Broadcasting Procedural Letter Addressed to Lenore Gibson (Bell Canada and Bell Express Vu)

Ottawa, 31 August 2017

BY EMAIL

Lenore Gibson
Senior Counsel, Regulatory Affairs
Bell Canada and Bell ExpressVu
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Re: Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2017-160 - Request for clarification

Dear Ms. Gibson,

This letter is in response to the request for clarification by Bell Canada and Bell ExpressVu, dated 15 August 2017, regarding the topics that the Panel may wish to discuss with the licensees at the oral phase of the public hearing commencing on 16 October 2017.

As set out in Broadcasting Notice of Consultation 2017-160 and referred to in the Commission’s correspondence dated 27 July 2017, the Commission indicated that, as part of the renewal process, it intends to examine, among other things:

Bell Canada and Bell ExpressVu’s licences are only expiring after 31 May 2018 and, as such, the Commission is not considering the renewal of their licences in the context of the current proceeding. The only information submitted by both licensees and added to the record is with respect to the progress of the set-top box industry working group and the development of a set-top box audience measurement system. Therefore, it can be expected that most questions directed at Bell will focus on these matters.

Notwithstanding this, we note that the Panel retains the discretion to discuss with the licensees appearing at the hearing any issues that are deemed relevant in the context of the proceeding.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Peter Foster
Director General
Television Policy and Applications

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à Lenore Gibson (Bell Canada et Bell Express Vu)

Ottawa, le 31 août 2017

PAR COURRIEL

Lenore Gibson
Avocate-conseil, Affaires réglementaires
Bell Canada et Bell ExpressVu
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Objet : Avis de consultation CRTC 2017-160 – Demande de clarification

Mme Gibson,

La présente fait suite à la demande de clarification de Bell Canada et Bell ExpressVu datée du 15 août 2017 concernant les sujets que le panel souhaitera possiblement aborder avec ces titulaires au cours de la phase orale de l’audience publique qui débutera le 16 octobre 2017.

Tel qu’énoncé dans l’Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion 2017-160 et mentionné dans la correspondance du Conseil datée du 27 juillet 2017, le Conseil a indiqué que, dans le cadre du processus de renouvellement, il entend examiner, entre autres :

exclusivement :

 

la suppression de conditions de licence;

 

 

Les licences de Bell Canada et Bell ExpressVu n’expireront qu’après le 31 mai 2018 et, ainsi, le Conseil ne considérera pas le renouvellement de celles-ci dans le cadre de la présente instance. La seule information soumise par ces deux titulaires qui a été ajoutée au dossier concerne l’avancement du groupe de travail de l’industrie et le développement d’un système de mesure de l’auditoire au moyen des boîtiers décodeurs. Par conséquent, il peut être attendu que la plupart des questions posées à Bell toucheront ces questions.

Nonobstant cela, nous notons que le panel détient le pouvoir discrétionnaire de discuter avec les titulaires qui comparaissent à l’audience de toute question jugée pertinente dans le cadre de l’instance.

Une copie de cette lettre et de toute correspondance qui y est reliée sera versée au dossier public de l’instance.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, l’expression de mes sentiments distingués.

L’original signé par

Peter Foster
Directeur général
Politiques et demandes relatives à la télévision

Date de modification :