Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, 22 December 2016

Our reference:  8662-B2-201612391

BY-EMAIL

Mr. Philippe Gauvin
Senior Legal Counsel
Bell Canada
160 Elgin Street, 19th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

RE:  Part 1 Application to Review and Vary and Stay Certain Determinations in Telecom Decision CRTC 2016-379, Follow-up to Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2015-326 – Implementation of a disaggregated wholesale high-speed access service, including over FTTP access facilities - Disposition of request for stay

Dear Sir:

This letter disposes of a request by Bell Canada to stay the requirement for the company to implement the meet-me-point service, including the need to file proposed tariffs and a Phase II cost study as outlined in Telecom Decision 2016-379, as modified by the Commission’s letter dated 1 November 2016 (the Stay Request). This Stay Request was filed as part of its Part 1 application to review and vary and stay certain determinations in Telecom Decision CRTC 2016-379, filed on 2 December 2016 (the R&V Application).

The Commission received comments on the Stay Request from the Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC), the Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC), Vaxination Informatique (Vaxination), and Zayo Canada.

The criteria applied by the Commission to assess applications for interim relief are those set out by the Supreme Court of Canada (SCC) in RJR-MacDonald Inc. v. Canada (Attorney General) [1994] 1 S.C.R. 311 (RJR-MacDonald). These criteria (the RJR-MacDonald criteria) are that: a) there is a serious issue to be determined; b) the party seeking the interim relief will incur irreparable harm if the relief is not granted; and c) the balance of convenience, taking into account the public interest, favours granting the interim relief. To be granted interim relief, an applicant must demonstrate that its application meets all three criteria.

Positions of parties

Is there a serious issue to be determined?

Bell Canada submitted that the key issue is whether the Commission should examine the company’s contention that existing co-location is an adequate, non-cost prohibitive method of interconnection and that therefore meet-me points should not be mandated as part of Telecom Decision 2016-379. Bell Canada submitted that there are potential errors, both in fact and law, that raise substantial doubts about the correctness in Telecom Decision 2016-379 about the meet-me point.  The requirement to add an alternative to ILEC co-location is a serious issue that generated substantial debate on the record leading to Decision 2016-379. Revisiting the appropriateness of the Commission's Decision on this issue is neither vexatious nor frivolous.

CNOC argued that the R&V Application could be considered frivolous or vexatious as Bell Canada could have adduced its evidence as to the relative costs of such a service in the original proceeding and that the Application could be seen as intended to delay the implementation of the service. Vaxination submitted that the Stay Request does not raise a serious issue, because, even if Bell Canada’s arguments in the R&V Application are accepted they will still be required to provide meet-me points in some locations, meaning that they will have to file tariff pages and cost studies in any event.

Bell Canada submitted that CNOC’s submissions should be rejected because the company is entitled to file facts and arguments to correct the record.

Bell Canada submitted that Vaxination’s arguments should be dismissed as they rely on an incorrect factual basis. In Telecom Decision 2016-379, the Commission directed the company to provide external meet-me points at central offices where disaggregated wholesale high-speed access service will be available. As the R&V Application applies to all such central offices the company will not be required to implement any meet-me points should the R&V Application be granted.

Will the party seeking the interim relief incur irreparable harm if the relief is not granted?

Bell Canada submitted that if the Stay Request were not granted it would have to invest in creating the meet-me point solution (including the internal efforts to identify how to provide it, as well as the regulatory resources devoted to the tariff and costing processes). If the R&V Application were successful such that the meet-me point service is not launched, there would be no revenues generated and no ability to recoup any of these costs. This would cause the company significant harm that could not be cured.

PIAC submitted that in the current phase of the implementation, Bell Canada is only being required to devote resources to tariff and costing processes. It is not being asked to actually deploy the outside meet-me points. PIAC does not believe the expenses at issue rise to the level of irreparable harm on the part of Bell Canada. The fact that these expenses may, in Bell Canada’s view, be potentially unnecessary hinges upon the R&V Application being granted.

PIAC submitted that when characterizing what constitutes irreparable harm, the SCC in RJR-Macdonald cited examples such as where one party would be put out of business absent the granting of a stay; where one party would suffer permanent market loss or irrevocable damage to its business reputation; or where a permanent loss of natural resources would be the result when a challenged activity is not enjoined. PIAC submitted that the nature of the irreparable harm Bell Canada alleges is nowhere close to the Court’s examples in RJR MacDonald of situations of irreparable harm.

CNOC submitted that the requirement to incur costs that may become unnecessary due to regulatory changes does not constitute irreparable harm. CNOC submitted that Bell Canada’s “harm” can be quantified and the company would not be put out of business or incur permanent market loss or damage to its reputation if it is required to incur these costs and the R&V Application is successful.

CNOC submitted that in a Federal Court of Appeal (FCA) decision (Bell Mobility Inc. vs Klass, 2015 FCA 79 (Bell Mobility)), the FCA rejected Bell Mobility’s argument that expenses incurred to comply with regulatory rulings under appeal constitute irreparable harm. CNOC submitted that the situation in that case was the same as the present situation, and that the Commission should follow the precedent set in that case and reject Bell Canada’s claims that it would suffer irreparable harm if it is not granted a stay.

Vaxination submitted that as regulatory proceedings are a normal part of Bell Canada’s day to day operations, it was not clear what harm could arise from Bell Canada’s regulatory department performing its normal duties.

In reply, Bell Canada submitted that the SCC has clearly stated that it is the nature of harm, not the magnitude that is to be considered in assessment of irreparable harm. Bell Canada submitted that the harm it would suffer meets the definition for one type of irreparable harm contemplated by the SCC in RJR-MacDonald, as the company’s costs represent monetary amounts that cannot be cured or collected.

In response to CNOC’s submission, Bell Canada submitted that the Commission should not consider Bell Mobility as an instructive precedent in evaluating the present stay request, as this case is likely not legally sound because it runs counter to established legal principles set by the SCC. The Commission should continue to follow the prevailing principles set out in RJR-MacDonald.

Balance of convenience

Bell Canada submitted that if the R&V Application is successful but there is no stay, the company would have to incur significant unnecessary time and expenses, to create a new and unnecessary form of interconnection. On the other hand, if a stay is granted but the R&V Application is denied, neither Internet service providers (ISPs) nor consumers will suffer harm from a slight delay in the introduction of the meet-me point option given that there are other widely-used interconnection options available at just and reasonable prices. Therefore, while the Commission considers the R&V Application, the balance of convenience, taking into account the public interest, favours granting the stay.

PIAC submitted that the presence of other interconnection options should not tilt the balance of convenience in favour of Bell Canada. Just like Bell Canada wishes to avoid investing in a deployment model which it is seeking to terminate with the R&V Application, ISPs will wish to avoid seeking alternative interconnection arrangements when the option mandated by Telecom Decision 2016-379 is, on its face, to be made available to them. Therefore the balance of convenience favours the status quo, and the public interest is best served by requiring Bell Canada to comply with the Commission’s regulatory policy and follow-up decision until such time as Bell Canada has persuaded the Commission to vary its decision. Otherwise the effect of Bell Canada’s stay will be to delay an already lengthy implementation process.

CNOC argued that where a decision maker is making a decision in the public interest, courts should generally assume that harm would result to the public interest if the decision is stayedFootnote1 . CNOC submitted that the Commission intended to advance the public interest when it issued Telecom Decision 2016-379 and that irreparable harm would result from restraint of the implementation of the Decision.

Vaxination submitted that the public interest would not be favoured by an additional delay in the implementation of fibre-to-the-home access. The stay would effectively grant Bell Canada a seven to eight month delay.

Bell Canada submitted that granting the requested stay will not delay the implementation of Telecom Decision 2016-379 in the event that the R&V Application is ultimately not successful.

Bell Canada submitted that although it agreed with the principle noted by CNOC regarding the presumption of public interest for a decision made by a public authority whose duty is to promote public interest, it would not be appropriate to follow the presumption in the present case. In light of the errors in Telecom Decision 2016-379 that have been described in the R&V Application, Bell Canada submitted that it did not believe that the determinations it is seeking to stay serve the public interest. Further, as demonstrated in the R&V Application, Telecom Decision 2016-379 does not promote the objectives set out in the Policy Direction and therefore does not serve the public interest.

Analysis and Determinations

To be granted a stay, an applicant is required to meet all three limbs of the RJR-MacDonald test. Having reviewed the arguments made by all parties, the Commission considers that Bell Canada has failed to do so and that, therefore, the stay request is denied.

The Commission is prepared to find that Bell Canada meets the first limb of the test given that there is a very low bar for establishing a serious issue to be tried.

With respect to the second limb of the test, the Commission does not consider that Bell Canada would suffer irreparable harm absent the granting of a stay. Any costs that Bell Canada incurs in finalizing and filing their proposed tariffs and associated cost study are simply a normal cost of doing business given the company’s status as a regulated entity.

With respect to the third limb of the test, the Commission finds that the balance of convenience clearly favours the denial of the stay request. Until the Commission considers the substantive arguments put forward by Bell Canada in the R&V Application as to why its decision should be reviewed or varied, the presumption is that the public interest is served in implementing its decisions in a timely manner. Moreover, to the extent that the applicant argues that the Commission misunderstood the cost of implementing the meet-me-point service, the completion of the cost studies and the filing of the proposed rates for the service would serve the public interest in that it would assist in the evaluation of the R&V Application itself. Further, Bell Canada failed to quantify the quantum of the costs to be incurred.

In light of the above, the Commission denies the request by Bell Canada for a stay of the requirement for it to implement meet-me-points, including the need to file proposed tariffs and a Phase II cost study, as outlined in Telecom Decision 2016-379, as modified by Commission letter dated 1 November 2016.  The proposed tariff pages and supporting Phase II cost studies must be filed on or before by 31 January 2017

Sincerely,

Original signed by Veronique Lehoux for

Danielle May-Cuconato
Secretary General

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, le 22 décembre 2016

Notre référence : 8662-B2-201612391

PAR COURRIEL

M. Philippe Gauvin
Avocat principal
Bell Canada
160, rue Elgin, 19e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)  K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Objet : Demande en vertu de la partie 1 déposée en vue de faire réviser, modifier et suspendre certaines conclusions de la Décision de télécom CRTC 2016-379, Suivi de la politique réglementaire de télécom 2015-326 - Mise en œuvre d'un service d'accès haute vitesse de gros dégroupé, notamment au moyen d'installations d'accès par fibre jusqu'aux locaux de l'abonné - Disposition à l'égard de la demande de suspension

Monsieur Gauvin,

La présente concerne une demande par Bell Canada visant la suspension de l'exigence pour l'entreprise de mettre en place le service de point de branchement et de déposer des tarifs proposés et une étude de coûts basée sur la Phase II conformément à la décision de télécom 2016-379, telle qu'elle a été modifiée par la lettre du Conseil datée du 1er novembre 2016 (la demande de suspension). Bell Canada a demandé la suspension dans le contexte de sa demande en vertu de la partie 1, déposée le 2 décembre 2016, visant la révision, la modification et la suspension de certaines conclusions de la décision de télécom CRTC 2016-379 (la demande de révision et modification).

Le Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens inc. (CORC), le Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (CDIP), Vaxination Informatique (Vaxination) et Zayo Canada ont présenté au Conseil des observations sur la demande de suspension présentée par Bell Canada.

Les critères appliqués par le Conseil pour l'évaluation des demandes de redressement provisoire sont ceux qui ont été établis par la Cour suprême du Canada (CSC) dans l'affaire RJR-MacDonald Inc. c. Canada (Procureur général) [1994] 1 R.C.S. 311. Ces critères (les critères RJR-MacDonald) sont les suivants : a) il existe une question sérieuse à juger; b) la partie qui sollicite le redressement provisoire subira un préjudice irréparable si le redressement n'est pas accordé; et c) la prépondérance des inconvénients, compte tenu de l'intérêt public, penche en faveur du redressement provisoire. Pour obtenir un redressement provisoire, un demandeur doit démontrer que sa demande répond aux trois critères.

Positions des parties

Existe-t-il une question sérieuse à juger?

Bell Canada a fait valoir que la question clé est de savoir si le Conseil devrait examiner la prétention de l'entreprise selon laquelle la co-implantation existante est une méthode d'interconnexion adéquate et non onéreuse sur le plan des coûts et la décision de télécom 2016-379 ne devrait donc pas imposer l'établissement de points de branchement. Bell Canada a fait valoir que d'éventuelles erreurs de fait et de droit soulèvent d'importants doutes au sujet du bien-fondé de la décision de télécom 2016-379 en ce qui concerne les points de branchement. L'exigence d'établir une solution de rechange à la co-implantation des ESLC est une question sérieuse qui a donné lieu à un grand débat durant l'instance aboutissant à la décision de télécom 2016-379. Il n'est ni frivole, ni abusif, de réexaminer le bien-fondé de la décision du Conseil.

Le CORC a affirmé que la demande de révision et de modification peut être jugée frivole ou abusive puisque Bell Canada aurait pu présenter sa preuve concernant le coût relatif d'un tel service dans l'instance initiale et qu'on pourrait avoir l'impression que la demande vise à retarder la mise en place du service. Vaxination a affirmé que la demande de suspension de Bell Canada ne soulève pas de question sérieuse puisque, même si les arguments de Bell Canada dans la demande de révision et de modification sont acceptés, l'entreprise devra tout de même offrir des points de branchement dans certains emplacements, ce qui signifie qu'elle devra déposer des pages tarifaires et des études de coûts.

Bell Canada a fait valoir que les observations du CORC devraient être rejetées, puisqu'elle est autorisée à déposer des faits et des observations pour corriger le dossier.

Bell Canada a fait valoir qu'on devrait rejeter les observations de Vaxination, puisqu'elles ne sont pas basées sur des faits exacts. Dans la décision de télécom 2016-379, le Conseil a ordonné à l'entreprise de fournir des points de branchements externes aux bureaux centraux où le service d'accès haute vitesse de gros dégroupé sera offert. Comme la demande de révision et modification s'applique à tous les bureaux centraux, l'entreprise ne sera pas tenue de mettre en place de points de branchement si la demande de révision et modification était accordée.

La partie qui sollicite le redressement provisoire subira-t-elle un préjudice irréparable si celui-ci n'est pas accordé?

Bell Canada a fait valoir que si la demande de suspension n'est pas accordée, elle devra engager des coûts pour créer la solution de point de branchement (y compris pour le déploiement d'efforts internes visant à établir comment l'offrir ainsi que des ressources réglementaires chargées des processus tarifaires et d'établissement des coûts). Par la suite, si la demande de révision et modification était approuvée et le lancement du service de point de branchement n'avait pas lieu, aucune recette ne serait générée et il n'y aurait aucune possibilité de récupérer ces coûts. Bell Canada subirait donc un préjudice considérable et irréparable.

Le CDIP a fait valoir qu'à l'étape actuelle de la mise en œuvre, Bell Canada a pour seule obligation de consacrer des ressources aux processus tarifaires et d'établissement des coûts. On ne lui demande pas de déployer les points de branchement externes. Le CDIP ne croit pas que les dépenses associées à ces processus représentent un préjudice irréparable pour Bell Canada. Le fait que ces dépenses pourraient, aux yeux de Bell Canada, être inutiles, repose sur l'approbation de la demande de révision et modification déposée par Bell Canada.

Le CDIP a fait valoir qu'au moment de définir ce qui représente un préjudice irréparable, la CSC, dans l'affaire RJR-MacDonald, a cité des exemples tels que les cas où la décision aurait pour effet de faire perdre à une partie son entreprise, le cas où une partie peut subir une perte commerciale permanente ou un préjudice irrémédiable à sa réputation commerciale ou encore le cas où une partie peut subir une perte permanente de ressources naturelles lorsqu'une activité contestée n'est pas interdite. Le CDIP a fait valoir que la nature du préjudice irréparable auquel Bell Canada prétend être exposée ne s'apparente en rien aux exemples cités dans RJR MacDonald.

Le CORC a fait valoir que l'exigence d'engager des coûts qui pourrait être rendus inutiles en raison de modifications réglementaires ne représente pas un préjudice irréparable. Le CORC a fait valoir que le « préjudice » causé à Bell Canada peut être quantifié et que l'entreprise ne sera pas ruinée ou ne subira pas une perte de marché ou un préjudice à sa réputation si elle est tenue d'engager ces coûts pour ensuite voir la demande de révision et modification approuvée.

Le CORC a fait valoir que dans une décision de la Cour d'appel fédérale [CAF] (Bell Mobilité c. Klass, 2015 CAF 79 [Bell Mobilité]), la CAF a rejeté les arguments de Bell Mobilité selon lesquels les dépenses engagées pour se conformer aux décisions réglementaires dont elle faisait appel représentent un préjudice irréparable. Le CORC a affirmé que la situation examinée dans cette affaire est la même que celle en cause, et que le Conseil devrait donc respecter le précédent qui y a été établi et rejeter les allégations de Bell Canada voulant qu'elle subirait un préjudice irréparable si on ne lui accordait pas la suspension demandée.

Vaxination a fait valoir que les instances réglementaires font partie des activités quotidiennes de Bell Canada et s’interroge quant au préjudice qui pourrait découler de l'exécution, par les services réglementaires de Bell Canada, de leurs tâches habituelles.

Bell Canada a répondu que la CSC a déclaré précisément que le terme irréparable « a trait à la nature du préjudice subi plutôt qu'à son étendue ». Bell Canada a fait valoir que le préjudice qui lui serait causé satisfait à la définition d'un des types de préjudices irréparables examinés par la CSC dans RJR-MacDonald, puisqu'on ne pourrait y remédier et qu'elle ne pourrait pas obtenir un dédommagement.

En réponse aux observations du CORC, Bell Canada a fait valoir que le Conseil ne devrait pas tenir compte de Bell Mobilité à titre de précédent afin d'évaluer la demande de suspension, puisque cette instance pourrait ne pas être fondée en droit puisqu'on n'a pas respecté les principes juridiques bien établis définis par la CSC. Le Conseil devrait plutôt continuer de se fonder sur les principes prépondérants définis dans RJR-MacDonald.

Prépondérance des inconvénients

Bell Canada a fait valoir que si la demande de révision et modification est approuvée, mais que la demande de suspension est refusée, elle devrait consacrer beaucoup de temps et de ressources à la création d'une forme inutile d'interconnexion. Par contraste, si le Conseil accordait la suspension et refusait ensuite la demande, le léger report de la date de mise en place des points de branchement ne causerait aucun préjudice aux fournisseurs de services Internet (FSI) et aux consommateurs puisque ceux-ci ont accès à de nombreuses autres options d'interconnexion populaires à des tarifs équitables et raisonnables. Ainsi, en ce qui concerne les questions visées par la demande, la prépondérance des inconvénients, compte tenu de l'intérêt public, penche en faveur de la suspension.

Le CDIP a fait valoir que la présence d'autres options d'interconnexion ne devrait pas faire pencher la prépondérance des inconvénients en faveur de Bell Canada. Tandis que Bell Canada souhaite éviter l'investissement dans un modèle de déploiement associé à l'obligation qu'elle vise à éliminer au moyen de la demande de révision et modification, les FSI souhaiteront éviter la recherche de nouvelles options d'interconnexion puisque, à première vue, celle qu'impose la décision de télécom 2016-379 doit leur être offerte. Ainsi, la prépondérance des inconvénients penche en faveur du statu quo, et il est dans l'intérêt public d'exiger que Bell Canada se conforme à la politique réglementaire du Conseil ainsi qu'à la décision de suivi jusqu'à ce que Bell Canada convainque le Conseil de modifier sa décision. Autrement, l'effet de la suspension demandée par Bell Canada retardera la mise en œuvre d'un processus déjà très long.

Le CORC a fait valoir que lorsqu'un décideur prend une décision dans l'intérêt public, les tribunaux devraient généralement supposer que la suspension de cette décision causerait un préjudice au publicNote de bas de page1. Le CORC a fait valoir que le Conseil comptait favoriser l'intérêt public lorsqu'il a rendu la décision de télécom 2016-379 et qu'il surviendrait un préjudice irréparable si on en limitait l'application.

Vaxination a fait valoir que l'intérêt public ne serait pas servi si on retardait davantage la mise en œuvre de l'accès au service de fibre optique jusqu'au domicile. La suspension aurait essentiellement pour effet d'accorder à Bell Canada une prolongation de sept à huit mois pour la mise en œuvre.

Bell Canada a fait valoir que la suspension n'aurait pas pour effet de retarder la mise en œuvre de la décision de télécom 2016-379 si la demande de révision et modification est rejetée.

Bell Canada a fait valoir qu'elle est d'accord avec le principe souligné par le CORC selon lequel on peut présumer que les décisions d'une autorité publique chargée de favoriser l'intérêt public sont prises dans l'intérêt public, mais qu'il ne convient pas de se fonder sur cette présomption dans l'affaire en cause. À la lumière des erreurs commises dans la décision de télécom 2016-379 et décrites dans la demande de révision et modification, Bell Canada a fait valoir qu'elle ne croit pas que les conclusions qu'elle souhaite faire suspendre favorisent l'intérêt public. Qui plus est, comme il est expliqué dans la demande de révision et modification, la décision de télécom 2016-379 ne favorise pas la réalisation des objectifs établis dans les Instructions et n'est donc pas dans l'intérêt public.

Résultats de l'analyse

Afin d'obtenir une suspension, un requérant doit satisfaire aux trois volets du critère RJR-MacDonald. Après avoir examiné les arguments avancés par toutes les parties, le Conseil est d'avis que Bell Canada ne satisfait pas à ces volets et il rejette donc la demande de suspension.

Le Conseil est disposé à conclure que Bell Canada satisfait au premier volet du critère, étant donné que le seuil pour conclure à l’existence d’une question sérieuse à trancher est très peu élevé.

En ce qui concerne le deuxième volet, le Conseil n'est pas d'avis que Bell Canada subirait un préjudice irréparable si la suspension n'était pas accordée. Toutes les dépenses qu'engage Bell Canada pour finaliser et déposer ses tarifs proposés et l'étude de coûts connexe représentent des dépenses normales liées aux activités commerciales compte tenu du fait que l'entreprise est une entité réglementée.

Pour ce qui est du troisième volet du critère, le Conseil conclut que la prépondérance des inconvénients penche clairement en faveur du rejet de la demande de suspension. Jusqu'à ce que le Conseil ait examiné les arguments de fond que présente Bell Canada dans la demande afin de justifier la révision ou la modification de la décision, il faut présumer que l'intérêt public est servi par la mise en œuvre opportune de ses décisions. Qui plus est, dans la mesure où le demandeur fait valoir que le Conseil a mal compris le coût de la mise en place du service de point de branchement, la réalisation des études de coûts et le dépôt des tarifs proposés pour ce service serviraient l'intérêt public puisqu'ils faciliteraient l'examen de la demande de révision et modification. Enfin, Bell Canada n'a pas établi le montant des dépenses à engager.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Conseil rejette la demande par Bell Canada visant la suspension de l'exigence pour l'entreprise de mettre en place le service de point de branchement et de déposer des tarifs proposés et une étude de coûts basée sur la Phase II conformément à la décision de télécom 2016-379 telle qu'elle a été modifiée par la lettre du Conseil datée du 1er novembre 2016. Les pages tarifaires proposées et les études de coûts connexes basées sur la Phase II doivent être déposées au plus tard le 31 janvier 2017.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs,

La secrétaire générale,

Original signé par Véronique Lehoux pour

Danielle May-Cuconato

Date de modification :