations between programmers and distributors and to ensure that subscribers are not deprived of services while parties are engaged in negotiations.

The Commission is prepared to intervene where it finds that parties are acting in an anti-competitive manner.  Such targeted intervention may be necessary to ensure a healthy, dynamic retail market that maximizes consumer choice and flexibility and provides Canadians with access to a diverse range of programming.

The BDU Regulations contemplate dispute resolution on the question of carriage as well as disputes regarding terms of carriage (including rates, packaging, marketing).  Therefore, the parties are indeed in a dispute, and, under the standstill rule, SaskTel is required to distribute TLN at the same rates and on the same terms and conditions as it did before the dispute, until the parties resolve their dispute or the Commission issues a decision concerning this unresolved matter.

SaskTel is correct that TLN no longer has access rights. This means that SaskTel is under no obligation to carry the service. Further, the Commission did acknowledge in its Let’s Talk TV framework that with an increased reliance on market forces for the distribution and packaging of discretionary services, and an environment marked by greater subscriber choice, some services may not survive.  At the same time, the Commission is conscious that in the absence of carriage rights, dispute resolution is the last resort for programming services.  Accordingly, consistent with the approach applied in Decisions 2016-38 and 2016-74 regarding the continued carriage of Avis de recherche, the Commission must be assured that the programming service has had a fair chance at negotiation and that the BDU has valid commercial reasons for its decision to terminate the affiliation agreement.

In this case, the Commission has received no assurances from SaskTel that there has been a fair commercial negotiation or that SaskTel has valid commercial reasons for dropping the service.

Under these circumstances, the Commission wishes to ensure that the parties fully engage in a conversation about whether or not the service should continue to be carried, and if so, under what terms and conditions.

Accordingly, in accordance with section 12(4) of the BDU Regulations, the Commission requires the parties to participate in a mediation with Bernard Montigny, Senior Director, Dispute Resolution.  Mr. Montigny’s staff will be in touch shortly to confirm dates.

Yours sincerely,

Scott Hutton
Acting Secretary General

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Monsieur Aldo Di Felice et Monsieur Dennis Sentes (Telelatino Network Inc. et Saskatchewan Telecommunications)

Ottawa, le 7 novembre 2017

PAR COURRIEL :

Monsieur Aldo Di Felice
Président
Telelatino Network Inc.
aldo@tlntv.com

Monsieur Dennis Sentes
Gestionnaire, Affaires réglementaires
Saskatchewan Telecommunications
dennis.sentes@sasktel.com

Objet : Différend concernant le maintien de la distribution de TLN par SaskTEL

Le 21 août 2017, Telelatino Network Inc. (Telelatino) a déposé un avis de différend afin d’informer le Conseil d’un litige entre l’entreprise et Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel) au sujet du maintien de la distribution du service discrétionnaire TLN. Telelatino a indiqué qu’elle avait reçu un avis de non-renouvellement de SaskTel le 29 juin 2017 indiquant que SaskTel ne souhaitait pas renouveler l’entente d’affiliation entre les parties après la date de renouvellement du 30 septembre 2017. Telelatino a indiqué qu’elle était résolue à discuter de la possibilité de renouveler la distribution par SaskTel dans l’espoir d’éviter l’interruption totale de leur service; cependant, à ce jour, SaskTel n’a pas répondu aux demandes de Telelatino en vue de discuter de la question plus en détail.

Le personnel du Conseil a écrit aux parties le 26 septembre 2017 pour établir le cadre réglementaire applicable :

Les paragraphes 12(1) du Règlement sur la distribution de radiodiffusion (le Règlement) et 14(1) du Règlement sur les services facultatifs permettent à l’une ou à l'ensemble des parties d’un différend concernant la distribution ou les modalités de distribution d’un service de programmation de renvoyer l’affaire devant le Conseil afin de régler le différend.

L’article 15.01 du Règlementprévoit qu’en cas de différend entre une entreprise de distribution de radiodiffusion (EDR) et une entreprise de programmation, l’EDR doit maintenir la distribution du service de programmation aux mêmes tarifs et selon les modalités en vigueur avant le différend (la règle du statu quo).

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le personnel du Conseil a conclu qu’il existait un différend entre les parties en cause et que la règle du statu quo s’appliquait jusqu’à ce que les parties règlent le différend en question ou jusqu’à ce que le Conseil rende une décision sur cette question.

Pour aider le Conseil à examiner l’affaire, les parties étaient tenues de démontrer que des négociations commerciales équitables avaient eu lieu et de fournir les renseignements suivants :

Les parties ont répondu le 2 octobre 2017.

Position des parties

Telelatino a déclaré que la décision de SaskTel de retirer TLN de sa liste de services aurait une incidence importante sur TLN et ne respecterait pas la lettre ni l’esprit de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion. Selon Telelatino, le service est distribué depuis 2004 et compte plus de 13 000 abonnés. Elle a fait valoir que les répercussions financières sur TLN et les incidences sur ses abonnés seront importantes si SaskTel retire le service. Elle a également soutenu que SaskTel offre actuellement une dizaine de chaînes multiculturelles à la carte et en forfait préétabli. Telelatino a déclaré que SaskTel ne voulait pas négocier de nouvelles modalités et qu’elle ne comprenait pas la décision arbitraire prise par SaskTel de retirer unilatéralement TLN sans préavis ni possibilité de discuter de l’affaire. Dans sa lettre du 2 octobre 2017, Telelatino a également demandé une médiation assistée par le personnel.

Dans sa réponse de 2 octobre 2017, SaskTel a fait valoir qu’il n’y a aucun différend entre les parties au sens du Règlement. Elle a soutenu que la protection des genres ne s’appliquait plus et que TLN n’avait plus de droit de distribution. SaskTel a établi qu’elle ne souhaite pas conclure une entente de distribution du service et qu’il n’y a donc aucune question liée à la distribution ou aux modalités de distribution qui puisse faire l’objet d’un différend.

Dans une lettre datée du 5 octobre 2017, SaskTel a indiqué que pour des raisons similaires, elle n’appuyait pas la demande de médiation assistée par le personnel présentée par Telelatino.

Résultats de l’analyse

Le régime de règlement des différends du Conseil vise à assurer un marché de gros sain et dynamique, dans lequel des négociations sont menées de façon équitable et de bonne foi. De même, la règle du statu quo a été mise en place pour équilibrer les forces pendant les négociations entre les entreprises de programmation et les distributeurs et pour assurer aux abonnés qu’ils ne seront pas privés de leurs services pendant les négociations entre les parties.

Le Conseil est disposé à intervenir s’il constate que les parties agissent de manière anticoncurrentielle. Des interventions ciblées de ce type pourraient s’avérer nécessaires pour s’assurer que le marché de détail est sain et dynamique, qu’il maximise la souplesse et le choix offerts aux Canadiens et qu’il leur donne accès à une gamme variée de programmation.

Le Règlement prévoit le règlement des différends liés à la question de la distribution ainsi qu’aux modalités de distribution (incluant tarifs, assemblage, commercialisation). Un litige oppose les parties et, conformément à la règle du statu quo, SaskTel est tenue de distribuer TLN aux mêmes tarifs et selon les mêmes modalités qu’elle le faisait avant le différend, et ce jusqu’à ce que les parties règlent ce différend ou que le Conseil rende une décision à l’égard de l’affaire si le différend n’est pas réglé.

Dans la présente affaire, SaskTel a raison de dire que TLN n’a plus de droits d’accès. Cela signifie que SaskTel n’est pas obligée de distribuer le service. En outre, le Conseil a reconnu dans le cadre Parlons télé qu’en favorisant le libre jeu du marché à l’égard de la distribution et du groupage des services facultatifs, ainsi qu’un environnement dans lequel les consommateurs ont plus de choix, certains services risquent de ne pas survivre. D’un autre côté, le Conseil est conscient qu’en l’absence de droits de distribution, le règlement des différends constitue le dernier recours des services de programmation. Par conséquent, conformément à l’approche utilisée dans les décisions 2016-38 et 2016-74 concernant le maintien de la distribution d’Avis de recherche, le Conseil doit être convaincu que le service de programmation a eu une chance égale de négocier et que l’EDR a des motifs commerciaux valables de mettre fin à une entente d’affiliation.

Dans l’affaire qui nous occupe, le Conseil n’a reçu aucune assurance de la part de SaskTel qu’il y a eu une négociation commerciale équitable ou que Sasktel avait des motifs commerciaux valables de retirer le service.

Dans ces circonstances, le Conseil souhaite s’assurer que les parties participent activement à une discussion quant à la question de savoir si la distribution du service devrait être maintenue et, le cas échéant, quelles en seraient les modalités.

Par conséquent, conformément au paragraphe 12(4) du Règlement, le Conseil exige des parties qu’elles participent à une médiation avec Bernard Montigny, directeur principal, Règlement des différends. Le personnel de M. Montigny communiquera bientôt avec vous pour confirmer les dates.

Veuillez agréer, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Scott Hutton
Secrétaire général par intérim

Date de modification :