Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to distribution list

Ottawa, 8 September 2016

Our reference: 8663-M4-201601881

By Email

Distribution List

Subject:  Plan to implement local competition (Sogetel Inc.) in the Nantes constituency - Abridged – 08 Sept 2016

Dear Madam and Sirs:

On June 30, 2016, the Commission received Sogetel Inc. (Sogetel)’s plan to implement local competition in response to the application filed by CoopTel, on behalf of Câble Axion Digitel Inc. (Axion), to provide local services as a competitive local service in the Nantes constituency.

The Commission requires additional information in order to complete its evaluation of Sogetel’s plan to implement local competition in the Nantes constituency.

Sogetel must submit its responses to the Commission’s request for information attached to this letter, no later than September 19, 2016, and copy the parties on the distribution list.

Any other party may file observations regarding Sogetel’s responses to the attached request for information no later than September 27, 2016, and copy Sogetel on their responses. Sogetel will have until October 4, 2016, to submit its final reply.

In accordance with Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, any party may designate certain information as confidential. The firm must then submit an abridged version of the document in question, along with a note that explains how the deleted information is confidential.

All documents must be submitted in accordance with the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (SOR/2010-277).

If you have any questions about this letter, please contact Imen Arfaoui at 819-997-4663 or by email at imen.arfaoui@crtc.gc.ca.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

Attachment (1)

Distribution List

Roger Choquette, consultant and authorized representative, choquette@comgate.com
Isis Thiago de Souza, Sogetel, isis.tdesouza@sogetel.com
Sylvain Bellerive, Sogetel, sylvain.bellerive@sogetel.com
Pierre Allard, CoopTel, pallard@cooptel.coop
Jean-Vincent Dorais, Câble-Axion, jeanvincent.dorais@derytelecom.ca
Marc Pilon, CRTC, marc.pilon@crtc.gc.ca
Imen Arfaoui, CRTC, imen.arfaoui@crtc.gc.ca

Request for information – Sogetel plan for implementing local competition for CoopTel, on behalf of Axion

Questions for Sogetel

  1. In its letter dated April 29, 2016, Sogetel stated that its DCO-brand switch at Nantes is at the end of its service life and that no software development is possible on this platform. Consequently, number portability cannot be handled by this equipment. Sogetel therefore proposes to replace its DCO with a media gateway and install a new fibre network between Nantes and Beauceville.
    1. Staff notes that, as of May 25, 2016, a change to Sogetel’s access rate in section 2.9, entitled “interconnection of local networks” came into force and indicates that a new Local Interconnection Region (LIR) and a new Point of Interconnection (POI) were put in place in Nantes.
      1. Please confirm the existence of an LIR and a POI in Nantes.
    2. If there is currently no LIR or POI in Nantes, and if Sogetel chooses to install a POI in Nantes rather than the solution proposed in its plan to implement local competition, please provide the costs of installing a new switch in Nantes, including labour and capital, as well as annual maintenance costs.
  2. In its letter dated April 29, 2016, Sogetel stated that the Positron AEX-200 optical equipment that provides transport between Nantes and Lac-Etchemin is at the end of its service life and no more software development is possible on this platform. Sogetel also stated that the spare capacity is reserved for Sogetel’s future needs. Sogetel therefore proposed to construct a new 200 km redundant optical transport network between Nantes and Beauceville, because it states that it will not use the spare capacity between these two sites. Sogetel also stated that the optical network between Beauceville and Lac-Etchemin has spare fibre.  
    1. Explain how the existing fibre capacity network cannot transport ## additional subscribers.
    2. Indicate what spare capacity Sogetel is reserving for its future needs and for what services. In addition, specify the timeline for Sogetel to use this spare capacity.
    3. Please provide the cost, including capital and labour, of replacing the Positron AEX-200 optical data transmission equipment that is at the end of its service life, so that the transport of ## subscribers can be handled by the existing fibre network.
    4. Indicate all other services that use the existing capacity of the optical network between Nantes and Lac-Etchemin, including the Positron optical data transmission equipment, and the fibre optic connection. In addition, please provide:
      1. The number of clients that use these services; and
      2. The total capacity of the Positron optical data transmission equipment and the capacity of the existing fibre optic cable between Nantes and Lac-Etchemin.
    5. Please provide a detailed capital expenditure breakdown for constructing a new optical transport network between Nantes and Beauceville including cost of equipment, labour and others.
    6. Describe the existing optical network between Beauceville and Lac-Etchemin, including the type of equipment, brand and capacity (electronic and fibre equipment).
  3. In reference to Diagram 2, submitted on April 29, 2016, and paragraph 2 of the implementation plan, submitted on June 30, 2016, the company proposes to replace its Genband DCO switch with a Metaswitch media gateway (UMG).
    1. Explain why the Nantes diagram shows a DCO and a UMG, while the implementation plan proposes to replace the DCO with a UMG.
    2. If the DCO is still indispensable, will it still be used for existing Sogetel clients? le
    3. Will the use of the UMG be shared between Sogetel clients and CoopTel clients? If so, in what proportion?
  4. In reference to paragraph 17 of the implementation plan, please provide a detailed breakdown of expenditures related to replacing the shared-cost circuits at Lac Etchemin toward the CoopTel point of presence.
  5. In reference to the cost schedule attached to the implementation plan, the tab “Implementation costs,” cell 20, please provide a description and detailed cost breakdown of parts and installation (P.I.) expenses.
  6. In its implementation plan dated June 30, 2016, Sogetel stated in paragraph 5 that the company’s standardized transmission technology had a minimum of an OC-3 for such an interconnection. CoopTel, in its reply dated July 13, 2016, stated that it could rent capacity on an existing OC-3 between Vidéotron and Sogetel for local competition, because this link is greatly underused. CoopTel also stated that it had broached this subject with Vidéotron and had even received a service proposal dated June 20, 2016. CoopTel also stated that it had asked Sogetel three times to consider allowing it to use the existing link, and this was refused each time on the pretext that the OC-3 is the minimum required.
    1. Explain, from a technical and regulatory standpoint, why CoopTel cannot use Vidéotron’s existing OC-3, considering especially that it serves a maximum of ## subscribers in Nantes.
    2. If CoopTel must use a new dedicated OC-3, what is the expected percentage of use for this interconnection?
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 8 septembre 2016

Notre référence : 8663-M4-201601881

PAR COURRIEL

À : Liste de distribution

Objet : Plan de mise en œuvre de la concurrence locale de Sogetel Inc. Dans la circonscription de Nantes - Abrégé

Madame, Messieurs,

Le 30 juin 2016, le Conseil a reçu le plan de mise en œuvre de la concurrence locale de Sogetel Inc. (Sogetel) en réponse à la demande présentée par CoopTel, au nom de Câble Axion Digitel Inc. (Axion), en vue de fournir des services locaux en tant qu’entreprise de service local concurrente dans la circonscription de Nantes.

Le Conseil a besoin d’informations supplémentaires afin de compléter son évaluation du plan de mise en œuvre de la concurrence locale de Sogetel dans la circonscription de Nantes.

Sogetel doit déposer ses réponses à la demande de renseignements du Conseil annexée à la présente lettre, au plus tard le 19 septembre 2016, et copier les parties figurant dans la liste de distribution.

Toute autre partie peut déposer des observations concernant les réponses de Sogetel à la demande de renseignements en annexe au plus tard le 27 septembre 2016 et copier Sogetel sur celles-ci. Sogetel peut déposer sa réplique finale au plus tard le 4 octobre 2016.

Conformément au Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, toute partie peut désigner certains renseignements comme étant confidentiels. L’entreprise doit alors fournir une version abrégée du document concerné, accompagnée d’une note qui explique en quoi le renseignement qui a été éliminé est confidentiel.

Tous les documents doivent être présentés conformément aux Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, DORS/2010-277.

Pour toute question au sujet de cette lettre, veuillez contacter Imen Arfaoui au 819-997-4663 ou à imen.arfaoui@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

L’original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

Annexe (1)

Liste de distribution

Roger Choquette, consultant et représentant autorisé, choquette@comgate.com
Isis Thiago de Souza, Sogetel, isis.tdesouza@sogetel.com
ylvain Bellerive, Sogetel, sylvain.bellerive@sogetel.com
Pierre Allard, CoopTel, pallard@cooptel.coop
Jean-Vincent Dorais, Câble-Axion, jeanvincent.dorais@derytelecom.ca
Marc Pilon, CRTC, marc.pilon@crtc.gc.ca
Imen Arfaoui, CRTC, imen.arfaoui @crtc.gc.ca

Demande de renseignements – Plan de mise en œuvre de la concurrence locale de
Sogetel pour Cooptel, au nom d’Axion

Questions pour Sogetel

  1. Dans sa lettre en date du 29 avril 2016, Sogetel soumet que son commutateur de la marque DCO à Nantes est en fin de vie et qu’aucun développement logiciel n’est possible sur cette plateforme. Par conséquent, la portabilité des numéros ne peut pas être prise en charge par cet équipement. Sogetel propose donc de remplacer son DCO par un « Media Gateway » et d’installer un nouveau réseau de fibre entre Nantes et Beauceville.
    1. Le personnel note qu’en date du 25 mai 2016, une modification au tarif d’accès de Sogetel à la section 2.9 intitulée « interconnexion de réseaux locaux » est entrée en vigueur et indique qu’une nouvelle Région d’Interconnexion Locale (RIL) et un nouveau Point d’Interconnexion (PI) ont été implémentés à Nantes :
      1. Veuillez confirmer l’existence d’une RIL et d’un PI à Nantes,
    2. Si présentement il n’y a ni RIL ni PI à Nantes, et si Sogetel choisit d’implanter un PI à Nantes plutôt que la solution proposée dans son plan de mise en œuvre de la concurrence locale, veuillez alors fournir les coûts d’établissement d’un nouveau commutateur à Nantes incluant main d’œuvre et capital, ainsi que les coûts annuels de maintenance.
  2. Dans sa lettre en date du 29 avril 2016, Sogetel soumet que l’équipement optique de la marque Positron modèle AEX-200 qui assure le transport entre Nantes et Lac-Etchemin est en fin de vie et qu’il n’y a plus de possibilité de développement logiciel sur cette plateforme. Sogetel affirme aussi que la capacité excédentaire est réservée pour les besoins futurs de Sogetel. Sogetel propose donc de construire un nouveau réseau de transport optique redondant de 200 km entre Nantes et Beauceville car elle affirme ne pas disposer de capacité excédentaire entre ces deux sites. Sogetel affirme aussi que le réseau optique entre Beauceville et Lac-Etchemin possède de la fibre excédentaire.
    1. Expliquez comment le réseau de capacité de fibre existant ne peut pas assurer le transport de ## abonnés supplémentaires.
    2. Indiquez qu’elle est la capacité excédentaire que Sogetel réserve pour ses besoins futurs et pour quels services. De plus, précisez l’échéancier concernant l’utilisation de cette capacité excédentaire par Sogetel.
    3. Veuillez fournir le coût, incluant capital et main d’œuvre, pour remplacer l’équipement optique de transmission de données de la marque Positron modèle AEX-200 qui est en fin de vie, afin que le transport des ## abonnés puissent être pris en charge par le réseau de fibre existant.
    4. Indiquez tous les autres services qui utilisent la capacité existante du réseau optique entre Nantes et Lac-Etchemin, incluant l’équipement optique de transmission de données de marque Positron, et le lien de fibre optique. Veuillez aussi fournir:
      1. Le nombre de clients qui utilisent ces services.
      2. La capacité totale de l’équipement optique de transmission de données de marque Positron et la capacité de la fibre optique existante reliant Nantes à Lac-Etchemin.
    5. Veuillez fournir une ventilation détaillée des dépenses en capital pour construire un nouveau réseau de transport optique entre Nantes et Beauceville incluant le coût du matériel, main d’œuvre et autres.
    6. Décrivez le réseau optique existant entre Beauceville et Lac-Etchemin, incluant le type d’équipement, la marque et capacité (équipement électronique et fibre).
  3. En référence au diagramme no. 2 soumis le 29 avril 2016, et le paragraphe 2 du plan de mise en œuvre,  soumis le 30 juin 2016, la compagnie propose de remplacer son commutateur de la marque DCO de Genband par un « Media Gateway » de marque Metaswitch (UMG) :
    1. Expliquez pourquoi le diagramme de Nantes indique un DCO et un UMG tandis que le plan de mise en œuvre propose un remplacement du DCO par un UMG.
    2. Si le DCO est toujours indispensable, est-ce qu’il sera toujours utilisé pour les clients existant de Sogetel?
    3. Est-ce que l’utilisation de l’UMG va être partagée entre les clients de Sogetel et ceux de CoopTel? Si oui, dans quelle proportion?
  4. En référence au paragraphe 17 du plan de mise en œuvre, veuillez fournir une ventilation détaillée des dépenses liées au remplacement des circuits à frais partagés à Lac Etchemin en direction du Point De Présence (PDP) de CoopTel.
  5. En référence à l’annexe des coûts joint au plan de mise en œuvre, l’onglet « Coûts de mise en œuvre », cellule d20, veuillez fournir une description et une ventilation détaillées des dépenses Matériel et Installation (P.I).
  6. Dans son plan de mise en œuvre daté du 30 juin 2016, Sogetel indique au paragraphe 5 que la technologie de transmission standardisée de la compagnie a un minimum d’un OC-3 pour une telle interconnexion. CoopTel dans sa réplique du 13 juillet 2016, indique qu’elle pourrait louer de la capacité sur un OC-3 existant entre Vidéotron et Sogetel pour la concurrence locale car ce lien est grandement sous-utilisé. D’ailleurs CoopTel a précisé qu’elle a approché Vidéotron à cet égard et qu’elle a même reçu une proposition de service en date du 20 juin 2016. CoopTel soumet aussi qu’elle a demandé à trois reprises à Sogetel de considérer lui permettre d’utiliser ce lien existant, ce qui a été refusé à chaque fois sous prétexte que le OC-3 est le minimum requis.
    1. Expliquez pourquoi, d’un  point de vue technique et réglementaire, CoopTel ne pourrait pas utiliser l’OC-3 existant de Vidéotron, considérant surtout qu’il s’agit de desservir au plus ## abonnés à Nantes.
    2. Si CoopTel doit utiliser un nouveau OC-3 dédié, quelle est l’utilisation en pourcentage prévue de cette interconnexion?
Date de modification :