Commission letter addressed to Honourable Mélanie Joly, P.C., M.P. and The Honourable Navdeep Bains, P.C., M.P.

Ottawa, 24 October 2017

The Honourable Mélanie Joly, P.C., M.P.
Minister of Canadian Heritage
15 Eddy Street, Floor 12
Gatineau, Quebec  K1A 0M5

The Honourable Navdeep Bains, P.C., M.P.
Minister of Innovation, Science and
Economic Development
235 Queen Street
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0H5
Building C.D. Howe

Dear Ministers,

I would like to thank you for your letter welcoming me to my new position as Chair of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC).

I look forward to fostering an open and transparent relationship with both of you.  As I embark on this new challenge at the CRTC, it is useful for me, and for the entire Commission, to understand the Government’s priorities in the areas in which we regulate. 

I appreciate the recognition within your letter of the nature of the CRTC as an arm’s length institution, and I am comforted that you will respect our role as an administrative tribunal.  We will continue to find ways in which we can work together in order to realize the objectives of the Broadcasting Act, the Telecommunications Act and Canada’s Anti-Spam Legislation for the benefit of all Canadians, while maintaining this distinction.

Our work will be informed by the many broad policy objectives set out in the Acts with which we regulate, as they currently read. In addition, we look forward to contributing to the announced reviews of the Broadcasting and Telecommunications Acts. In particular, on 12 October 2017 we announced the path forward to respond to the request from the Governor in Council of 27 September 2017, pursuant to section 15(1) of the Broadcasting Act to provide a report relating to future distribution models for and the continued creation, production and distribution of Canadian programming.  We will be soliciting views on these topics in a process that will be efficient and inclusive of Canadians and stakeholders alike.

Canadians are looking to the Commission to help ensure that what they want, and what they need, from our communications system is achieved. As emphasized in my statement of 7 September 2017, we know that Canadians want fast, affordable and reliable Internet access wherever they work and live. The same can be said for wireless services.  Canadians should be provided with access to and have the ability to create high-quality and diverse content, recognizing that English and French broadcasters operate under different conditions.  They should have a greater variety of innovative applications and services, which they should be able to access on the networks and devices of their choice. Canadians want the Commission to combat unwanted commercial electronic messages and unsolicited telemarketing calls.

The role of the CRTC is to balance many competing interests, ideas and approaches while consistently fulfilling our statutory mandates.  Our role is to regulate the communications system in the public interest. 

Thank you again for your words of welcome.  Together with my fellow Commissioners and all those who work at the CRTC, I look forward to taking up the challenge of ensuring that all Canadians have access to a world-class communications system, which will contribute to their success in a digital economy.

Sincerely,

Ian Scott

Date modified:

Lettre du Conseil adressée à L’honorable Mélanie Joly, C.P., députée et L’honorable Navdeep Bains, C.P., député

Ottawa, le 24 octobre 2017

L’honorable Mélanie Joly, C.P., députée
Ministre du Patrimoine canadien
15 rue Eddy, Étage 12
Gatineau, Qc  K1A 0M5

L’honorable Navdeep Bains, C.P., député
Ministre de l’Innovation, des Sciences et du
Développement économique
235 rue Queen
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0H5
Immeuble C.D. Howe

Chers Ministres,

Je souhaite vous remercier pour la lettre que vous m’avez fait parvenir afin de me souhaiter la bienvenue dans mes nouvelles fonctions de président du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC).

J’ai hâte d’établir une relation ouverte et transparente avec vous. Au moment où je fais mes premiers pas à titre de dirigeant du CRTC, il m’est utile, ainsi qu’au Conseil, de comprendre les priorités du gouvernement dans les domaines régis par le Conseil.

Je suis heureux que vous reconnaissiez la nature du CRTC à titre d’institution indépendante, et je suis rassuré par le fait que vous respectiez son rôle de tribunal administratif. Nous trouverons des façons de collaborer afin de réaliser les objectifs de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion, de la Loi sur les télécommunications et de la Loi canadienne anti-pourriel au profit de tous les Canadiens tout en conservant cette distinction.

Nos travaux seront éclairés par les nombreux objectifs stratégiques généraux établis dans les lois actuelles servant de fondement à la réglementation que nous établissons. De plus, nous avons hâte de contribuer aux examens annoncés des lois sur la radiodiffusion et les télécommunications. En particulier, le 12 octobre 2017, nous avons annoncé les mesures que prendra l’organisation en réponse à la demande faite le 27 septembre 2017 par le gouverneur en conseil conformément au paragraphe 15(1) de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion, c’est-à-dire celle voulant que le Conseil lui présente un rapport sur les modèles de distribution de programmation susceptibles d’exister à l’avenir et la mesure dans laquelle ces modèles pourront soutenir la création, la production et la distribution continues d’une programmation canadienne. Nous solliciterons des observations sur ces sujets dans le cadre d’un processus efficace auquel pourront participer la population canadienne et les intervenants.

Les Canadiens comptent sur le Conseil pour aider à garantir que le système de communications canadien leur fournisse ce qu’ils veulent et ce dont ils ont besoin. Comme je l’ai souligné dans ma déclaration du 7 septembre 2017, nous savons que les Canadiens veulent un accès à Internet rapide, abordable et fiable au travail et à la maison. La même affirmation peut s’appliquer aux services sans fil. Nous sommes d’avis que les Canadiens devraient avoir accès à du contenu de grande qualité et diversifié et être en mesure d’en créer, tout en reconnaissant que les radiodiffuseurs de langue française et de langue anglaise évoluent dans des conditions différentes. Ils devraient avoir accès à un éventail accru d’applications et de services novateurs sur les réseaux et les appareils de leur choix. Les Canadiens veulent que le Conseil lutte contre des messages électroniques commerciaux indésirables et les appels de télémarketing non sollicités.

Le rôle du CRTC est de trouver un équilibre entre un grand nombre d’intérêts, d’idées et d’approches difficiles à concilier tout en exécutant les mandats qui lui sont conférés par la loi. Notre rôle est de réglementer le système de communications canadien dans l’intérêt du public.

Merci encore pour vos mots de bienvenue. En collaboration avec mes collègues conseillers et tous les employés du CRTC, j’ai hâte de relever le défi de veiller à ce que les Canadiens aient accès à un système de communications de calibre mondial qui contribuera à leur réussite dans l’économie numérique.

Je vous prie d’agréer, chers collègues, mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Ian Scott
Date de modification :