Broadcasting Procedural Letter Addressed to Ann Mainville-Neeson and Susan Wheeler (TELUS Communications Company and Rogers Media Inc.)

Ottawa, 1 August 2017

BY EMAIL

Ms. Ann Mainville-Neeson
Vice President, Broadcasting Policy and Regulatory Affairs
TELUS Communications Company
Ann.Mainville-Neeson@telus.com

Ms. Susan Wheeler
Vice-President, Regulatory, Media
Rogers Media Inc.
susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com

Dear Mesdames,

Re: Procedural request in the final offer arbitration proceeding (2017-0309-1) between TELUS Communications Company and Rogers Media Inc.

This letter is with respect to the 25 July 2017 request by Rogers Media Inc. (Rogers) to strike from the record of the above noted proceeding the set-top-box (STB) data filed by TELUS Communications Company (TELUS) and two reports also filed by TELUS as appendices to their final offer, namely: a report by Sean Riley entitled Regional Appeal of US Sports Networks, OTT Offerings and the Impact on Wholesale Pricing (the Riley report), and a survey by Michael Ryan entitled Control of Premium Content by Programming Services – An International Survey of Regulatory Responses (the Ryan survey).

Positions of Parties

In its request, Rogers argued that the STB data should be removed from the record on the grounds that in its raw form and as interpreted by TELUS, the data is not a reliable or industry-accepted source of subscriber viewership data. Rogers also argued that the Riley report and the Ryan survey should be struck from record on the basis that they were specifically commissioned by TELUS to advance TELUS’ arguments in a way that exceeds the Commission’s 10-page limit on final offer submissions. 

TELUS replied that the STB data was specifically requested by the Commission and filed by TELUS accordingly. TELUS noted that it is well within the Commission’s powers to request this information and consider it as part of this arbitration. With regard to the reports, TELUS submitted that they serve to support arguments already put forward in its submission and are indeed independent expert advice. It also stated that it is common practice to include appendices like these in final offer arbitration (FOA) and specifically permitted by the Commission in its FOA practices and procedures, as set out in Information Bulletin CRTC 2013-637.

Commission Determinations

The Commission notes that it is standard procedure to request STB information as part of FOA proceedings. This information is used in conjunction with other viewership data to help to assess the value of the service to subscribers, in itself, and in comparison to similar services. Such analysis is one factor among several in determining which of the two offers best reflects the fair market value of the service. As noted below, parties have the opportunity to make arguments about how such data should be interpreted and the weight that should be assigned to it by the Commission.

With respect to the Riley report, the Commission is of the view that this report constitutes evidence filed in support of TELUS’ arguments in its 10-page submission. As supporting evidence to TELUS’ arguments on regional viewership and regional pricing, Riley’s report is complementary to TELUS’ final offer submission.

As for the Ryan survey, the Commission is of the view that it goes beyond the criteria for FOA, which is designed for disputes that, among other things, are bilateral, exclusively monetary, and do not require a new policy or change to an existing policy. The Ryan survey deals more broadly with public policy issues of access to and affordability of premium programming services. These are issues that concern more than just the two parties to this dispute. Moreover, the fact that other jurisdictions may have more specific regulations in place with respect to premium content has no bearing on the wholesale price that TELUS should pay for Rogers’ services.

Accordingly, the Commission strikes the document written by Michael Ryan entitled Control of Premium Content by Programming Services - An International Survey of Regulatory Responses from the record of this proceeding. TELUS will have three (3) days from the date of this letter to provide the Commission, copying Rogers directly, with revised versions of its final offer submission, removing at minimum from paras 44 and 45, references to the contents of the study (no other amendments to the final offer submission may be made). 

Consistent with the approach articulated in Information Bulletin CRTC 2015-440, Interpretation of the Wholesale Code, parties may make submissions regarding the appropriate weight to be given to the Riley report and the STB data in their final comments.

Parties will have five (5) days from the date of this letter to file comments on the other party’s final offer, serving a copy on the other party.

Yours sincerely,

Danielle May-Cuconato
Secretary General

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à Ann Mainville-Neeson et à Susan Wheeler (Société TELUS Communications et Rogers Media Inc.)

Ottawa, le 1 août 2017

PAR COURRIEL

Madame Ann Mainville-Neeson
Vice-présidente, Politique de radiodiffusion et affaires réglementaires
Société TELUS Communications
Ann.Mainville-Neeson@telus.com

Madame Susan Wheeler
Vice-présidente, Affaires réglementaires, Média
Rogers Media Inc.
susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com

Mesdames,

Objet : Requête procédurale touchant l’instance d’arbitrage de l’offre finale (2017-0309-1) entre la Société TELUS Communications et Rogers Media Inc.

La présente concerne la requête formulée le 25 juillet 2017 par Rogers Media Inc. (Rogers) afin de faire supprimer du dossier de l’instance citée en objet les données de boîtiers décodeurs déposées par la Société TELUS Communications (TELUS) et deux rapports déposés par TELUS en annexe à son offre finale (un rapport de Sean Riley intitulé Regional Appeal of US Sports Networks, OTT Offerings and the Impact on Wholesale Pricing [le rapport Riley], et un sondage de Michael Ryan intitulé Control of Premium Content by Programming Services – An International Survey of Regulatory Responses [le sondage Ryan]). 

Positions des parties

Dans sa requête, Rogers a fait valoir que les données de boîtiers décodeurs devraient être retirées du dossier au motif qu’elles sont brutes et interprétées par TELUS et ne sont donc pas une source fiable ou acceptée par l’industrie de données sur l’effectif-téléspectateurs. Rogers a également indiqué que le rapport Riley et le sondage Ryan devraient être supprimés du dossier au motif qu’ils ont été commandés précisément par TELUS afin d’étayer ses arguments d’une manière qui dépasse la limite de dix pages établie par le Conseil pour les offres finales.

TELUS a répondu que les données des boîtiers décodeurs ont été précisément demandées par le Conseil. TELUS a souligné que le Conseil a le pouvoir de demander ces renseignements et de les examiner dans le cadre de l’arbitrage. En ce qui concerne les rapports, TELUS a fait valoir qu’ils servent à étayer les arguments déjà avancés dans son mémoire et qu’ils renferment des conseils d’experts indépendants. Elle a également déclaré qu’il est commun d’inclure de tels appendices durant un arbitrage de l’offre finale et que la pratique est explicitement autorisée par le Conseil dans les pratiques et procédures relatives à l’arbitrage de l’offre final (Bulletin de radiodiffusion et de télécommunication CRTC 2013-637).

Décision du Conseil

Le Conseil souligne qu’il est pratique courante de demander des données de boîtiers décodeurs dans le cadre d’instances d’arbitrage de l’offre finale. Ces données sont examinées en conjonction avec d’autres données sur l’effectif-téléspectateur afin d’évaluer la valeur du service pour les utilisateurs et sa valeur par comparaison à d’autres services semblables. Cette analyse fait partie des divers facteurs permettant d’établir laquelle des deux offres reflète le mieux la juste valeur marchande du service. Tel qu’il est précisé ci-dessous, les parties ont l’occasion de présenter des arguments sur la façon dont ces données devraient être interprétées et sur la pondération que devrait leur accorder le Conseil.

En ce qui concerne le rapport Riley, le Conseil est d’avis qu’il s’agit d’un élément de preuve qui appuie les arguments de TELUS exprimés dans son mémoire de dix pages. À titre de document à l’appui des arguments de TELUS relatifs à l’effectif-téléspectateur régional et à la tarification régionale, le rapport Riley complémente l’offre finale de TELUS.

En ce qui concerne le sondage Ryan, le Conseil est d’avis qu’il dépasse la portée des critères applicables à l’arbitrage de l’offre finale, lequel processus est conçu pour traiter les différends qui sont notamment bilatéraux, exclusivement pécuniaires et ne mettent pas en jeu la création ou la modification d’une politique. Le sondage Ryan traite généralement des questions de politique publique que sont l’accès aux services de programmation de premier choix et le caractère abordable de ces services. Ces questions ne concernent pas uniquement les deux parties au différend. Qui plus est, le fait que les autres administrations puissent avoir en place des règlements précis en ce qui a trait au contenu de premier choix n’a aucune incidence sur le tarif de gros que devrait payer TELUS pour les services de Rogers.

Conséquemment, le Conseil supprime du dossier de l’instance le document rédigé par Michael Ryan intitulé Control of Premium Content by Programming Services – An International Survey of Regulatory Responses. TELUS aura trois (3) jours à compter de la date de la présente lettre pour fournir au Conseil des versions actualisées de son offre finale et en signifier directement copie à Rogers. Dans cette nouvelle version, elle doit supprimer les renvois au contenu de l’étude figurant dans les paragraphes 44 et 45 (aucune autre modification à l’offre finale ne peut être apportée).

Conformément à l’approche décrite dans le Bulletin d’information CRTC 2015-440, Interprétation du Code sur la vente en gros, les parties peuvent présenter des observations concernant la pondération à accorder au rapport Riley et aux données de boîtiers décodeurs dans leurs observations finales.

Les parties auront cinq (5) jours à compter de la date de la présente lettre pour déposer auprès du Conseil leurs observations sur l’offre finale de l’autre partie et pour en signifier copie à l’autre partie.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Madame, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs,

Danielle May-Cuconato
Secrétaire générale

Date de modification :