Broadcasting Letter Addressed to Various parties

Ottawa, 13 October 2017

BY EMAIL

Mrs. Sylvie Courtemanche
Vice-President, Government Relations and ComplianceCorus Entertainment Inc. 
sylvie.courtemanche@corusent.com

Mr. Dimitri Gourdin
Executive Vice-President, Strategy and Communications
V Media Group
dgourdin@groupevmedia.ca

Mr. Kevin Goldstein
Vice-President, Regulatory Affairs, Content and Distribution
Bell Media Inc. 
Kevin.goldstein@bellmedia.ca

Mrs. Peggy Tabet
Vice-President, Regulatory Affairs, Broadcasting
Québecor Média inc.
Tabet.Peggy@Quebecor.com

Mrs. Susan Wheeler
Vice-President, Regulatory Affairs, Media
Rogers Media Inc. 
susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com

Re: Reconsideration and hearing of the licence renewal decisions for large private ownership groups (Broadcasting Decisions 2017-143 to 2017-151) – Extension request denial

Dear Madam / Sir,

In a joint letter dated 5 October 2017, you asked that the Commission delay the reconsideration process for the renewal decisions noted above, required on 14 August 2017 by Order in Council P.C. 2017-2010 (Order in Council 2017-2010) by the Governor in Council (GIC), so that the process starts 30 days after the Commission files its report following the process required on 22 September 2017 by GIC Order in Council P.C. 2017-1195 (Order in Council 2017-1195). The Commission denies this extension request for the following reasons.

The reconsideration process for renewal decisions 2017-143 to 2017-151, initiated following Order in Council 2017-2010, is a priority for the Commission. The Commission must meet the requirements set out therein within a reasonable timeframe, in the interest of fairness to all parties affected by the Order in Council. On the deadline for filing the above-mentioned report, the renewed licences will have been in effect for nearly a year. Delaying the reconsideration of the issues raised in the Order in Council for a period as long as that requested could negatively affect certain parties, particularly those who requested that certain aspects of the renewal decisions be reconsidered.

The Commission must also make sure to meet the requirements set out by the GIC in Order in Council 2017-1195 within the set timeframe. For that reason, the timeframes for the two processes (that initiated by Order in Council 2017-2010 and that associated with Order in Council 2017-1195) will partially overlap.

In light of the above, the deadline for filing the information requested in our letter of 30 August remains unchanged. Accordingly, you are required to file the requested information by 31 October 2017.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Foster
Acting Executive Director, Broadcasting

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du conseil adressée à diverses parties

Ottawa, le 13 octobre 2017

PAR COURRIEL

Madame Sylvie Courtemanche
Vice-présidente, Relations avec le gouvernement et Conformité
Corus Entertainment Inc. 
sylvie.courtemanche@corusent.com

Monsieur Dimitri Gourdin
Vice-président exécutif, Stratégie & Communications,
Groupe V Média
dgourdin@groupevmedia.ca

Monsieur Kevin Goldstein
Vice-président, Affaires réglementaires, Contenu et Distribution
Bell Média inc. 
Kevin.goldstein@bellmedia.ca

Madame Peggy Tabet
Vice-présidente, Affaires réglementaires, Radiodiffusion
Québecor Média inc.
Tabet.Peggy@Quebecor.com

Madame Susan Wheeler
Vice-présidente, Affaires réglementaires, Média
Rogers Media Inc. 
susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com

Objet : Processus de réexamen et nouvelle audience relative aux décisions de renouvellement de licences des grands groupes de propriété privée (Décisions de radiodiffusion 2017-143 à 2017-151) – Refus de la demande de prorogation

Mesdames, Messieurs,

Dans une lettre conjointe datée du 5 octobre 2017, vous demandez au Conseil de retarder le processus de réexamen des décisions de renouvellement notées en rubrique exigé le 14 août 2017 par le décret C.P. 2017-2010 (décret 2017-2010) du Gouverneur en conseil (GC), afin que ce processus débute 30 jours après le dépôt du rapport du Conseil suite au processus exigé le 22 septembre 2017 par le décret C.P. 2017-1195 (décret 2017-1195) du GC. Le Conseil refuse cette demande de prorogation pour les raisons suivantes.

Le processus de réexamen des décisions de renouvellement 2017-143 à 2017-151, initié suite au décret 2017-2010, est une priorité pour le Conseil. Celui-ci  doit répondre aux exigences qui y sont énoncées dans un délai raisonnable par souci d’équité envers toutes les parties affectées par ce décret. À la date limite pour le dépôt du rapport mentionné ci-haut, les licences renouvelées auront été en vigueur pendant presqu’un an. Le fait de retarder le réexamen des enjeux soulevés dans le décret pendant une période aussi longue que celle demandée pourrait causer préjudice à certaines parties, notamment celles qui ont demandé que certains aspects des décisions de renouvellement fassent l’objet d’un réexamen.

Par ailleurs, le Conseil doit également s’assurer de répondre aux exigences énoncées par le GC dans le décret 2017-1195 dans les délais impartis. Pour cette raison, les échéances des deux processus (celui initié par le décret 2017-2010 et celui lié au décret 2017-1195) se chevaucheront partiellement.

En vertu de ce qui précède, le délai accordé pour le dépôt des renseignements demandés dans notre lettre du 30 août demeure inchangé. Vous devez donc déposer les renseignements demandés au plus tard le 31 octobre 2017.

Une copie de la présente et de toute correspondance connexe sera versée au dossier public de l’instance.

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Peter Foster
Directeur exécutif par intérim, Radiodiffusion

Date de modification :