Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2016-39

PDF version

Reference: Part 1 application posted on 22 July 2015

Ottawa, 4 February 2016

Country Music Television Ltd.
Across Canada

Application 2015-0744-3

Country Music Television – Licence amendments

The Commission approves an application to delete certain nature of service conditions of licence for the national, English-language specialty Category A service Country Music Television (CMT).

The Commission also approves the request to delete CMT’s condition of licence relating to the exhibition of Canadian programming and to amend its condition of licence relating to the broadcast of Canadian music videos.

The Commission denies the request to delete CMT’s condition of licence relating to allocating a portion of the service’s revenues to the development and production of Canadian country music videos. However, the Commission has amended that condition of licence to remove the reference to “country music.”

Background

  1. In Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2015-86, the Commission stated that it would eliminate its genre exclusivity policy, which limited programming services to offering certain types of programming (that is, a “nature of service”) and precluded other services from offering that programming. Consequently, it no longer enforces conditions of licence relating to nature of service, with certain exceptions, such as the condition of licence relating to the broadcast of live professional sports programming by services other than mainstream sports services.
  2. It further stated that licensees must provide the Commission with a name and a brief description of the service, to be listed on the Commission’s website, and update this information any time it changes. This will allow both Canadians and the Commission to continue having basic information about the discretionary services in operation.

Application

  1. Corus Entertainment Inc. (Corus), on behalf of Country Music Television Ltd., filed an application relating to the national, English-language specialty Category A service Country Music Television (CMT). Corus requested the deletion of the following nature of service conditions of licence:Footnote 1

    2. (a) The licensee shall provide a national English-language specialty Category A service with programming focused on country and country-oriented music.
        (d) No less than 50% of all programming broadcast by the licensee shall be drawn from category 8(b) Music video clips.
        (e) No more than 15% of the programming broadcast during any broadcast week shall be drawn from category 7 Drama and comedy.
        (f) No feature films shall be broadcast except those in which:

            (i) a country music artist is the key subject of the film or
            (ii) a country music artist is cast in a key performing role.

  2. Condition of licence 2.(b), which allows the licensee to draw programming from all program categories for broadcast on the service, and condition of licence 2.(c), which limits the broadcast of programming drawn from program category 6(a) Professional Sports to 10% of the broadcast month, would be retained.
  3. Corus also requested changes in regard to the following conditions of licence relating to the broadcast of Canadian programs and music videos:

    3. (a) With the exception of programs drawn from categories 8(b) Music video clips and 8(c) Music video programs, in each broadcast year the licensee shall devote no less than 60% of the broadcast day and no less than 50% of the evening broadcast period to the exhibition of Canadian programs.
        (b) No less than 40% of all music videos (category 8(b)) broadcast by the licensee during the broadcast year shall be Canadian music videos, whether aired as part of videoflow or packaged in other types of programming.

  4. Specifically, it requested that condition of licence 3.(b) be deleted, and that condition of licence 3.(a) be amended to remove the exceptions for program categories 8(b) and 8(c). Accordingly, that condition of licence would read as follows:

    In each broadcast year the licensee shall devote no less than 60% of the broadcast day and no less than 50% of the evening broadcast period to the exhibition of Canadian programs.

  5. Finally, the applicant requested the deletion of the following condition of licence:

    12. In each broadcast year, the licensee shall allocate no less than 11% of the previous year’s gross revenue to the development and production of Canadian country music videos.

  6. Corus stated that the above requests are consistent with the Commission’s decisions stemming from its elimination of the genre exclusivity policy.
  7. Pursuant to Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2015-86, Corus provided the following description for CMT:

    The licensee shall provide a national English-language discretionary service offering comedy, movies, real-life reality series and one of a kind music programming.

Interventions and reply

  1. The Commission received an intervention in opposition to this application from the Canadian Independent Music Association, on behalf of itself and other organizations representing the Canadian music industryFootnote 2 (CIMA et al.). It also received an intervention from the Association québécoise de l’industrie du disque, du spectacle et de la vidéo in support of CIMA et al.’s intervention. Corus replied collectively to the interventions. The public record for this application can be found on the Commission’s website at www.crtc.gc.ca or by using the application number provided above.
  2. CIMA et al. requested that CMT’s nature of service conditions of licence be retained until the end of the service’s current licence term. They argued that this would provide stakeholders with time to comment on how the service’s current licence structure should be met pursuant to Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2015-86 and on how the licensee may continue to honour its commitments to the country music industry during CMT’s current and next licence terms.
  3. The interveners submitted that the deletion of any references to “country or country-oriented” music and of all requirements to play music video clips and country?related programming would constitute core changes to CMT’s nature of service. They argued that country music made by Canadian music creators, artists and music companies would no longer have a designated home on Canadian airwaves, and questioned whether CMT would end up broadcasting any country music at all.
  4. CIMA et al. further submitted that deleting requirements relating to the exhibition of Canadian programs, and Canadian music videos in particular, would result in a net loss of original, Canadian country music video and music video?related programming as well as a significant loss of marketing and promotion opportunities for Canadian artists. They highlighted Corus’s involvement in various programming, sponsorship, promotional and concert tour initiatives in the country music sector, as well as its Video Advantage Program (VAP) fund, which it noted has been in operation since 2000 and has the mandate of helping to contribute to the growth of the Canadian country music industry and provide opportunities to showcase their talents.
  5. In its reply to the interveners, Corus stated that all players in the broadcasting industry need to quickly adapt to changes in that industry and in the media landscape. In regard to the nature of service conditions of licence in particular, it noted that Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2015-86 did not set out specific exceptions for any type of music, including country music. Corus submitted that the requested amendments would not lead to changes in the level of Canadian content broadcast on the service or in the service’s overall expenditures on Canadian programming. In the applicant’s view, its request is consistent with the intent of Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2015-86, which is to grant greater flexibility to broadcasters to create and acquire programming that they consider will best suit their audiences. It considered that delaying the requested amendments until CMT’s next licence term would run counter to that policy.
  6. Corus submitted that CMT’s overall Canadian programming expenditures (CPE) would not change as a result of the deletion of condition of licence 12. The applicant stated that it continues to be a very strong supporter of Canadian country music artists, and that music videos continue to populate the service’s daytime schedule. It noted that it has no plans to change the focus of CMT at this time, but needs to re-focus its CPE spending. Specifically, Corus plans to transition the VAP fund into more long-form music programming, which would be much more sustainable for its business and would benefit Canadian musical artists. The applicant nevertheless noted that, at any time, CMT could stop offering country music and country music videos on its service in light of Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2015-86. As such, requiring it to continue to fund content that would no longer be offered on the service would run counter to that policy and would severely limit CMT’s ability to create and acquire programming that best suits its audiences.

Commission’s analysis and decisions

  1. The requested deletion of CMT’s conditions of licence 2.(a) and 2.(d) through 2.(f), the retention of condition of licence 2.(b), and the requested amendment to condition of licence 3.(a) (given that this condition currently relates to the program categories from which programming may be drawn for broadcast on the service) are consistent with Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2015-86. The Commission notes that being relieved of the requirement set out in condition of licence 2.(d) to devote at least 50% of CMT’s programming to music video clips will result in a significant increase in programming flexibility for the service. In regard to the proposed amendment to condition of licence 2.(c), as set out in the above-noted policy, the 10% limit applies to “live” professional sports. The Commission has amended that condition of licence accordingly.
  2. CMT’s exhibition requirements set out in condition of licence 3.(b) relate to the development and production of Canadian country music videos, and are tied to the nature of service conditions of licence of which the Commission has approved the deletion. Accordingly, the Commission considers it appropriate to grant the request to delete condition of licence 3.(b).
  3. In regard to expenditure requirements, continuing to require that a portion of CMT’s expenditures on Canadian programming be tied to the creation of content, including promotional content, for the music industry is in line with the transitional approach of Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2015-86. Accordingly, it finds that requiring Corus to allocate 11% of the previous year’s gross revenues of the service to the development and production of Canadian music videos is reasonable. However, requiring continued funding for the production of content that it may no longer offer on CMT (i.e., country music) would be overly restrictive. Consequently, the Commission has deleted the reference to “country music” from condition of licence 12.
  4. Although Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2015-86, through the elimination of genre exclusivity, has introduced significant regulatory flexibility, other key changes, including those relating to the broadcast of Canadian programming and to CPE requirements, will be addressed at the time of licence renewal.
  5. In light of all of the above, the Commission approves the request by Corus Entertainment Inc., on behalf of Country Music Television Ltd., to amend the broadcasting licence for CMT by deleting the nature of service conditions of licence 2.(a), and 2.(d) through 2.(f). The service’s condition of licence limiting the broadcast of live professional sports programming shall read as follows:

    The licensee shall devote not more than 10% of the programming broadcast during the broadcast month to live professional sports programming, which falls under program category 6(a) Professional sports.

  6. Further, the Commission approves the request to delete CMT’s condition of licence 3.(b) relating to the exhibition of Canadian programming and to amend the service’s condition of licence 3.(a) relating to the broadcast of Canadian music videos. The amended condition of licence shall now read as follows:

    In each broadcast year the licensee shall devote no less than 60% of the broadcast day and no less than 50% of the evening broadcast period to the exhibition of Canadian programs.

  7. Finally, the Commission denies Corus’s request to delete condition of licence 12 relating to allocating revenues to the development and production of Canadian country music videos. Instead, the Commission has amended that condition of licence to read as follows:

    In each broadcast year, the licensee shall allocate no less than 11% of the previous year’s gross revenue to the development and production of Canadian music videos.

Secretary General

Related documents

  • Let’s Talk TV: The way forward – Creating compelling and diverse Canadian programming, Broadcasting Regulatory Policy CRTC 2015-86, 12 March 2015
  • Corus Entertainment Inc. – Group-based licence renewals, Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2011-446, 27 July 2011

*This decision is to be appended to the licence.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

CMT’s current conditions of licence are set out in Appendix 3 to Broadcasting Decision 2011-446.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

The Canadian Council of Music Industry Associations, Music Managers Forum Canada, the Canadian Music Publishers Association, the Canadian Musical Reproduction Rights Agency Ltd., the Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada, and the Canadian Country Music Association

Return to footnote 2

Décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2016-39

Version PDF

Référence : Demande de la Partie 1 affichée le 22 juillet 2015

Ottawa, le 4 février 2016

Country Music Television Ltd.
L’ensemble du Canada

Demande 2015-0744-3

Country Music Television – Modifications de licence

Le Conseil approuve une demande en vue de supprimer certaines conditions de licence sur la nature de service de Country Music Television (CMT), un service national de catégorie A spécialisé de langue anglaise.

Le Conseil approuve également la requête en vue de supprimer la condition de licence de CMT relative à la présentation d’émissions canadiennes et de modifier la condition de licence relative à la diffusion de vidéoclips de musique canadienne.

Le Conseil refuse la requête en vue de supprimer la condition de licence de CMT relative à l’attribution d’une partie des revenus du service au développement et à la production de vidéos de musique country canadienne. Cependant, le Conseil modifie cette condition de licence de façon à y supprimer la référence à la « musique country ».

Historique

  1. Dans la politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2015-86, le Conseil a indiqué qu’il éliminerait sa politique sur l’exclusivité des genres, laquelle limitait à certains types de programmation ce que les services de programmation étaient autorisés à diffuser (c.-à-d. la nature de service), et interdisait à d’autres services d’offrir cette programmation. Par conséquent, le Conseil n’applique plus les conditions de licence sur la nature de service, sauf certaines exceptions, comme la condition de licence relative à la diffusion de programmation de sport professionnel en direct par des services autres que les services de sport d’intérêt général.
  2. De plus, il a indiqué que les titulaires doivent fournir au Conseil le nom et une brève description du service, lesquels seront affichés sur le site web du Conseil, et mettre à jour ces renseignements en cas de changements. Les Canadiens et le Conseil pourront ainsi continuer d’avoir des renseignements de base sur les services facultatifs en exploitation.

Demande

  1. Corus Entertainment Inc. (Corus), au nom de Country Music Television Ltd., a déposé une demande relative au service national de catégorie A spécialisé de langue anglaise Country Music Television (CMT). Corus demande la suppression des conditions de licence suivantes relatives à la nature du serviceRetour la rfrence de la note de bas de page 1 :

    2. a) Le titulaire doit fournir un service national de catégorie A spécialisé de langue anglaise dont la programmation est axée sur la musique country et le genre country.
        d) Au moins 50 % de la programmation diffusée par le titulaire doit provenir de la catégorie 8b) Vidéoclips.
        e) Un maximum de 15 % de la programmation diffusée durant la semaine de radiodiffusion doit provenir de la catégorie 7 Émissions dramatiques et comiques.
        f) Aucun long métrage ne peut être diffusé, sauf ceux dans lesquels :
             i) un artiste de musique country est le protagoniste du film ou
             ii) un artiste de musique country joue un des rôles principaux.

  2. La condition de licence 2.b) qui permet au titulaire de tirer la programmation de toutes les catégories d’émissions pour diffusion sur le service, et la condition de licence 2.c), qui limite à 10 % la quantité d’émissions de sport professionnel pouvant être diffusée au cours du mois de radiodiffusion, demeureraient en vigueur.
  3. Corus veut également apporter des modifications aux conditions de licence suivantes relatives à la diffusion d’émissions et de vidéoclips canadiens :

    3. a) À l’exception des émissions tirées des catégories 8b) Vidéoclips et 8c) Émissions de musique vidéo, le titulaire doit consacrer, au cours de chaque année de radiodiffusion, au moins 60 % de la journée de radiodiffusion et au moins 50 % de la période de diffusion en soirée à la présentation d’émissions canadiennes.
        b) Au moins 40 % des vidéoclips (catégorie 8b)) diffusés par le titulaire durant l’année de radiodiffusion doivent être des vidéoclips canadiens, qu’ils fassent l’objet d’un défilement ininterrompu ou qu’ils soient intégrés à d’autres types de programmation.

  4. Plus précisément, Corus demande que la condition de licence 3.b) soit supprimée et que la condition de licence 3.a) soit modifiée pour y supprimer les exceptions en ce qui concerne les émissions des catégories 8b) et 8c). Cette condition de licence se lirait donc comme suit :

    Le titulaire doit consacrer, au cours de chaque année de radiodiffusion, au moins 60 % de la journée de radiodiffusion et au moins 50 % de la période de diffusion en soirée à la présentation d’émissions canadiennes.

  5. Enfin, il demande de supprimer la condition de licence suivante :

    12. Au cours de chaque année de radiodiffusion, le titulaire doit dépenser un minimum de 11 % des revenus bruts de l’année précédente au développement et à la production de vidéos de musique country canadienne.

  6. Corus déclare que les requêtes ci-dessus sont conformes aux décisions du Conseil découlant de l’élimination de sa politique sur l’exclusivité du genre.
  7. Conformément à la politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2015-86, Corus a fourni la description suivante de CMT [traduction] :

    Le titulaire doit fournir un service national facultatif de langue anglaise offrant des comédies, des films, des séries de téléréalité et des émissions de musique uniques.

Interventions et réplique

  1. Le Conseil a reçu une intervention en opposition à la demande, de la part de la Canadian Independent Music Association, en son nom et au nom d’autres organisations représentant l’industrie canadienne de la musiqueRetour la rfrence de la note de bas de page 2 (CIMA et al.). Il a aussi reçu une intervention en appui à celle de CIMA et al. de la part de l’Association québécoise de l’industrie du disque, du spectacle et de la vidéo. Corus a répliqué collectivement aux interventions. Le dossier public de la présente demande peut être consulté sur le site web du Conseil, www.crtc.gc.ca, ou en utilisant le numéro de la demande indiqué ci-dessus.
  2. CIMA et al. ont demandé que les conditions de licence de CMT relatives à la nature de service continuent à s’appliquer jusqu’à l’expiration de la présente période de licence du service. Les intervenants ont allégué que cela permettrait aux parties prenantes de préparer leurs commentaires sur la façon de structurer la licence du service conformément à la politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2015-86 et sur la façon dont le titulaire pourrait continuer à respecter ses engagements à l’égard de l’industrie de la musique country canadienne au cours de la présente période de licence et des suivantes.
  3. Les intervenants ont fait valoir que la suppression de toute référence à la « musique country et genre country », ainsi que de toute obligation de diffuser des vidéoclips et de la programmation de genre country constituerait une modification fondamentale de la nature du service de CMT. Ils ont allégué que la musique country produite par les créateurs, artistes et sociétés de musique canadiens perdraient la fenêtre qui lui est propre sur les ondes canadiennes et se sont demandé si CMT pourrait en venir à ne plus du tout diffuser de musique country.
  4. Selon CIMA et al., la suppression des exigences sur la présentation d’émissions canadiennes, particulièrement de vidéos de musique canadiens, non seulement entraînerait une perte nette de vidéoclips originaux de musique canadienne et d’émissions de vidéos de musique, mais réduirait aussi les occasions de promotion et de marketing pour les artistes canadiens. Ils ont souligné l’engagement de Corus dans diverses émissions, commandites, projets de tournées promotionnelles et concerts dans le domaine de la musique country, de même que son fonds Video Advantage Program (VAP), qui existe depuis 2000 et poursuit le mandat de contribuer à la croissance de l’industrie canadienne de la musique country et d’offrir aux artistes qui y œuvrent des occasions de se produire.
  5. En réplique aux intervenants, Corus déclare que tous les joueurs de l’industrie de la radiodiffusion doivent s’adapter rapidement aux changements qui surviennent dans cette industrie et dans l’environnement médiatique. En ce qui concerne plus précisément les conditions de licence sur la nature de service, il note que la politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2015-86 ne prévoit aucune exception pour quelque type de musique que ce soit, y compris la musique country. Corus allègue que les modifications demandées ne modifieraient ni la quantité de contenu canadien diffusé par le service, ni l’ensemble des dépenses consacrées à la programmation canadienne. Selon le demandeur, sa requête est conforme à l’intention de la politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2015-86 d’accorder aux radiodiffuseurs la souplesse nécessaire pour créer ou acquérir les émissions qu’ils croient le mieux convenir à leurs auditoires. Il estime que retarder la mise en œuvre des modifications jusqu’à la prochaine période de licence de CMT serait contraire à cette politique.
  6. Corus fait valoir que l’ensemble des dépenses en émissions canadiennes (DÉC) versées par CMT ne changera pas à la suite de la suppression de la condition de licence 12. Le demandeur déclare qu’il continue de soutenir très activement les artistes country canadiens et que les vidéos de musique seront toujours très présents dans la grille horaire de jour du service. Il affirme n’avoir aucune intention de modifier le caractère de CMT pour l’instant, mais qu’il doit répartir différemment ses DÉC. Plus précisément, Corus a l’intention d’orienter le fonds VAP vers des émissions de musique de longue durée, ce qui sera plus avantageux pour l’entreprise et bénéficiera aux musiciens canadiens. Le demandeur indique cependant qu’à tout moment, CMT pourrait cesser de présenter de la musique country ou des vidéos de musique country en vertu de la politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2015-86. Ainsi, exiger qu’il continue à financer un contenu qui ne serait plus offert par le service serait contraire à cette politique et nuirait grandement à la capacité de CMT de créer ou d’acquérir les émissions qui conviennent le mieux à son auditoire.

Analyse et décisions du Conseil

  1. La suppression demandée des conditions de licence 2.a) et 2.d) à 2.f), le maintien de la condition de licence 2.b), ainsi que la modification demandée à la condition de licence 3.a) (puisque cette condition a présentement trait aux catégories d’émissions desquelles la programmation peut être tirée pour diffusion sur le service), sont conformes à la politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2015-86. Le Conseil note qu’un allègement quant à l’exigence de consacrer au moins 50 % de la programmation de CMT à des vidéoclips, énoncée dans la condition de licence 2.d), aura comme résultat une augmentation importante de la souplesse du service en matière de programmation. Pour ce qui est de la modification proposée à la condition de licence 2.c), tel qu’énoncé dans la politique mentionnée ci-dessus, la limite de 10 % s’applique aux émissions de sports professionnels « en direct ». Le Conseil a donc modifié la condition de licence en conséquence.
  2. Les obligations de présentation de CMT énoncées à la condition de licence 3.b) concernent le développement et la production de vidéos de musique country canadienne et sont liées aux conditions de licence sur la nature de service, dont le Conseil a approuvé la suppression. Par conséquent, le Conseil estime approprié d’approuver la requête de supprimer la condition de licence 3.b).
  3. En ce qui concerne les exigences en matière de dépenses, continuer d’exiger qu’une portion des dépenses de CMT en matière de programmation canadienne soit liée à la création de contenu pour l’industrie de la radiodiffusion, y compris le contenu promotionnel, est conforme à l’approche transitoire de la politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2015-86. Par conséquent, le Conseil conclut qu’exiger que Corus consacre 11 % des revenus bruts du service de l’année précédente au développement et à la production de vidéoclips canadiens est raisonnable. Cependant, exiger le maintien du financement à la production de contenu qui pourrait ne plus être offert sur CMT (c.-à-d. la musique country) serait exagérément contraignant. Par conséquent, le Conseil supprime la référence à la « musique country » de la condition de licence 12.
  4. Bien que la politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2015-86 ait introduit, avec l’élimination de l’exclusivité du genre, une importante souplesse réglementaire, d’autres modifications essentielles, dont celles relatives à la diffusion de programmation canadienne et aux exigences en matière de DÉC, seront traitées au moment du renouvellement de la licence.
  5. À la lumière de tout ce qui précède, le Conseil approuve la requête de Corus Entertainment Inc., au nom de Country Music Television Ltd., en vue de modifier la licence de radiodiffusion de CMT en supprimant les conditions de licence 2.a) et 2.d) jusqu’à 2.f) relatives à la nature de service. La condition de licence du service qui limite la diffusion en direct d’émissions de sports professionnels en direct se lira comme suit :

    Le titulaire ne doit pas consacrer plus de 10 % de la programmation diffusée au cours du mois de radiodiffusion à de la programmation de sport professionnel en direct, laquelle relève de la catégorie d’émissions 6a) Émissions de sport professionnel.

  6. De plus, le Conseil approuve la requête en vue de supprimer la condition de licence 3.b) de CMT relative à la présentation d’émissions canadiennes et de modifier la condition de licence 3.a) relative à la diffusion de vidéos de musique canadienne. La condition de licence modifiée se lira donc comme suit :

    Le titulaire doit consacrer, au cours de chaque année de radiodiffusion, au moins 60 % de la journée de radiodiffusion et au moins 50 % de la période de diffusion en soirée à la présentation d’émissions canadiennes.

  7. Enfin, le Conseil refuse la demande de Corus afin de supprimer la condition de licence 12 relative à l’attribution des revenus au développement et à la production de vidéos de musique country canadienne. Le Conseil modifie plutôt cette condition de licence afin qu’elle se lise comme suit :

    Au cours de chaque année de radiodiffusion, le titulaire doit dépenser un minimum de 11 % des revenus bruts de l’année précédente au développement et à la production de vidéos de musique canadienne.

Secrétaire générale

Documents connexes

*La présente décision doit être annexée à la licence.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Les conditions de licence actuelles de CMT sont énoncées à l’annexe 3 de la décision de radiodiffusion 2011-446.

Retour la rfrence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Le Canadian Council of Music Industry Associations, le Music Managers Forum Canada, la Canadian Music Publishers Association, l’Agence canadienne des droits de reproduction musicaux ltée, la Société canadienne des auteurs, compositeurs et éditeurs de musique et la Canadian Country Music Association

Retour la rfrence de la note de bas de page 2

Date de modification :