Broadcasting Procedural Letter Addressed to Gretchen King (Community Media Advocacy Centre)

Ottawa, 4 August 2017

BY EMAIL

Ms. Gretchen King
Secretary
Community Media Advocacy Centre
cmac@riseup.net

Re: Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2017-160 – Various procedural requests

Dear Ms. King:

The Commission is in receipt of the letters filed by the Community Media Advocacy Centre (CMAC), dated 23 June and 27 June 2017, with respect to the renewal process of the broadcasting licences for terrestrial broadcasting distribution undertakings (BDUs) initiated by Broadcasting Notice of Consultation 2017-160.

Among other things, in its letters, CMAC:

The Commission has also received replies from Cogeco Communications Inc., Quebecor Media Inc. on behalf of Vidéotron G.P. (Videotron), Rogers Communications Canada Inc., Saskatchewan Telecommunications, and Shaw Communications Inc. on behalf of Shaw Cablesystems Limited and Shaw Cablesystems (VCI) Limited, addressing CMAC’s requests. All argued that they should be denied, mainly on the basis that the record is already full and complete.

We do not consider the additional information requested by CMAC to be necessary to complete the record of the BDU renewal proceeding. Consistent with paragraph 210 of Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2016-224, a sample of community channels was selected and BDUs submitted the logs and audio-visual recordings, as required by the Commission for the purpose of conducting its monitoring exercise to evaluate compliance.

Where logs may appear to be missing, we note that some of the information requested of BDUs varied by location. As reflected in Appendix 2 to Broadcasting Notice of Consultation 2017-160, some BDUs were asked to submit three weeks of logs, while others had to submit the same three weeks, as well as an additional fourth week of logs and related audio-visual recordings for that week only. For this reason, the BDUs that were only required to submit logs (but not recordings) have one less week of logs on the public record. We also note that the locations of the BDUs included in this exercise are clearly identified in Appendix 2, excluding Sorel-Tracy and Granby operated by Videotron, which you indicated were missing.

As regards the accountability and reporting set out in Appendix 2 to Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2016-224, we note that when the information is filed as part of annual returns, it is done so in confidence and the data is only made public on an aggregated basis. In addition, the annual returns that must be filed as part of the Commission’s survey for 2017 will only reflect the information from the previous broadcast year and will not necessarily include all of information from the reporting requirements set out in the appendix. Therefore, if information were to be disclosed as part of this process, it would be incomplete and possibly misleading.

As regards the coding categories used in the logs, we understood that the harmonization of the ones included in the templates we provided to the BDUs with those used by their internal systems would minimize the manipulation of data. Given that the categories are clearly specified within each of the logs, we are of the view that the standardization of the categories is not warranted.

In light of all of the above, CMAC’s requests are denied.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Peter Foster
Director General
Television Policy and Applications

cc: documents@myaccess.coop; licence@cogeco.com; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca; regulatory@mts.ca; cable.regulatory@rci.rogers.com; document.control@sasktel.com; dean.shaikh@sjrb.ca; regulatory.affairs@telus.com; lecia.simpson@telus.com;
reglementaires@quebecor.com; george.burger@vmedia.ca; rsocci@atoptv.com;
bell.regulatory@bell.ca; cathy@timescape.ca; info@tele1.ca; alau@piac.ca

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale du Conseil adressée à Gretchen King (Community Media Advocacy Centre)

Ottawa, le 4 août 2017

PAR COURRIEL

Mme Gretchen King
Secrétaire
Community Media Advocacy Centre
cmac@riseup.net

Objet : Avis public de consultation CRTC 2017-160 – Demandes procédurales diverses

Madame King,

Le Conseil accuse réception des lettres envoyées par le Community Media Advocacy Centre (CMAC), datées du 23 juin et du 27 juin 2017 au sujet du processus de renouvellement des licences de radiodiffusion des entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion (EDR) terrestres qui a été lancé par l’avis de consultation de radiodiffusion 2017-160.

Dans ces lettres, le CMAC a, entre autres :

Le Conseil a également reçu des répliques de la part de Cogeco Communications inc., de Québecor Média inc. au nom de Vidéotron s.e.n.c. (Vidéotron), de Rogers Communications Canada Inc., de Saskatchewan Telecommunications et de Shaw Communications Inc. au nom de Shaw Cablesystems Limited et Shaw Cablesystems (VCI) Limited, en réponse aux demandes de CMAC. Ces entreprises ont toutes indiqué que les demandes devaient être rejetées en se fondant principalement sur le fait que le dossier était déjà complet.

Nous n’estimons pas que les renseignements additionnels demandés par CMAC soient nécessaires pour compléter le dossier de l’instance sur le renouvellement des licences des EDR. Conformément au paragraphe 210 de la politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2016-224, un échantillon des chaînes communautaires a été recueilli et les EDR ont déposé les registres et les enregistrements audiovisuels comme l’a exigé le Conseil dans le cadre de son exercice de surveillance en vue d’évaluer leur conformité.

Lorsque les registres peuvent sembler incomplets, nous observons que certains renseignements demandés aux EDR pouvaient varier selon le lieu. Comme l’indique l’annexe 2 de l’avis de consultation 2017-160, certaines EDR ont dû déposer des registres pour une période de trois semaines, tandis que d’autres ont dû déposer ces mêmes trois semaines, ainsi qu’une quatrième semaine de registres et d’enregistrements audiovisuels pour cette seule semaine. C’est pour cette raison que les EDR qui ne devaient soumettre que leurs registres (sans enregistrements) ont une semaine de moins sur le dossier public. Nous observons également que les localités des EDR qui ont participé à cet exercice étaient clairement mentionnées à l’annexe 2, excluant Sorel-Tracy et Granby, qui sont exploitées par Vidéotron et dont vous avez signalé l’absence.

En ce qui concerne l’imputabilité et les rapports prévus à l’annexe 2 de la politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2016-224, nous notons que lorsque les renseignements sont fournis dans le cadre des rapports annuels sur la radiodiffusion, ils le sont de manière confidentielle et les données ne sont rendues publiques qu’une fois regroupées. De plus, les rapports annuels qui doivent être donnés dans le cadre du sondage du Conseil pour 2017 ne touchent que les renseignements de l’année de radiodiffusion précédente et ne comprennent pas nécessairement toutes les données exigées à l’annexe en matière de production de rapports. Par conséquent, si ces renseignements devaient être divulgués dans le cadre du présent processus, ils seraient incomplets et pourraient être trompeurs.

En ce qui a trait aux catégories de codage utilisées dans les registres, nous avons compris que l’harmonisation de celles qui figuraient dans le modèle que nous avons fourni aux EDR avec celles utilisées dans leurs systèmes internes permettait de réduire la manipulation des données. Étant donné que les catégories sont clairement précisées dans chacun des registres, nous estimons que la normalisation des catégories n’est pas nécessaire.

À la lumière de ce qui précède, les demandes du CMAC sont rejetées.

Une copie de la présente et de toute correspondance connexe sera versée au dossier public de l’instance.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Madame King, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

L’original signé par

Peter Foster
Directeur général
Politiques et demandes relatives à la télévision

c.c. : documents@myaccess.coop; licence@cogeco.com; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca; regulatory@mts.ca; cable.regulatory@rci.rogers.com; document.control@sasktel.com; dean.shaikh@sjrb.ca; regulatory.affairs@telus.com; lecia.simpson@telus.com;
reglementaires@quebecor.com; george.burger@vmedia.ca; rsocci@atoptv.com;
bell.regulatory@bell.ca; cathy@timescape.ca; info@tele1.ca; alau@piac.ca

Date de modification :