Broadcasting Commission Letter Addressed to Erin Finlay (Canadian Media Producers Association (CMPA))

Ottawa, 3 October 2017

BY EMAIL: erin.finlay@cmpa.ca

Ms. Erin Finlay
Chief Legal Officer
Canadian Media Producers Association (CMPA)
160 John Street, 5th floor
Toronto, Ontario
M5V 2E5

Ms. Finlay,

Re: Reconsideration and hearing of the licence renewal decisions for the large private English-language ownership groups (Broadcasting Decisions 2017-148 to 2017-151)

This is in response to your letter sent to the Commission on 15 September 2017 in which you provided comments on the procedure with respect to Order in Council PC 2017-1060 (the Order), issued on 14 August 2017, regarding Broadcasting Decisions CRTC 2017-148 to 2017-151 (the Decisions).  As described below, we have already taken the first steps in the reconsideration process, consistent with the Order and the Commission’s normal procedures.

In your letter, you requested, amongst other things, that the Commission administratively renew the licences that were expiring 31 August 2017 until the Commission reconsiders and renders its decisions. Please note that the Order did not set aside the Decisions mentioned above. Instead, as provided by section 28 of the Broadcasting Act, the Order instructed the Commission to reconsider certain aspects of the Decisions. Accordingly, the licences approved in these Decisions came into effect on 1 September 2017 and will remain in force while the Commission reconsiders aspects of these Decisions pursuant to the Order.

The Commission will publish a Notice of Consultation shortly to seek public comments related to the reconsideration of the Decisions. For the purpose of this process, the large private ownership groups have been asked to update their original licence renewal applications.

To ensure consistency between this process and the original licence renewal process (Notice of Consultation 2016-225), the public record of the latter will be added to the record of the process to come.

Sincerely,

Peter Foster
Acting Executive Director, Broadcasting

cc: Sylvie Courtemanche, Corus Entertainment Inc. 
Susan Wheeler, Rogers Media Inc.
Kevin Goldstein, Bell Media Inc.

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du conseil adressée à Erin Finlay (Canadian Media Producers Association (CMPA))

Ottawa, le 3 octobre 2017

PAR COURRIEL : erin.finlay@cmpa.ca

Madame Erin Finlay
Directrice, Services juridiques
Canadian Media Producers Association (CMPA)
160, rue John, 5e étage
Toronto (Ontario) M5V 2E5

Madame,

Objet : Réexamen et nouvelle audience des Décisions relatives au renouvellement des licences des grands groupes de propriété privée de langue anglaise (Décisions de radiodiffusion 2017-148 à 2017-151)

La présente fait suite à votre lettre au Conseil du 15 septembre 2017 dans laquelle vous avez commenté la procédure concernant le décret C.P. 2017-1060 (le décret), émis le 14 août 2017, concernant les Décisions de radiodiffusion CRTC 2017-148 à 2017-151 (les décisions). Comme nous le décrivons plus bas, nous avons déjà entamé les premières étapes à l’égard du processus de réexamen conformément au décret et aux procédures normales du Conseil.

Dans votre lettre, vous demandez, entre autres, que le Conseil renouvelle par voie administrative les licences qui prenaient fin le 31 août 2017 jusqu’à ce que le Conseil termine son réexamen et rende ses décisions. Veuillez prendre note que le décret n’annulait pas les décisions susmentionnées. Comme le prévoit l’article 28 de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion, le décret demandait au Conseil de réexaminer certains aspects des décisions. Par conséquent, les licences dont le renouvellement a été approuvé dans le cadre de ces décisions sont entrées en vigueur le 1er septembre 2017 et elles le demeureront pendant le réexamen par le Conseil de certains aspects de ces décisions comme l’exige le décret.

Le Conseil publiera sous peu un avis de consultation pour solliciter les commentaires du public au sujet du réexamen des décisions. Pour les besoins de ce processus, il a été demandé aux grands groupes de propriété privée de mettre à jour leurs demandes originales de renouvellement de licences.

Pour assurer l’uniformité entre ce processus et le processus de renouvellement des licences original (Avis de consultation 2016-225), le dossier public de ce dernier sera ajouté au dossier de l’instance à venir.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Peter Foster
Directeur exécutif p.i., Radiodiffusion

c.c. :    Sylvie Courtemanche, Corus Entertainment Inc.
Susan Wheeler, Rogers Media Inc.
Kevin Goldstein, Bell Média inc.

Date de modification :