Broadcasting Commission Letter Addressed to Ann Mainville-Neeson (TELUS Communications Company)

Ottawa, 28 August 2017

BY EMAIL

Ann Mainville-Neeson
Vice President, Regulatory Affairs
TELUS Communications Company
Ann.Mainville-Neeson@telus.com

Dear Mrs. Mainville-Neeson,

Re: Implementation of Broadcasting Order 2017-153 – Distribution of the national, multilingual multi-ethnic discretionary service known as by licensed broadcasting distribution undertakings – Request for an extension of implementation date

The Commission is in receipt of TELUS Communications Company’s letter, dated 15 August 2017, requesting an extension of the 1 September 2017 implementation date for the mandatory distribution of OMNI Regional, as set out by the Commission in Broadcasting Order CRTC 2017-153, Distribution of the national, multilingual multi-ethnic discretionary service known as OMNI Regional by licensed broadcasting distribution undertakings.

In Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2017-152, the Commission recognized the exceptional need for a national, multilingual multi-ethnic programming service that can provide Canadians with news and current events programming in multiple languages from a Canadian perspective.

Therefore, the Commission considers it in the public interest that OMNI Regional be made available to Canadians as soon as it is ready to commence operations. The Commission requires TELUS to implement the distribution of this service as of 1 September 2017. 

Yours sincerely,

Claude Doucet
Acting Secretary General

cc: susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Ann Mainville-Neeson (Société TELUS Communications)

PAR COURRIEL

Ann Mainville-Neeson
Vice-présidente, affaires réglementaires
Société TELUS Communications
Ann.Mainville-Neeson@telus.com

Mme Mainville-Neeson,

Objet : Mise en œuvre de l’Ordonnance de distribution 2017-153 - Distribution par les entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion autorisées du service facultatif national multilingue à caractère multiethnique connu sous le nom d’OMNI Regional – Demande de délai quant à l’entrée en vigueur

Le Conseil a reçu la lettre de Société TELUS Communications du 15 août 2017 demandant un délai quant à la date d’entrée en vigueur de la distribution obligatoire d’OMNI Regional, établie au 1er septembre 2017 par le Conseil dans l’Ordonnance de distribution obligatoire de radiodiffusion CRTC 2017-153, Distribution par les entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion autorisées du service facultatif national multilingue à caractère multiethnique connu sous le nom d’OMNI Regional.

Dans Décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2017-152, le Conseil a reconnu le besoin exceptionnel pour un service de programmation national multilingue à caractère ethnique qui puisse offrir aux Canadiens des émissions de nouvelles et d’actualités d’un point de vue canadien en plusieurs langues.

Conséquemment, le Conseil est d’avis qu’il est dans l’intérêt public qu’OMNI Regional  soit rendu disponible aux Canadiens dès sa mise en exploitation. Le Conseil exige que TELUS distribue ce service à partir du 1er septembre 2017.  

Veuillez agréer, Madame, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Secrétaire général par intérim

Claude Doucet

c.c. : susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com

Date de modification :