Broadcasting Procedural Letter Addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 15 June 2017

BY EMAIL:

Distribution List

Re: Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2017-160 – Request for disclosure

Dear Madams, Sirs:

On 30 May 2017, the Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC) filed a request for disclosure of responses to Commission staff requests for information submitted as part of the renewal applications of broadcasting distribution undertakings (BDUs) for which the licences will expire on 31 May 2018.

More specifically, PIAC requested: 1) the aggregated disclosure of subscriber numbers; and 2) the individual disclosure of complaints in regard to the small basic service, new small packages and pick-and-pay programming services. In a subsequent letter filed on 6 June 2017, PIAC clarified that it was requesting the aggregated disclosure of subscriber data on a national, industry-wide basis.

The Commission received responses to PIAC’s request from 2251723 Ontario Inc. (VMedia), Atop Broadband Corp. (Atop), Bragg Communications Inc., carrying on business as Eastlink, Cogeco Communications inc. (Cogeco), BellMTS Inc. (Bell), Quebecor Media Inc., on behalf of Videotron G.P., Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers), Shaw Communications Inc., on behalf of Shaw Cablesystems Limited and Shaw Cablesystems (VCI) Limited, and TELUS Communications Company (TELUS).

Disclosure of subscriber numbers

With respect to the disclosure of subscriber numbers, most BDUs argued, among other things, that subscriber information has consistently been filed in confidence as it could provide competitors with insight on marketing strategies and promotional initiatives and that, even in the aggregate, disclosure could reveal information about specific BDUs and result in material financial loss.

Some BDUs also noted that the information would be incomplete and flawed as it would exclude data on satellite services, most of Bell Canada’s terrestrial services and some of TELUS’ terrestrial services. Others cautioned that, because not all BDUs are participants in the current proceeding, disclosure could provide certain competitors with competitive insights that would not otherwise be available.

Disclosure of complaint numbers

With respect to the disclosure of responses related to complaints, Bell indicated that the disaggregated disclosure of complaints was consistently filed in confidence, noting that information related to subscribers is competitively sensitive and strategic in nature. Rogers submitted the number of complaints as part of its response to PIAC and Cogeco did not object to its disclosure.

The Commission acknowledges that, given its commercially sensitive nature, subscriber-related numbers are typically filed in confidence in accordance with section 32 of the Rules of Practice and Procedure. Also, unlike the subscriber numbers publicly released in Phase 1 of the BDU renewal process in 2016, which took into account the data provided by all licensees, the aggregate numbers obtained as part of this renewal would not accurately reflect the industry-wide uptake of subscribers to the small basic service and flexible packaging options.

The Commission also acknowledges that, if given access to the aggregate subscriber numbers obtained as part of this renewal, it may be possible for competing licensees and other interested parties to estimate a licensee’s subscriber numbers based on this information and on the overall subscriber data already publicly available.

As regards the number of complaints, with the exception of Bell and Cogeco, all licensees have already disclosed this data or, as in the case of Atop, Saskatchewan Telecommunications and VMedia, have indicated in their responses to requests for additional information that no complaints were received. 

In light of the above, the Commission is of the view that the direct harm that would likely result from the disclosure of the subscriber numbers, as requested by PIAC, would outweigh the public interest and therefore denies the request.

Further, given that only Bell and Cogeco did not disclose the number of complaints, the Commission directs both licensees to submit the information to the Commission for the public file by no later than 19 June 2017.
A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.
Sincerely,
Original signed by

Danielle May-Cuconato
Secretary General

Distribution list:

alau@piac.ca; documents@myaccess.coop; licence@cogeco.com; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca; regulatory@mts.ca; cable.regulatory@rci.rogers.com; document.control@sasktel.com; dean.shaikh@sjrb.ca; regulatory.affairs@telus.com; lecia.simpson@telus.com; reglementaires@quebecor.com; george.burger@vmedia.ca; rsocci@atoptv.com; bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 15 juin 2017

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Objet : Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2017-160 – Demande de divulgation

Mesdames, Messieurs,

Le 30 mai 2017, le Conseil a reçu de la part du Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (CDIP) une demande de divulgation des renseignements sollicités par le personnel du Conseil dans le cadre des demandes de renouvellement des entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion (EDR) dont les licences de radiodiffusion expirent le 31 mai 2018.

Plus précisément, le CDIP a demandé : 1) la divulgation cumulée du nombre d’abonnés; et 2) la divulgation individuelle des plaintes relativement au petit service de base, aux nouveaux petits forfaits et aux services de programmation. Dans une lettre subséquente datée du 6 juin 2017, le CDIP a précisé qu’il s’agissait d’une demande de divulgation cumulée des données relatives aux abonnés à l’échelle nationale et dans l’ensemble de l’industrie.

Le Conseil a reçu des réponses à la demande du CDIP de 2251723 Ontario Inc. (VMedia), Atop Broadband Corp. (Atop), Bragg Communications Inc., faisant affaires sous le nom d’Eastlink, Cogeco Communications inc. (Cogeco), BellMTS Inc. (Bell), Québecor Média inc., au nom de Videotron s.e.n.c., Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers), Shaw Communications Inc., au nom de Shaw Cablesystems Limited et Shaw Cablesystems (VCI) Limited et Société TELUS Communications (TELUS).

Divulgation du nombre d’abonnés

En ce qui concerne la divulgation du nombre d’abonnés, la plupart des EDR ont déclaré, entre autres, que les renseignements sur les abonnés ont toujours été déposés sous pli confidentiel puisqu’ils pourraient fournir à leurs concurrents des informations utiles quant à leurs stratégies de marketing et leurs initiatives promotionnelles et que, même cumulée, la divulgation pourrait révéler des renseignements relatifs à des EDR précises et causer des pertes financières appréciables.   

Certaines EDR ont également noté que les renseignements seraient incomplets et biaisés puisqu’ils ne comprendraient pas les données relatives aux services satellites, à la plupart des services terrestres de Bell Canada et à certains des services terrestres de TELUS. D’autres ont prévenu qu’en raison du fait que ce ne sont pas toutes les EDR qui participent à l’instance actuelle, la divulgation pourrait donner des renseignements concurrentiels aux concurrents qui leur seraient autrement inaccessibles.

Divulgation du nombre de plaintes

En ce qui concerne la divulgation des réponses relatives aux plaintes, Bell a indiqué que la divulgation ventilée des plaintes était toujours déposée sous pli confidentiel. Bell a précisé que l’information relative aux abonnés est sensible sur le plan de la concurrence et de nature stratégique. Rogers a déposé le nombre de plaintes dans le cadre de sa réponse au CDIP et Cogeco ne s’est pas opposé à sa divulgation.  

Le Conseil reconnaît que le nombre d’abonnés est habituellement déposé sous pli confidentiel, conformément à l’article 32 des Règles de pratique et de procédure, puisque cette information s’avère sensible sur le plan commercial. En outre, contrairement au nombre d’abonnés rendu public dans le cadre de la Phase 1 du processus de renouvellement en 2016, qui tenait compte des données fournies par tous les titulaires, le nombre cumulé obtenu dans le cadre du présent renouvellement ne reflèterait pas adéquatement l’abonnement au petit service de base et aux forfaits d’assemblage souples dans l’ensemble de l’industrie.

Le Conseil reconnaît également qu’en ayant accès au nombre cumulé d’abonnés obtenu dans le cadre du présent renouvellement, il se pourrait que les titulaires concurrents et les parties intéressées puissent arriver à une estimation du nombre d’abonnés d’un titulaire à partir de ces données et des données globales sur les abonnés déjà publiquement disponibles.  

En ce qui concerne le nombre de plaintes, tous les titulaires, à l’exception de Bell et de Cogeco, ont déjà divulgué ces données ou, comme Atop, Saskatchewan Telecommunications et VMedia, ont indiqué dans leurs réponses à des demandes de renseignements supplémentaires qu’aucune plainte n’avait été reçue.

À la lumière de ce qui précède, le Conseil est d’avis que le préjudice que causerait la divulgation du nombre d’abonnés, comme demandé par le CDIP, l’emporterait sur l’intérêt public. Ainsi, le Conseil refuse cette demande.

De plus, compte tenu que seuls Bell et Cogeco n’ont pas divulgué le nombre de plaintes, le Conseil exige que ces deux titulaires déposent ces renseignements au Conseil au plus tard le 19 juin 2017 afin qu’ils puissent être versés au dossier public.   

Une copie de cette lettre et de toute correspondance qui y est reliée sera versée au dossier public de l’instance.

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments distingués.

L’original signé par

Danielle May-Cuconato
Secrétaire générale

Liste de distribution :

alau@piac.ca; documents@myaccess.coop; licence@cogeco.com; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca; regulatory@mts.ca; cable.regulatory@rci.rogers.com; document.control@sasktel.com; dean.shaikh@sjrb.ca; regulatory.affairs@telus.com; lecia.simpson@telus.com; reglementaires@quebecor.com; george.burger@vmedia.ca; rsocci@atoptv.com; bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Date de modification :