Telecom Procedural Letter - RE:  Request for information on small ILEC’s proposed DC service rates - Request for extension

Ottawa, 16 May 2016

Our references: 8740-B6-201506643, 8740-B7-201601774, 8740-C141-201601790, 8740-C1-201506627, 8740-C41-201601758, 8740-C4-201506701, 8740-G2-201506635, 8740-M22-201601766, 8740-H3-201506552, 8740-H4-201506495, 8740-L2-201506718, 8740-L3-201506528, 8740-M5-201506510, 8740-N24-201506586, 8740-N23-201506594, 8740-N7-201506503, 8740-N10-201506742, 8740-Q2-201506544, 8740-R3-201506669, 8740-S6-20150667, 8740-S7-201506651, 8740-T7-201506619, 8740-U2-201506536, 8740-W4-201602110, 8740-W3-201506578


Mr. Serge Désy
President, general manager
Association des companies de telephone du Québec
2750, Chemin Vallée
St-Alexis-des-Monts, QC  J0K 1V0

Mr. Jonathan L. Holmes
Executive Director
Independent Telecommunications Providers Association
29 Peevers Cres.
Newmarket, ON  L3Y 7T5

RE:  Request for information on small ILEC’s proposed DC service rates – Request for extension

Dear Sirs,

On 29 April 2016, Commission staff requested additional supporting information from 25 small Incumbent Local Exchange Carriers (small ILECs) in relation to their proposed revised rates for their direct connect service. Commission staff requested the 25 small ILECs to file their responses to interrogatories by 27 May 2016.

The Commission received a letter, dated 6 May 2016, from the Canadian Independent Telephone Company Joint Task Force (the JTF) in which the JTF requested, on behalf of the 25 small ILECs, an extension to the filing deadline. Specifically, the JTF requested that the deadline to file responses be extended to 30 June 2016.

In support of its request, the JTF submitted that in the absence of in-house resources capable of developing regulatory cost studies, the 25 small ILECs are all employing the same regulatory economics expert to develop their responses to the 29 April 2016 requests for information. The JTF further submitted that the expert’s workload, associated with Commission staff’s requests for information as well as other projects for other clients, makes it impossible to meet the 27 May 2016 deadline. The JTF added that its member companies’ participation in other Commission proceedings exacerbates the situation.

Commission staff considers that, under the circumstances, it is appropriate to extend the period for the 25 small IELCs. Therefore, Commission staff grants an extension whereby the small ILECs are to file their responses to the 29 April 2016 request for information by 30 June 2016.

Commission staff will set out additional process related to final comments and reply at a later date.

Where a document is to be filed or served by a specific date, the document must be actually received, not merely sent, by that date.

Original signed by

Lyne Renaud
Director, Competitor Services and Costing Implementation
Telecommunications Sector
c.c.:  Matthew Alexander, CRTC, 819-934-1511,
Martin Brazeau, CRTC, 819-997-1028,
William Lloyd, CRTC, 819-997-4654,
Allstreams Inc., Pauline Jessome,
Bell Canada, Philippe Gauvin,
Brooke Telecom Co-operative Ltd, Jim Janssens,
Bruce Tellecom, Faye Hughes,
CityWest Telephone Corporation, Serina Repole,
Cochrane Telecom Services, Scott Mitchell,
CoopTel, coop de télécommunication, Pierre Allard,
Gosfield North Communications Co-operative Limited, Robert Petruk,
Groupe Maskatel LP, Céline Laporte,
Hay Communications Co-operative Limited, Angela Lawrence,
Huron Telecommunications Co-Operative Limited, Glenn Grubb,
La Compagnie de Téléphone de St-Victor, Jean Bélanger,
La Compagnie de Téléphone Upton Inc., Jean-Francois Mathieu,
Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited, Ken Naylor,
Nexicom Telecommunications Inc., John E. Downs,
Nexicom Telephones Inc., R. Paul Downs,
North Frontenac Telephone Corporation Ltd., Dave Smith,
North Renfew Telephone Company Limited Trade, Steve Lynn,
Quadro Communications Co-operative Inc, John DeHeer,
Roxborough Telephone Company Limited, Tim J W Beach,
Téléphone de Courcelles, Richard Biron,
Téléphone de Lambton, Richard Biron,
Téléphone de St-Ephrem Inc., Lyne Rodrigue,
The Lansdowne Rural Telephone Company Ltd., William Grier,
The Westport Telephone Company, Limited, Steve Lynn,
Tuckersmith Communications Co-operative Limited, Rob Van Aaken,
Wightman Telecom Ltd., Kolos Gugan,

Date modified: