Broadcasting Procedural Letter adressed to Carmela Laurignano (Dufferin Communications Inc.)

Ottawa, 25 September 2017

Carmela Laurignano
Dufferin Communications Inc.
5312 Dundas Street West
Toronto, ON
M9B1B3

BY EMAIL: carmela@evanovradio.com

Re: Broadcasting application 2017-0887-7 (CIRR-FM Toronto)

Dear Mrs. Laurignano,

This letter is in reference to the Part 1 application by the Dufferin Communications Inc. for a technical amendment related to the English-language commercial radio programming undertaking CIRR-FM Toronto. In order to pursue the analysis of the above noted application, please address the following:

Respondents

  1. Pursuant to section 22(1)b) of the CRTC Rules of Procedure (“The Rules”), an application must be served on any respondent. A respondent is defined in section 1 of the Rules as “a person that is adverse in interest to an applicant”. The onus is on applicants to clearly identify and provide service of the application to all respondents.

The guidelines on the Rules of procedure  include a chart of persons generally considered to be respondents (paragraph 61). The list is not exhaustive since parties that can be considered respondents depend on the specific facts of the application.

In Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2017-198, the Commission approved an application by First Peoples Radio Inc. for a broadcasting licence to operate an English-and-Indigenous-language Type B Native FM radio stations to serve the urban Indigenous communities in Toronto. However, it does not appear that you have served First Peoples Radio Inc. as a respondent to your application. Commission staff is of the view that First Peoples Radio Inc., could be adverse in interest.

In light of the above, you are required to serve the application on First Peoples Radio Inc. no later than 2 October 2017. Note, a document is not served until it is received by the intended recipient. Therefore, if you are serving a person by mail, you must send it in time for it to be delivered on or before 2 October 2017.

Furthermore, please revise the chart below with the required information as stated in the Rules of Practice and Procedure.

Respondent Mail or E-mail Address Date Served
     

Timeline change

In light of the above request, the timetable for the proceeding is changed as follows:

Notice Number/Part 1 Subject Posted Date Deadlines (Interventions/Comments/Answers)
Part 1 Dufferin Communications Inc. 

Relocation of transmitter, frequency change and technical amendment - contours

Toronto, Ontario

CIRR-FM

2017-0887-7

Open application for applicant contact information.
15 September 2017 16 October 2017

30 October 2017
(new deadline)

Deadline for response

The information requested herein should be received at the Commission no later than 2 October 2017, failing which, your application may be returned to be completed and resubmitted with the Commission should you wish to pursue this proposal.

A copy of this letter and response by Dufferin Communications Inc. is to be added to its application to be made available for public examination.

The applicant is also requested to repeat each question in its reply.

Your response and/or other documents must be submitted electronically by using the secured service “My CRTC Account” (Partner Log In or GCKey) and filling the “Broadcasting and Telecom Cover page” or the “Broadcasting Online Form and Cover Page” located on this web page. Also on this web page you will find information on the submission of applications to the Commission “Submitting applications and other documents to the CRTC using My CRTC Account.”

Should you need further information concerning your application, do not hesitate to contact me by telephone at 819-953-5130 or by fax at 819-994-0218.

Yours truly,

Sherwin Pagtakhan
Analyst, Radio Policy & Applications

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à Carmela Laurignano (Dufferin Communications Inc.)

Ottawa, le 25 septembre 2017

Carmela Laurignano
Dufferin Communications Inc.
5312 rue Dundas Ouest
Toronto (Ontario)
M9B 1B3

PAR COURRIEL : carmela@evanovradio.com

Objet : Demande de radiodiffusion 2017-0887-7 (CIRR-FM Toronto)

Madame,

La présente lettre fait suite à la demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par Dufferin Communications Inc. pour une modification technique liée à l’entreprise de programmation de radio commerciale de langue anglaise CIRR-FM Toronto. Pour nous permettre de poursuivre l’analyse de la demande susmentionnée, veuillez donner suite aux points suivants :

Intimés

  1. Conformément à l’alinéa 22(1)b) des Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC (les Règles), toute demande est signifiée à tout intimé. L’intimé est défini à la partie 1 des Règles comme « toute personne dont les intérêts sont opposés à ceux du demandeur ». Il incombe aux requérants d’indiquer clairement tous les intimés et de leur signifier copie de leur demande.

Les lignes directrices à l’égard des Règles comprennent un tableau des personnes généralement considérées comme intimées (paragraphe 61). La liste n’est pas exhaustive, puisque les parties pouvant être considérées comme intimés varient selon les faits précis de la demande.

Dans la Décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2017-198, le Conseil a approuvé une demande de First Peoples Radio Inc. en vue d’obtenir une licence de radiodiffusion afin d’exploiter des stations de radio FM autochtones de type B de langues anglaise et autochtone pour desservir les communautés autochtones à Toronto. Toutefois, il semble que vous n’avez pas signifié First Peoples Radio Inc. en tant qu’intimé dans votre demande. Le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que First Peoples Radio Inc. pourrait être une entité dont les intérêts pourraient être opposés aux vôtres.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, vous êtes tenu de signifier votre demande à First Peoples Radio Inc. au plus tard le 2 octobre 2017. Veuillez noter qu’un document n’est signifié que lorsqu’il est reçu par le destinataire. Par conséquent, si vous signifiez votre demande par la poste, vous devez l’envoyer à temps pour qu’elle soit reçue au plus tard le 2 octobre 2017.

De plus, veuillez fournir les renseignements requis dans le tableau suivant, conformément aux Règles.

Intimé(e) Adresse postale ou courriel Date de signification
     

Modification du calendrier

Compte tenu de la demande ci-dessus, l’échéancier de l’instance est modifié comme suit :

Numéro d’avis/Partie 1 Objet Date affichée Dates limites (interventions / observations / réponses)
Partie 1 Dufferin Communications Inc. 

Déplacement de l’émetteur,  changement de fréquence et modification technique – contours

Toronto (Ontario)

CIRR-FM

2017-0887-7

Ouvrir la demande pour voir les coordonnées du demandeur.
15 septembre 2017 16 octobre 2017

30 octobre 2017
(nouvelle échéance)

Date limite pour répondre

Vous devez faire parvenir vos réponses au Conseil au plus tard le 2 octobre 2017, à défaut de quoi votre demande vous sera renvoyée et vous devrez la soumettre de nouveau, avec les renseignements demandés, si vous désirez aller de l’avant avec votre proposition.

Une copie de la présente et de la réponse de Dufferin Communications Inc. sera jointe à sa demande et versée au dossier public aux fins d’examen.

Le demandeur doit aussi répéter chaque question dans sa réponse.

Vous devez soumettre votre réponse et/ou les autres documents en ligne au moyen du système sécurisé « Mon compte CRTC » (Clé GC ou partenaires de connexion) et remplir la « Page couverture de radiodiffusion et de télécom » ou la « Page couverture et formulaire en ligne de radiodiffusion » dont vous trouverez le lien sur la page Web. Vous trouverez également des renseignements sur la façon de soumettre des demandes au Conseil à la page Web intitulée « Soumettre des demandes et autres documents auprès du CRTC en utilisant Mon compte CRTC ».

Si vous avez besoin de précisions concernant votre demande, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec moi par téléphone, au 819-953-5130, ou par télécopieur, au 819-994-0218.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, mes salutations distinguées.

Sherwin Pagtakhan
Analyste, Politiques et demandes relatives à la radio

Date de modification :