Broadcasting Procedural Letter Addressed to Kevin Benson (Klondike Broadcasting Company Limited)

Ottawa, 20 February 2017

BY EMAIL: kbenson@hougens.com

Mr. Kevin Benson
Klondike Broadcasting Company Limited
203, 4103 4th Ave.
Whitehorse, YT
Y1A 1H6

Re: Broadcasting application 2017-0084-9 – Klondike Broadcasting Company Limited – Whitehorse, Yukon Territory

Dear Mr. Benson,

This is in reference to the application by Klondike Broadcasting Company Limited (Klondike Broadcasting), related to the English-language commercial AM radio station CKRW Whitehorse, Yukon Territory in which you are requesting "emergency" temporary authority to originate programming of CKRW from its rebroadcasting transmitter CKRW-FM Whitehorse.

Procedural Request

  1. In the application, you have requested that the Commission make an exception to the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Procedure) in the treatment of this application. More specifically, you have requested that the application be processed administratively (as described in Broadcasting Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-960).

Commission staff is of the view that this type of request falls beyond the scope of an administrative route and that the public should be given an opportunity to file submissions as interveners or respondents. Therefore, your procedural request is denied and the application will be processed as a Part 1 application.

However, the timeline of the Part 1 process will be shortened as follows:

Interested persons have until 2 March 2017 to submit interventions relating to the application.

Klondike Broadcasting has until 7 March 2017 to reply to the interventions.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Should you need further information concerning this application, please do not hesitate to contact me by telephone at 819-997-5311, by fax at 819-994-0218 or by E-mail at anne.brodeur@crtc.gc.ca.

Sincerely,

Anne Brodeur
Analyst, Radio Policy & Applications

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à Kevin Benson (Klondike Broadcasting Company Limited)

Ottawa, le 20 février 2017

PAR COURRIEL : kbenson@hougens.com

Kevin Benson
Klondike Broadcasting Company Limited
203, 4103 4th Ave.
Whitehorse, Territoire du Yukon
Y1A 1H6

Objet : Demande de radiodiffusion 2017-0084-9 – Klondike Broadcasting Company Limited - Whitehorse, Territoire du Yukon

Monsieur,

La présente donne suite à la demande déposée par Klondike Broadcasting Company Limited (Klondike Broadcasting) et liée à la station radio AM commerciale en langue anglaise CKRW Whitehorse, Territoire du Yukon dans laquelle vous demandez une autorisation temporaire « d’urgence » pour diffuser la programmation de CKRW sur le réémetteur CKRW-FM Whitehorse.

Requête procédurale

  1. Dans la demande, vous réclamez que le Conseil fasse une exception aux Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (les Règles de procédure) pour le traitement de cette demande. Plus précisément, vous demandez un traitement par voie administrative (comme décrit dans le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion CRTC 2010-960).

Le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que ce type de demande est hors de la portée d’un traitement par voie administrative et que le public doit avoir l’occasion de déposer des observations en tant qu’intervenant ou intimé. Par conséquent, votre requête procédurale est rejetée et la demande sera traitée comme une demande en vertu de la partie 1.

Toutefois, le processus de la partie 1 sera raccourci comme suit :

Les parties intéressées ont jusqu’au 2 mars 2017 afin de déposer leurs interventions concernant la demande.

Klondike Broadcasting a jusqu’au 7 mars 2017 afin de déposer leur réplique aux interventions.

Une copie de la présente lettre et de toute correspondance connexe sera versée au dossier public de l’instance.

Si vous désirez obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur votre demande, veuillez communiquer avec moi par téléphone au 819-997-5311, par télécopieur au 819-994-0218, ou par courriel à anne.brodeur@crtc.gc.ca.

Sincères salutations,

Anne Brodeur
Analyste, Politiques et demandes relatives à la radio

Date de modification :