Broadcasting Procedural letter adressed to Mr. Prakash D. Naidoo (Asian Television Network International Limited)

Ottawa, 22 December 2016

By email

Our file number: 2016-1254-9

Mr. Prakash D. Naidoo
Vice President & General Manager
Asian Television Network International Limited
prakash@asiantelevision.com

Re: Application by Asian Television Network International Limited – request for additional information with regard to Part 1 process

Dear Mr. Naidoo,

This is regarding a request by Asian Television Network International Limited (ATN) to add ATN NDTV 24X7 to the List of non-Canadian programming services and stations authorized for distribution (the List).

In order to continue processing this application in a timely fashion, please submit the following:

  1. We note that ATN currently has a licence for the specialty Category B service ATN NDTV 24x7 (formerly South Asian English News Channel 2), which has been administratively renewed in Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2016-463. Please explain the rationale for requesting to add this service to the List and explain whether ATN plans on revoking its broadcasting licence for ATN NDTV 24x7.
  2. Considering that, as mentioned in the application, there are currently over 20,000 subscribers to the licensed, specialty Category B service, please explain the impact on these subscribers, should the application be approved.
  3. We note that, in the documents submitted as part of the application, various names are used to designate the service: “ATN NDTV 24X7”, “ATN-NDTV 24x7”, “NDTV 24 X 7” and “NDTV 24x7”. Confirm the name by which the service should be designated, should it be added to the List.

A copy of this letter and your answers to the questions above will be added to the record of this proceeding and made available for public examination.

The information requested herein should be received at the Commission by no later than 6 January 2017.

We also ask that you repeat each question in your reply.

The Commission requires that your response and/or other documents be submitted electronically by using the secured service “My CRTC Account” (Partner Log In or GCKey) and filling in the “Broadcasting Cover page” or the “Broadcasting Online Form and Cover Page” located on this web page. Also on this web page you will find information on the submission of applications to the Commission “Submitting applications and other documents to the CRTC using My CRTC Account.”

Should you need further information concerning the above, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Yours truly,

Pierre-Louis Prégent

Senior Policy Analyst
Distribution Regulatory Policy, Broadcasting
(819) 639-8102
pierre-louis.pregent@crtc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à M. Prakash D. Naidoo (Asian Television Network International Limited)

Ottawa, le 22 décembre 2016

Par courriel

Notre dossier: 2016-1254-9

M. Prakash D. Naidoo
Vice-président et directeur général
Asian Television Network International Limited
prakash@asiantelevision.com

Re: Demande de Asian Television Network International Limited – demande d’informations supplémentaires concernant le processus de la Partie 1

Monsieur Naidoo,

La présente concerne une demande de Asian Television Network International Limited (ATN), à titre de parrain canadien du service, en vue d’ajouter le service ATN NDTV 24X7 à la Liste de services de programmation et de stations non canadiens approuvés pour distribution (la Liste).

Afin de poursuivre le traitement de cette demande dans les meilleurs délais, veuillez fournir les renseignements suivants :

  1. Nous notons qu’ATN détient présentement une licence pour le service spécialisé de catégorie B ATN NDTV 24x7 (anciennement South Asian English News Channel 2) qui a été renouvelée administrativement dans la Décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2016-463. Veuillez justifier pourquoi ATN demande l’ajout de ce service à la Liste et expliquer si ATN planifie de révoquer la licence qu’elle détient pour ATN NDTV 24x7.
  2. En considérant que, tel que mentionné dans la demande, il y a présentement plus de 20 000 abonnés au service spécialisé de catégorie B pour lequel ATN est titulaire d’une licence, veuillez expliquer quel serait l’impact sur ces abonnés si cette demande était approuvée.
  3. Nous notons que, dans les documents déposés dans le cadre de la demande, le service est désigné par une variété de noms : « ATN NDTV 24X7 », « ATN-NDTV 24x7 », « NDTV 24 X 7 » et « NDTV 24x7 ». Veuillez confirmer le nom qui devrait désigner le service si celui-ci est ajouté à la Liste.

Une copie de la présente et de toute correspondance connexe sera versée au dossier public de la demande.

Veuillez noter que l’information demandée doit être soumise au Conseil au plus tard le 6 janvier 2017.

Nous vous demandons également de répéter chaque question dans votre réponse.

Vous devez soumettre votre réponse et/ou les autres documents en ligne au moyen du système sécurisé « Mon compte CRTC » (Clé GC ou partenaires de connexion) et remplir la « page couverture de radiodiffusion » ou la « page couverture et formulaire en ligne en radiodiffusion » dont vous trouverez le lien sur la page Web. Vous trouverez également des renseignements sur la façon de soumettre des demandes au Conseil à la page Web intitulée « Soumettre des demandes et autres documents auprès du CRTC en utilisant Mon compte CRTC ».

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet de la présente lettre procédurale, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec moi.

Cordialement,

 Pierre-Louis Prégent

Analyste principal des politiques
Politique de réglementation en matière de distribution, Radiodiffusion
(819) 639-8102

pierre-louis.pregent@crtc.gc.ca

Date de modification :