Broadcasting Procedural Letter Addressed to Lenore Gibson (Bell TV)

Ottawa, 31 May 2017

VIA E-MAIL

Mrs. Lenore Gibson
Senior Counsel
Regulatory Affairs
Bell TV
lenore.gibson@bell.ca

Dear Mrs. Gibson,

Re: Bell TV compliance with its obligation to offer all discretionary services in small packages

This is in response to your correspondence dated 28 February 2017 in which Bell TV requested a Commission ruling with regard to whether Bell TV (Bell) is in compliance with section 23 of the Broadcasting Distribution Regulations (the Regulations). The following is the Commission’s determination.

Background

On 6 December 2016, the Commission received a complaint from an Ontario resident questioning whether Bell’s practice of allowing subscribers to only purchase one custom package of ten programming services for a fixed price is in compliance with the requirement to offer all channels in packages of up to 10 channels.

In response, Bell submitted that by allowing subscribers to choose one custom package of ten programming services for a fixed price and offering all additional programming services on an à la carte basis, it was in compliance with section 23 of the Regulations.

In an email to Bell dated 15 February 2017, Commission staff stated that section 23 of the Regulations requires that all discretionary services be offered in packages of up to ten programming services. Commission staff reasoned that, under Bell’s approach, once a subscriber chooses one custom package of ten services for $20 per month, the remaining discretionary services are no longer offered to that subscriber in packages of up to ten programming services. As a result, Commission staff was of the view that Bell’s current programming service offering does not comply with section 23 of the Regulations.

In an email dated 28 February 2017, Bell indicated that it did not agree with Commission staff’s interpretation of the Regulations and requested a Commission ruling on the interpretation of s.23 of the Regulations, preceded by a public process in which stakeholders could comment including other broadcasting distribution undertakings (BDUs) who may offer custom packages in a similar way.

Regulatory framework

Section 23 of the Regulations provides the following with respect to the offering of discretionary programming services by BDUs:

  1. Except as otherwise provided under a condition of its licence, all authorized non-Canadian programming services, other than the programming services of non-Canadian television stations, and all discretionary services that are offered by a licensee in a licensed area shall be offered as follows: […]
    1. "on or after December 1, 2016, both on a stand-alone basis and in packages of up to 10 programming services.
  2. In addition to the packages required under subsection (1), a licensee may offer any programming services that are not distributed as part of its basic service in packages of more than 10 programming services.
  3. For purposes of subsections (1) and (2), the licensee may offer either or both of the following:
    1. packages that consist of programming services that are chosen by the licensee; and
    2. packages that consist of programming services that are chosen by the subscriber.

Procedural request

With respect to Bell’s request for further process, the Commission notes that the process for addressing the complaint has been consistent with Part 2 of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (customer complaints), and considers that no further public process is required to reach a determination on the interpretation of section 23 of the Regulations.

The Commission, therefore, denies Bell’s request for additional process.

Bell’s compliance

In A World of Choice – A roadmap to maximize choice for TV viewers and to foster a healthy, dynamic TV market, Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2015-96 (the Choice Policy), the Commission emphasized consumer choice and flexibility and the importance of the ability of consumers to create their own value proposition. To this end, the Commission modified the Regulations so that BDUs would be required to offer all discretionary services on both a pick-and-pay basis and in packages of up to 10 programming services (small packages). Further, at the discretion of the BDU, these small packages may be comprised of programming services that are chosen by the licensee or that are chosen by the subscriber (or a combination of both). BDUs may also choose to offer discretionary services in larger packages but are not required to do so.

Regardless of whether a BDU chooses to offer programming services in licensee-assembled small packages, or allows the subscriber to choose the programming services included in the small packages (or some combination of both), the obligation set out in the Regulations, and the intent of the Choice Policy, is that all discretionary services must be made available in small packages. If a BDU does not make all discretionary services available to the subscriber in a way which allows the subscriber to access those services in small packages, they will be in non-compliance with the Regulations. As noted above, BDUs also have the option of offering discretionary services in larger licensee-assembled or subscriber-assembled packages.

In this specific case, Bell’s choice to limit subscribers to only one custom package of ten programming services means that any discretionary services that the subscriber does not choose in that one package are no longer available to them in small packages. The Commission considers this failure to make all of the discretionary services offered by Bell available to subscribers in small packages to be contrary to s.23 of the Regulations.

Based on the above, the Commission finds Bell in non-compliance with s.23 of the Regulations. Specifically, that by allowing subscribers to subscribe to only one custom package of 10 programming services, Bell has failed to make all discretionary services available to its subscribers in small packages as required under the Regulations. The Commission directs Bell to modify its offering to come into compliance with the Regulations by no later than 1 July 2017.

Yours sincerely,

Danielle May-Cuconato
Secretary General

c.c.: kevin.goldstein@bellmedia.ca

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à Lenore Gibson (Bell Télé)

Ottawa, le 31 mai 2017

PAR COURRIEL

Madame Lenore Gibson
Avocate-conseil
Affaires réglementaires
Bell Télé
lenore.gibson@bell.ca

Madame,

Objet : Respect, par Bell TV, de son obligation d’offrir tous les services facultatifs en petits forfaits

La présente est en réponse à votre lettre en date du 28 février 2017 dans laquelle Bell TV a demandé une décision du Conseil pour déterminer si Bell TV (Bell) est conforme à l’article 23 du Règlement sur la distribution de radiodiffusion (le Règlement). La décision du Conseil figure ci-dessous.

Contexte

Le 6 décembre 2016, le Conseil a reçu une plainte d’un résident de l’Ontario qui se demandait si la pratique de Bell de permettre aux abonnés de n’acheter qu’un seul bloc personnalisé de dix services de programmation pour un prix fixe était conforme à l’exigence d’offrir tous les canaux dans des blocs d’au plus dix services de programmation.

En réponse, Bell a indiqué qu’en permettant à ses abonnés de choisir un bloc personnalisé de dix services de programmation pour un prix fixe et en offrant tous les autres services de programmation à la carte, elle se conformait à l’article 23 du Règlement.

Dans un courriel transmis à Bell en date du 15 février 2017, le personnel du Conseil a déterminé que l’article 23 du Règlement exige que tous les services facultatifs soient offerts dans des blocs d’au plus dix services de programmation. Le personnel du Conseil estimait que, selon l’approche de Bell, une fois qu’un abonné a choisi un bloc personnalisé de dix services pour 20 $ par mois, les autres services facultatifs n’étaient plus offerts à cet abonné en blocs d’au plus dix services de programmation. Le personnel du Conseil était donc d’avis que l’actuelle offre de services de programmation de Bell ne se conforme pas à l’article 23 du Règlement.

Dans un courriel daté du 28 février 2017, Bell a indiqué qu’elle n’était pas d’accord avec l’interprétation du Règlement donnée par le personnel du Conseil et a demandé au Conseil de rendre une décision concernant l’interprétation de l’article 23 du Règlement, précédé d’un processus public au cours duquel les parties intéressées pourraient formuler leurs observations, y compris les autres entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion (EDR) qui peuvent offrir des forfaits personnalisés de façon similaire.

Cadre de réglementation

L’article 23 du Règlement prévoit ce qui suit en ce qui concerne l’offre de services facultatifs par les EDR :

  1. Sous réserve des conditions de sa licence, tous les services de programmation non canadiens approuvés, autres que les services de programmation des stations de télévision non canadiennes, et tous les services facultatifs offerts par le titulaire dans la zone de desserte autorisée le sont : [...]
    1. à partir du 1er décembre 2016, de façon autonome et dans des blocs d’au plus dix services de programmation.
  2. En plus des blocs visés au paragraphe (1), le titulaire peut offrir, dans des blocs de plus de dix services de programmation, tous les services de programmation qui ne sont pas distribués dans le cadre du service de base.
  3. Pour l’application des paragraphes (1) et (2), le titulaire peut offrir l’un ou l’autre des blocs de services ci-après ou les deux :
    1. Les blocs constitués de services de programmation choisis par le titulaire;
    2. Les blocs constitués de services de programmation choisis par l’abonné.

Requête procédurale

En ce qui a trait à demande de Bell d’établir un processus supplémentaire, le Conseil fait remarquer que le processus de traitement de la plainte a été effectué conformément à la partie 2 des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (plaintes de clients), et estime qu’aucun autre processus public n’est nécessaire pour en arriver à une décision sur l’interprétation de l’article 23 du Règlement.

Le Conseil rejette donc la demande de Bell de recourir à un processus additionnel.

Conformité de Bell

Dans Un monde de choix – Une feuille de route pour maximiser les choix des téléspectateurs et favoriser un marché télévisuel sain et dynamique, Politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2015-96 (la politique sur le choix), le Conseil a mis l’accent sur la souplesse et le choix offerts aux consommateurs et sur l’importance de donner aux consommateurs la capacité de créer une offre personnalisée avantageuse en fonction des services de télévision qu’ils veulent recevoir. À cette fin, le Conseil a modifié le Règlement pour que les EDR soient tenues d’offrir tous les services facultatifs à la fois à la carte et sous la forme de blocs d’au plus dix services de programmation (petits forfaits). De plus, à la discrétion de l’EDR, ces petits forfaits peuvent être constitués de services de programmation choisis par le titulaire ou choisis par l’abonné (ou une combinaison des deux). Les EDR peuvent également choisir d’offrir de plus gros forfaits composés d’un plus grand nombre de services, mais elles ne sont pas tenues de le faire.

Peu importe qu’une EDR choisisse d’offrir des services de programmation dans des petits forfaits assemblés par le titulaire ou qu’elle permette à l’abonné de choisir les services de programmation inclus dans de petits forfaits (ou une combinaison des deux), l’obligation énoncée dans le Règlement, et l’intention de la politique sur le choix, sont que tous les services facultatifs doivent être offerts dans de petits forfaits. Si une EDR ne rend pas tous ses services facultatifs disponibles à l’abonné de manière à lui permettre d’accéder à ces services en petits forfaits, il se trouverait en situation de non-conformité au Règlement. Tel qu’indiqué ci-dessus, les EDR peuvent choisir d’offrir de plus gros forfaits composés d’un plus grand nombre de services, soit constitués de services de programmation choisis par le titulaire ou choisis par l’abonné.

Dans le présent cas, le choix de Bell de limiter ses abonnées à un seul forfait personnalisé de dix services de programmation signifie que les services facultatifs qu’un abonné ne choisit pas dans ce forfait ne lui sont plus offerts dans les petits forfaits. Le Conseil estime que ce manquement de rendre tous les services facultatifs offerts par Bell disponibles aux abonnés dans de petits forfaits est contraire aux dispositions de l’article 23 du Règlement.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Conseil conclut que Bell est en situation de non-conformité à l’égard de l’article 23 du Règlement. Plus précisément, en ne permettant à ses clients de s’abonner qu’à un seul forfait personnalisé de dix services de programmation, Bell a omis de rendre tous les services facultatifs disponibles à ses abonnés dans de petits forfaits, comme l’exige le Règlement. Le Conseil ordonne à Bell de modifier son offre pour se conformer au Règlement au plus tard le 1er juillet 2017.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La secrétaire générale,

Danielle May-Cuconato

c.c. : kevin.goldstein@bellmedia.ca

Date de modification :