Broadcasting Commission letter addressed to Various Parties

Ottawa, 13 September 2017

BY EMAIL :

Ms. Sylvie Courtemanche
Vice-President, Government Relations and Compliance 
Corus Entertainment Inc. 
sylvie.courtemanche@corusent.com

Mr. Luc Doyon
Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer
V Media Group
ldoyon@groupevmedia.ca

Mr. Kevin Goldstein
Vice-President, Regulatory Affairs, Content and Distribution
Bell Media Inc. 
Kevin.goldstein@bellmedia.ca

Mr. Alain Strati
Associate General Counsel, Regulatory Affairs
Bell Media inc.
alain.strati@bellmedia.ca

Ms. Peggy Tabet
Vice-President, Regulatory Affairs - Broadcasting
Québecor Média Inc.
Tabet.Peggy@Quebecor.com

Ms. Susan Wheeler
Vice-President, Regulatory, Media
Rogers Media Inc. 
susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com

Dear Madam / Sir,

Re :  Reconsideration and hearing of the licence renewal decisions for the large private ownership groups (Broadcasting Decisions 2017-143 to 2017-151) – Extension request approval

Further to a letter received from Bell Media Inc., Corus Entertainment Inc., Groupe V Media, Quebecor Media Inc. and Rogers Media Inc. (collectively, the Television Licensees) on 8 September 2017, your request for a one month extension is approved.

As you know, on 14 August 2017, the Governor-in-Council referred Broadcasting Decisions 2017-143 to 2017-147 (renewing licences of television services of major French-language ownership groups) and CRTC 2017-148 to 2017-151 (renewing licences of television services of major English-language ownership groups) back to the Commission for reconsideration. The Governor General in Council directed both English-language and French-language groups to address specific issues as part of the reconsideration process, which were outlined in the letter sent to you by the Commission on 30 August 2017.

A one-month extension has been granted in order to allow you further time to address the issues and recommendations outlined by the Government as part of the Department of Canadian Heritage’s consultation process and to provide the financial calculations requested by the Commission. Please submit the information requested in the Commission’s 30 August letter, including updates of the original renewal applications from last year as a result of the Order in Council that referred the renewal decisions back to the Commission for reconsideration, by no later than 31 October 2017.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by:

Sheehan Carter
Senior Manager, Television
Broadcasting

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du conseil adressée à diverses parties

Ottawa, le 13 septembre 2017

PAR COURRIEL

Mme Sylvie Courtemanche
Vice-présidente, Relations avec le gouvernement et Conformité
Corus Entertainment Inc. 
sylvie.courtemanche@corusent.com

M. Luc Doyon
Vice-président et chef de l’exploitation
Groupe V Média
ldoyon@groupevmedia.ca

M. Kevin Goldstein
Vice-président, Affaires réglementaires, Contenu et Distribution
Bell Média inc. 
Kevin.goldstein@bellmedia.ca

M. Alain Strati
Avocat général adjoint, Affaires réglementaires
Bell Média inc.
alain.strati@bellmedia.ca

Mme Peggy Tabet
Vice-présidente, Affaires réglementaires, Radiodiffusion
Québecor Média inc.
Tabet.Peggy@Quebecor.com

Mme Susan Wheeler
Vice-présidente, Affaires réglementaires, Média
Rogers Media Inc. 
susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com

Madame, Monsieur,

Objet : Processus de réexamen et nouvelle audience relative aux décisions de renouvellement de licences des grands groupes de propriété privée (Décisions de radiodiffusion 2017-143 à 2017-151) – Approbation de la demande de prolongation

Suite à une lettre reçue de Bell Média inc., Corus Entertainment Inc., Groupe V Média, Québecor Média inc. et Rogers Media Inc. (collectivement, les titulaires de télévision) le 8 septembre 2017, votre demande de prolongation d’un mois est approuvée.

Comme vous le savez, le 14 août 2017, le Gouverneur général en conseil a renvoyé, pour réexamen, les décisions de radiodiffusion 2017-143 à 2017-147 (renouvellement des licences de télévision des services appartenant aux grands groupes de propriété de langue française) et CRTC 2017-148 à 2017-151 (renouvellement des licences de télévision des services appartenant aux grands groupes de propriété de langue anglaise) au Conseil. Le Gouverneur général en conseil a chargé les groupes de propriété de langues anglaise et française de répondre aux enjeux précis dans le cadre du processus de réexamen qui ont été soulevés dans la lettre que le Conseil vous a envoyée le 30 août 2017.

Une prolongation d’un mois a été accordée afin de vous accorder plus de temps pour répondre aux enjeux et aux recommandations du gouvernement dans le cadre du processus de consultation du ministère du Patrimoine canadien et pour fournir les calculs financiers demandés par le Conseil. Veuillez soumettre les renseignements demandés dans la lettre du Conseil du 30 août, y compris les mises à jour des demandes originales de renouvellement des licences de l’année dernière, compte tenu du décret ordonnant le renvoi des décisions relatives au renouvellement des licences au Conseil pour réexamen, au plus tard le 31 octobre 2017.

Une copie de la présente et de toute correspondance connexe sera versée au dossier public de l’instance.

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments distingués.

Original signé par

Sheehan Carter
Gestionnaire principale, Télévision
Radiodiffusion

Date de modification :