ARCHIVED -  Letter

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 3 July 2013

Our reference: 8480-B54-X



RE: Charging customers for paper bills

Dear Madam, Sir:

The Commission has become aware that, with the availability of electronic billing , certain communications service providers have begun to charge their customers who wish to continue to receive paper bills. In the last few months, the Commission has received inquiries, expressions of concern and complaints from individual Canadians, consumer and citizen associations, and members of Parliament concerning this practice. The purpose of this letter is to obtain information that will provide the Commission with a better understanding of the extent of this practice across the Canadian communication sector.

The service providers listed in the distribution list are required to respond to the following questions by July 18, 2013:

1. Is your company, including affiliates, charging Canadian customers of telecommunications and/or broadcasting services a fee for a paper bill or providing a discount as an incentive to switch to electronic billing? If so, specify the fee or discount being applied.

2. If your company, including affiliates, is charging Canadian customers for a paper bill or providing a discount as an incentive to switch to electronic billing, describe in which circumstances it is doing so. In particular, please provide details specifying:

(a) the broadcasting and telecommunications service(s) in respect of which the fee/discount applies;
(b) whether the service is provided in accordance with a tariff or a license approved by the Commission;
(c) whether the fee/discount applies to all customers for each service identified, and if not, the categories of customers to which the fee/discount applies and the categories of customers that are exempt from any such fee or do not receive the discount (e.g. new vs. existing customers, people with disabilities, seniors);
(d) whether there are options for customers to avoid being charged for a paper bill (other than opting for electronic billing); and
(e) any other relevant terms and/or conditions applicable to the fee/discount.

In responding to the above questions, if the practice of charging for a paper bill or providing a discount varies across lines of business and/or service, please identify the practice in place for each line of business and/or service.

If you have any questions about this request, please contact Michel Murray at

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Barbara Motzney
Chief Consumer Officer
Consumer Affairs and Strategic Policy

c.c.: Chris Seidl, Executive Director, Telecommunications,
Scott Hutton, Executive Director, Broadcasting,

Distribution List

Bell Canada:
Bell Aliant Regional Communications, Limited Partnership:
MTS Inc.:
Saskatchewan Telecommunications:
TELUS Communications Company:
Data & Audio Visual Enterprises Wireless Inc. (Mobilicity):
Globalive Wireless Management Corp./Yak Communications (Canada) Corp:
Public Mobile Inc.:
Access Communications Co-operative Limited:
Bragg Communications Incorporated:
Cogeco Cable GP Inc.:
Novus Entertainment Inc.:
Shaw Telecom Inc.:
Rogers Communications Partnership:
Vidéotron G.P.:
Brooke Telecom Co-operative Limited:
Bruce Telecom:
CityWest Telephone Corporation:
Cochrane Telecom Services:
CoopTel coop de telecommunication:
Execulink Telecom Inc.:
Gosfield North Communications Co-operative Limited:
Hay Communications Co-operative Limited:
Huron Telecommunications Co-Operative Limited:
La Cie de Téléphone de Courcelles Inc.:
La Compagnie de Téléphone de Lambton Inc.:
La Compagnie de téléphone de St-Victor
La Compagnie de téléphone Upton Inc.:
Lansdowne Rural Telephone Company Ltd.:
Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited:
Nexicom Telecommunications Inc.:;
North Frontenac Telephone Corporation Ltd.:
NRTC Communications:
O.N.Tel Inc. (Ontera):
Quadro Communications Co-operative Inc.:
Roxborough Telephone Company Limited:
Sogetel Inc./ Téléphone Milot Inc.:
Téléphone de St-Éphrem inc.:
Téléphone Guèvremont Inc.:
WTC Communications:
Tuckersmith Communications Co-operative Limited:
Wightman Telecom Ltd.
All Communications Network of Canada Co.:
AOL Canada Inc.:
Convergia Networks Inc.:
Distributel Communications Limited:
DERYtelecom Inc.:
Fibernetics Corporation:
Gold Line Telemanagement Inc.:
International Comwave Telecommunications:;
Iristel Technologies Inc:
Maskatel Inc.:
Primus Telecommunications Canada Inc.:
Sears Connect Inc.:
SSi Micro Ltd.:
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.:
Télécommunications Xittel Inc.:
Vancouver Telephone Company Limited:
Vonage Canada Corp:
Westman Media Cooperative Ltd.
Xplornet Communications Inc.:

Date modified: