ARCHIVED -  Letter

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Our reference: 8665-C12-200807943

Ottawa, 2 February 2012

Sylvie Courtemanche
Chair
Canadian Association of Broadcasters
P.O. Box 627, Stn B,
Ottawa, ON 1P 5S2

via email: sylvie.courtemanche@corusent.com

Re:  Follow up to Broadcasting Regulatory Policy CRTC 2011-741, Quality standards for French-language closed captioning – deadline for submitting updated version of French-language closed captioning quality standards

Dear Ms. Courtemanche:

I am writing to you regarding the deadline associated with the submission of an updated version of the French-language closed captioning standards, as per Broadcasting Regulatory Policy CRTC 2011-741 (BRP 2011-741), Quality standards for French-language closed captioning.

I note that, in Broadcasting Regulatory Policy CRTC 2011-741, it was announced that the Commission will be addressing enforcement, monitoring compliance and whether the mandate of the FL-CCWG should be extended at a later date. 

In light of the above, it is Commission staff’s view that it is appropriate to extend the deadline for submitting an updated version of the standards until the Commission has issued its second determination related to the French-language standards.  Accordingly, the deadline for submitting an updated version of the French-language closed captioning quality standards is extended to 45 days following the issuance of the second determination regarding the French-language standards.

If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me directly at 819-997-9254.

Sincerely,

ORIGINAL SIGNED BY /

Martine Vallee
Director, Social and Consumer Policy

ARCHIVÉ -  Lettre

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Les décisions, avis et ordonnances (DAO) archivés demeurent en vigueur pourvu qu'ils n'aient pas été modifiés ou annulés par le Conseil, une cour ou le gouvernement. Le texte de l'information archivée n'a pas été modifié ni mis à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les modifications aux DAO sont indiquées au moyen de « tirets » ajoutés au numéro DAO original. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Notre reference:  8665-C12-00807943

Ottawa, le 2 février 2012

Madame Sylvie Courtemanche
Présidente
Association canadienne des radiodiffuseurs
C.P. 627, succursale B
Ottawa, Ontario  K1P 5S2

Par courriel : sylvie.courtemanche@corusent.com

Objet :  Suivi de la Politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion CRTC 2011‑741, Normes de qualité du sous-titrage codé de langue française – date limite associée à la soumission de la mise à jour des normes

Madame,

La présente concerne la date limite associée à la soumission de la mise à jour des normes de qualité du sous-titrage codé de langue française, conformément à la Politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion CRTC 2011‑741 intitulée Normes de qualité du sous-titrage codé de langue française.

Je souligne que, dans la Politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion CRTC 2011‑741, le Conseil a annoncé qu’il traiterait ultérieurement des questions de l’application, de la surveillance de la conformité, et de la pertinence de prolonger le mandat du Groupe de travail sur le sous-titrage de langue française (GTST-LF). 

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le personnel du Conseil est d’avis qu'il convient de reporter la soumission de la mise à jour des normes tant que le Conseil ne se sera pas prononcé sur les points susmentionnés. Par conséquent, la date limite pour soumettre la mise à jour des normes est prolongée de 45 jours après la publication de la deuxième décision relative aux normes de sous-titrage codé de langue française.

Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations, n’hésitez pas à communiquer directement avec moi, au 819-997-9254.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La directrice, Politique sociale et des consommateurs,

L’ORIGINAL SIGNÉ PAR /

Martine Vallee

Date de modification :