Broadcasting Procedural Letter Addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 1 June 2017

BY EMAIL:

Distribution List

Re: Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2017-160 – Request for disclosure

Dear Madams, Sirs:

On 30 May 2017, the Commission received a request by the Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC) for disclosure of the following information:

  1. the aggregated disclosure of responses related to: (i) the number of new small basic service subscribers; (ii) the number of existing broadcasting distribution undertaking (BDU) subscribers that have switched to the small basic service; (iii) the total number of small basic service subscribers; (iv) the number of small basic service subscribers also subscribed to discretionary services (pick-and-pay or small packages); (v) the number of small basic service subscribers also subscribed to other telecommunications services as part of a bundle; (vi) the number of BDU subscribers subscribed to the first-tier offering instead of the small basic service; and (vii) the total number of BDU subscribers; and
  2. the individual disclosure of complaints received by each BDU between 1 March 2016 and 28 February 2017 in regards to the small basic service, new small packages, and pick-and-pay programming services.

Further, given the deadline of 27 June 2017 to submit interventions, PIAC requested that the Commission consider condensing the reply period. As set out in section 33(3) of the Rules of Practice and Procedure, respondents may file a reply with the Commission within 10 days after the day on which the request is filed. However, in this instance, Commission staff agrees that PIAC’s request is appropriate. Consequently, the replies to the request for disclosure of the above-noted information must be filed with the Commission by no later than 5 June 2017.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.
Sincerely,

Original signed by

Donna Gill
Senior Manager
Distribution Policy and Applications

Cc alau@piac.ca

Distribution list:

documents@myaccess.coop; licence@cogeco.com; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca; regulatory@mts.ca; cable.regulatory@rci.rogers.com; document.control@sasktel.com; dean.shaikh@sjrb.ca; regulatory.affairs@telus.com; lecia.simpson@telus.com; reglementaires@quebecor.com; george.burger@vmedia.ca; rsocci@atoptv.com; bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 1 juin 2017

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Objet : Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2017-160 – Demande de divulgation

Mesdames, Messieurs,

Le 30 mai 2017, le Conseil a reçu de la part du Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (CDIP) une demande de divulgation des renseignements suivants :

  1. la divulgation cumulée des réponses relatives au : (i) nombre de nouveaux consommateurs qui se sont abonnés au petit service de base; (ii) le nombre d'abonnés actuels des entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion (EDR) qui ont migré au nouveau petit service de base; (iii) le nombre total d'abonnés qui ont souscrit au petit service de base; (iv) le nombre d'abonnés au petit service de base qui ont également choisi de s’abonner aux services facultatifs (à la carte et petits forfaits); (v) le nombre d'abonnés au petit service de base qui ont également choisi de s’abonner à d’autres services de télécommunication dans le cadre d’un forfait; (vi) le nombre d’abonnés des EDR qui ont choisi le premier volet facultatif plutôt que le petit service de base; (vii) le nombre total d'abonnés des EDR;
  2. la divulgation individuelle des plaintes reçues par chaque EDR entre le 1er mars 2016 et le 28 février 2017 relativement au petit service de base, aux nouveaux petits forfaits et aux services de programmation à la carte.

De plus, en raison de la date limite du 27 juin 2017 pour déposer des interventions, CDIP a demandé que le Conseil examine la possibilité d’écourter la période de réplique. Tel qu’énoncé à l’article 33(3) des Règles de pratique et de procédure, les intimés peuvent déposer une réplique auprès du Conseil dans les dix jours suivant le jour du dépôt de la demande. Cependant, dans le cas présent, le personnel du Conseil est d’accord avec la proposition de CDIP. Par conséquent, les répliques à la demande de divulgation des renseignements ci-dessus doivent être déposées auprès du Conseil au plus tard le 5 juin 2017.

Une copie de cette lettre et de toute correspondance qui y est reliée sera versée au dossier public de l’instance.

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments distingués.

L’original signé par

Donna Gill
Gestionnaire principale
Politiques et demandes relatives à la distribution

c.c. alau@piac.ca

Liste de distribution :

documents@myaccess.coop; licence@cogeco.com; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca; regulatory@mts.ca; cable.regulatory@rci.rogers.com; document.control@sasktel.com; dean.shaikh@sjrb.ca; regulatory.affairs@telus.com; lecia.simpson@telus.com; reglementaires@quebecor.com; george.burger@vmedia.ca; rsocci@atoptv.com; bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Date de modification :