Memorandum of Understanding
(CRTC and Commissioner of Canada Elections)

THIS ARRANGEMENT, made in duplicate as of the 28th day of January, 2015

BETWEEN

THE COMMISSIONER OF CANADA ELECTIONS
(HEREINAFTER REFERRED TO AS "THE COMMISSIONER")

AND

THE CANADIAN RADIO-TELEVISION AND TELECOMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION
(HEREINAFTER REFERRED TO AS "THE CRTC")

Collectively referred to as the "Participants"

BACKGROUND

WHEREAS the Canada Elections Act (the CEA)contains substantive rules on communications with electors including obligations relating to such communications and offences for various prohibitions;

WHEREAS Division 1.1 of Part 16.1 of the CEA contains rules governing Voter Contact Calling Services that will come into force at the next dissolution of Parliament;

WHEREAS, inter alia, the provisions of this Division require that Calling Service Providers and certain other parties engaged in voter contact calling services during a federal election file registration notices with the CRTC with identifying information and documents;

WHEREAS the provisions of this Division provide that the CRTC is responsible for the administration and enforcement of these registration requirements;

WHEREAS the provisions of this Division also require that the CRTC establish and maintain a Voter Contact Registry, in which the documents it receives in relation to Voter Contact Calling Services are to be kept;

WHEREAS, pursuant to section 509.2 of the CEA, the Commissioner’s duty is to ensure that the CEA – aside from the registration rules applicable to Voter Contact Calling Services – is complied with and enforced;

WHEREAS section 348.15 of the CEA requires that the CRTC, on the request of the Commissioner, disclose to the Commissioner any document or information that it received, where the Commissioner considers this document or information necessary for the purpose of ensuring compliance with and enforcement of the CEA, other than Division 1.1 of Part 16.1;

WHEREAS, pursuant to section 510.1 of the CEA, the Commissioner and any person acting under his direction must keep confidential any information relating to an investigation that comes to their knowledge in the exercise of their powers or the performance of their duties and functions under the CEA, including information that reveals or from which may be inferred the name of any complainant, any person whose conduct is being investigated, or any witness;

WHEREAS the CRTC regulates unsolicited telecommunications, including those made to electors, pursuant to sections 41 to 41.7 and 72.01 to 72.15 of the Telecommunications Act, and the associated Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules; and

WHEREAS the Participants each play an important role in ensuring that communications with electors are undertaken in ways that comply with the above-noted legal frameworks;

NOW THEREFORE THE PARTICIPANTS AGREE AS FOLLOWS:

1. DEFINITIONS:

In this Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) the following terms, in singular or plural form according to the context, are defined as follows:

"Arrangement" means this Memorandum of Understanding;

"Calling Service Provider" has the same meaning as defined in section 348.01 of the CEA;

"Complaint" means information in writing about a potential offence under the CEA or Telecommunications Act or its regulations, or a written account of such information if it was not provided in writing;

"Division" means Division 1.1 of Part 16.1 of the CEA;

"Employees" includes contractors;

"Voter Contact Calling Services" has the same meaning as defined in section 348.01 of the CEA; and

"Voter Contact Registry" means the registry established and maintained by the CRTC pursuant to section 348.11 of the CEA.

2. PURPOSE AND SCOPE:

This Arrangement sets out the manner in which the Participants will carry out disclosure of information or documents pursuant to section 348.15 of the CEA, and treat Complaints relating to the Participants’ respective mandates that are received at the other Participant’s office.

3. OBLIGATIONS OF THE COMMISSIONER:  

3.1 The Commissioner undertakes to:

3.1.1 Within 10 days after the signing of this Arrangement, provide to the Voter Contact Services program at the CRTC a list of investigators or other Employees whom he has authorized to request information or documents about Voter Contact Calling Services registrations and registrants;

3.1.2 On a timely basis, provide the CRTC with any required updates of the list provided pursuant to sub-clause 3.1.1; and

3.1.3 Without delay, transmit to the CRTC’s Compliance and Enforcement Division any Complaint that the Commissioner has received that relates to enforcement of the Telecommunications Act, of its regulations, or of Division 1.1 of Part 16.1 of the CEA.

4. OBLIGATIONS OF THE CRTC:

4.1 The CRTC undertakes to:

4.1.1 Within 10 days after the signing of this Arrangement, provide to the Commissioner a list of Employees to whom requests under section 348.15 of the CEA may be made;

4.1.2 On a timely basis, provide the Commissioner with any required updates of the list provided pursuant to sub-clause 4.1.1;

4.1.3 Without delay, and on request by an investigator or Employee authorized by the Commissioner whose name appears on the list provided pursuant to sub-clauses 3.1.1 or 3.1.2, provide the requested information or document to the investigator or Employee; and

4.1.4 Without delay, transmit to the Commissioner any Complaint that the CRTC has received that relates to enforcement of the CEA, other than Division 1.1 of Part 16.1.

5. CONFIDENTIALITY AND USE OF INFORMATION

Each Participant undertakes to:

5.1 use the information provided by the other Participant solely for the purpose of

5.2 treat information received from or provided to the other Participant in confidence and take all reasonable measures to preserve its confidentiality and integrity and to safeguard the information against accidental or unauthorized access, use or disclosure;

5.3 mark the information provided with the appropriate security classification;

5.4 treat information received from the other Participant in accordance with the security markings on it and to undertake to provide equivalent protection to it while it is in the receiving Participant's possession;

5.5 attach terms, conditions, or caveats to the information supplied, as the supplying Participant deems appropriate;

5.6 abide by all caveats, conditions or terms attached to the information;

5.7 maintain appropriate records concerning the transmission and receipt of information exchanged;

5.8 not disseminate the information to any third party without the prior written consent of the supplying Participant (or agency from which the information originated, as appropriate), except as required by law or in the course of normal activities that are expected in the delivery of their respective mandates under either the Canada Elections Act or the Telecommunications Act and its regulations; and

5.9 limit access to the information to those of its Employees whose duties require such access, who are legally bound to keep confidences and who have the appropriate security clearance.

6. INFORMATION MANAGEMENT

6.1 The information disclosed under this arrangement will be administered, maintained, and disposed of in accordance with the law that applies to record retention and personal information and all applicable policies and guidelines, including the Privacy Act,the Access to Information Act, the Library and Archives of Canada Act and the Policy on Government Security.

6.2 Each Participant will:

6.2.1 Securely transmit by Virtual Private Network (VPN), using an accredited Protected B authentication mechanism, the information mentioned in sub-clauses 3.1.3, 4.1.3 and 4.1.4;

6.2.2 dispose of the information mentioned in sub-clauses 3.1.3 and 4.1.4 that it successfully transmitted to the other Participant in accordance with these sub-clauses, unless the information also relates directly to one of the Participant’s operating programs or activities;

6.2.3 promptly notify the other of any unauthorized use or disclosure of the information exchanged under this MOU and will furnish the other Participant with details of such unauthorized use or disclosure. In the event of such an occurrence the Participant responsible for the safeguarding of the information will take all reasonably necessary steps to prevent a re-occurrence;

6.2.4 immediately notify the other if either receives a request under the Privacy Act, the Access to Information Act or other lawful authority, for information provided under this Agreement and consult the other Participant on the potential release of information pursuant to such a request; and

6.2.5 return any information that should not have been provided to it by the other Participant.

7. ACCURACY OF INFORMATION

 Each Participant will:

7.1 use its best efforts to verify the accuracy and completeness of the information provided to the other Participant; and

7.2 promptly notify the other Participant if it learns that inaccurate or potentially unreliable information may have been provided or received and take all reasonable remedial steps.

8. DEPARTMENTAL REPRESENTATIVES:

The following officials are designated as the departmental representatives for purposes of this Arrangement and any notices required under this Arrangement will be delivered as follows:

For the Commissioner:

Yves Côté
Commissioner of Canada Elections
30, Victoria Street,
Gatineau, QC
(819) 939-2060

For the CRTC:

Jean-Pierre Blais
Chairman and CEO, CRTC
1 promenade du Portage,
Gatineau, QC
(819) 997-3430

9. LIABILITY:

Each Participant will be responsible for any damages caused by the conduct of its Employees or agents in carrying out the terms of this Arrangement.

10. DISPUTE RESOLUTION:

In the event of a dispute arising from the interpretation or operation of this Arrangement, it will be referred to the Participants' representatives set out above, who will use their best efforts to resolve the matter amicably.

11. MONITORING:

The Participants will meet within 90 days after polling day for the next federal general election to review and assess the operation and effectiveness of this Arrangement.

12. FINANCIAL ARRANGEMENTS:

Each Participant will bear its own costs and expenses incurred in connection with this Arrangement.

13. TERM:

Subject to paragraph 14, this Arrangement will commence upon execution by the Participants.

14. TERMINATION:

This Arrangement may be terminated by either Participant upon thirty (30) days written notice. Termination does not release a Participant from any obligations which accrued while the Arrangement was in force. Moreover, it does not release the CRTC from the application of section 348.15 of the CEA.

15. AMENDMENT TO THE ARRANGEMENT:   

This Arrangement may only be amended by the written consent of the Participants.

Signed by the authorized officers of the Participants:

For the Commissioner:

Yves Côté
Commissioner of Canada Elections
30 Victoria Street,
Gatineau, QC
(819) 939-2060

For the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission:

Jean Pierre Blais
Chairman and CEO
Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
1 promenade du Portage,
Gatineau, QC
(819) 997-3430

Date modified:

Protocole d’entente
(CRTC et le Commissaire des élections fédérales)

ENTENTE en duplicata en date du 30 janvier 2015

ENTRE

LE COMMISSAIRE DES ÉLECTIONS FÉDÉRALES
(CI-APRÈS APPELÉ LE « COMMISSAIRE »)

ET

LE CONSEIL DE LA RADIODIFFUSION ET DES TÉLÉCOMMUNICATIONS CANADIENNES
(CI-APRÈS APPELÉ LE « CRTC »)

Ci-après collectivement appelés les « participants »

CONTEXTE

ATTENDU QUE la Loi électorale du Canada (la LEC) contient des règles de droit substantiel sur les communications avec les électeurs, y compris des obligations en matière de communications de la sorte et des dispositions sur les infractions à diverses interdictions;

ATTENDU QUE la section 1.1 de la partie 16.1 de la LEC renferme des dispositions encadrant les services d'appels aux électeurs, qui entreront en vigueur à la prochaine dissolution du Parlement;

ATTENDU QUE, inter alia, les dispositions de la section 1.1 exigent que les fournisseurs de services d'appel et certaines autres parties qui participent à ce genre de services durant une élection fédérale s'enregistrent auprès du CRTC en fournissant les documents et les données d'identification appropriés;

ATTENDU QUE les dispositions de la section 1.1 précisent que le CRTC est responsable de l'administration et de l'exécution des règles d'enregistrement;

ATTENDU QUE les dispositions de la section 1.1 exigent aussi que le CRTC établisse et tienne à jour un registre de communication avec les électeurs dans lequel il doit conserver les documents qu'il reçoit sur les services d'appels aux électeurs;

ATTENDU QU'aux termes de l'article 509.2 de la LEC, le commissaire est chargé de veiller à l'observation et au contrôle d'application de la LEC – à l'exception des règles d'enregistrement applicables aux services d'appels aux électeurs.

ATTENDU QU'aux termes de l'article 348.15 de la LEC, le CRTC doit communiquer au commissaire, sur demande de celui-ci, tout document ou renseignement obtenu par le Conseil que le commissaire considère comme nécessaire pour assurer l'observation et le contrôle d'application de la LEC, à l'exception des dispositions de la section 1.1 de la partie 16.1.

ATTENDU QU'aux termes de l'article 510.1 de la LEC, le commissaire et les personnes agissant sous son autorité sont tenus au secret en ce qui concerne les renseignements dont ils prennent connaissance dans le cadre d'une enquête menée dans l'exercice des attributions que leur confère la LEC, notamment tout renseignement qui révèle ou permettrait de découvrir le nom du plaignant, le nom de la personne dont la conduite fait l'objet de l'enquête ou d'un témoin;

ATTENDU QUE le CRTC réglemente les télécommunications non sollicitées, dont celles destinées aux électeurs, aux termes des articles 41 à 41.7 et 72.01 à 72.15 de la Loi sur les télécommunications et des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées qui y sont connexes;

ET ATTENDU QUE les participants ont chacun un rôle important à jouer pour assurer que les communications avec les électeurs sont effectuées selon des manières conformes aux cadres juridiques mentionnés ci-dessus.

PAR CONSÉQUENT, LES PARTICIPANTS S'ENTENDENT COMME SUIT :

1. DÉFINITIONS

Dans ce Protocole d'entente, les termes suivants, qu'ils soient au singulier ou au pluriel, en fonction du contexte, ont les définitions suivantes :

« employés » inclut les consultants.

« entente » signifie le présent Protocole d'entente.

« fournisseur de services d'appel » a le même sens que celui défini à l'article 348.01 de la LEC.

« plainte » signifie toute information écrite concernant une infraction possible aux dispositions de la LEC ou de la Loi sur les télécommunications ou son Règlement, ou le compte rendu de toute information de la sorte si elle n'est pas fournie sous forme écrite.

« registre de communication avec les électeurs » signifie le registre établi et tenu à jour par le CRTC aux termes de l'article 348.11 de la LEC.

« section » signifie la section 1.1 de la partie 16.1 de la LEC.

« services d'appels aux électeurs » a le même sens que celui défini à l'article 348.01 de la LEC.

2. BUT ET PORTÉE

L'entente prévoit la façon dont les participants s'échangeront de l'information ou des documents aux termes de l'article 348.15 de la LEC et traiteront les plaintes concernant leur mandat respectif.

3. OBLIGATIONS DU COMMISSAIRE

3.1 Le commissaire s'engage à :

3.1.1 fournir au programme des services d'appels aux électeurs au CRTC, dans les dix jours suivant la signature de l'entente, une liste des enquêteurs ou autres employés qu'il a autorisés à demander de l'information ou des documents concernant les enregistrements aux services d'appels aux électeurs et les titulaires de ces enregistrements;

3.1.2 communiquer au CRTC, dans un délai prescrit, toute mise à jour nécessaire de la liste fournie aux termes du sous-paragraphe 3.1.1;

3.1.3 transmettre sans tarder au Secteur de la conformité et des enquêtes du CRTC toute plainte qu'il a reçue et ayant trait à la conformité à la Loi sur les télécommunications ou son Règlement, ou aux dispositions de la section 1.1 de la partie 16.1 de la LEC;

4. OBLIGATIONS DU CRTC

4.1 Le CRTC s'engage à :

4.1.1 fournir au commissaire, dans les dix jours suivant la signature de l'entente, une liste des employés auprès de qui des demandes peuvent être déposées aux termes de l'article 348.15 de la LEC;

4.1.2 communiquer au commissaire, dans un délai prescrit, toute mise à jour requise de la liste fournie aux termes du sous-paragraphe 4.1.1;

4.1.3 transmettre sans tarder, sur demande d'un enquêteur ou d'un employé autorisé par le commissaire et dont le nom figure sur la liste fournie aux termes des sous-paragraphes 3.1.1 ou 3.1.2, l'information ou les documents que l'enquêteur ou l'employé considère comme nécessaires;

4.1.4 transmettre sans tarder au commissaire toute plainte qu'il a reçue et ayant trait à la conformité à la LEC, à l'exception des dispositions de la section 1.1 de la partie 16.1.

5. CONFIDENTIALITÉ ET UTILISATION DE L'INFORMATION

Les participants s'engagent chacun à :

5.1 utiliser l'information qu'ils se transmettent aux seules fins suivantes :

5.2 traiter confidentiellement l'information reçue de l'autre participant ou qui lui est envoyée et prendre toutes les mesures raisonnables pour en conserver la confidentialité et l'intégrité, et la protéger contre toute forme d'accès, d'utilisation ou de communication accidentelle ou non autorisés;

5.3 inscrire la classification de sécurité pertinente sur l'information fournie;

5.4 traiter l'information reçue de l'autre participant conformément aux normes correspondant à sa classification et entreprendre d'en assurer une protection équivalente lorsqu'elle est en sa possession;

5.5 joindre à l'information qu'ils fournissent les conditions ou les mises en garde qu'ils estiment indiquées;

5.6 respecter les conditions ou les mises en garde jointes à l'information;

5.7 tenir à jour des dossiers appropriés liés à la transmission et à la réception de l'information échangée;

5.8 ne pas communiquer l'information à des tiers sans le consentement écrit préalable de l'autre participant (ou de l'organisme d'où elle provient, le cas échéant), sauf si la loi l'exige ou dans le cours d'activités normales, comme les participants peuvent s'y attendre dans l'exercice de leur mandat respectif, aux termes de la LECou de la Loi sur les télécommunications et son Règlement;

5.9 limiter l'accès à l'information aux seuls employés dont les tâches l'exigent, qui sont tenus par la loi de garder le secret et qui possèdent l'autorisation de sécurité ou la cote de fiabilité pertinente.

6. GESTION DE L'INFORMATION

6.1 L'information communiquée aux termes de l'entente sera administrée, maintenue et éliminée conformément à la loi visant les renseignements personnels et la conservation des documents, et conformément à toutes les politiques et lignes directrices applicables, notamment la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada et la Politique sur la sécurité du gouvernement.

6.2 Chaque participant :

6.2.1 transmet de façon sécuritaire, par réseau virtuel (RPV) et au moyen d'un mécanisme d'authentification approuvé Protégé B, l'information dont il est question aux sous-paragraphes 3.1.3, 4.1.3 et 4.1.4;

6.2.2 élimine l'information transmise avec succès à l'autre participant et décrite aux sous-paragraphes 3.1.3 et 4.1.4 conformément aux dispositions des mêmes sous-paragraphes, à moins que l'information ne se rapporte directement à l'un des programmes d'exploitation ou aux activités du participant;

6.2.3 informe sans tarder l'autre participant de toute utilisation ou communication non autorisée de l'information échangée aux termes de l'entente, et lui fournit les détails pertinents. Dans pareil cas, le participant responsable de la protection de l'information prend toutes les mesures nécessaires et raisonnables pour que cela ne se reproduise plus;

6.2.4 informe immédiatement l'autre participant de toute demande qu'il reçoit aux termes de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou émanant de toute autre autorité légitime, concernant de l'information fournie dans le cadre de l'entente, et consulte l'autre participant quant à la diffusion possible de l'information liée à une telle demande;

6.2.5 renvoie à l'autre participant toute information que celui-ci n'aurait pas dû lui transmettre.

7. EXACTITUDE DE L'INFORMATION

Chaque participant :

7.1 fait de son mieux pour vérifier que l'information qu'il transmet à l'autre participant est exacte et complète;

7.2 informe sans tarder l'autre participant s'il apprend qu'il a reçu ou envoyé de l'information inexacte ou qui n'est peut-être pas fiable, et prend toutes les mesures correctives raisonnables.

8. REPRÉSENTANTS MINISTÉRIELS

Les personnes suivantes sont les représentants ministériels désignés aux fins de l'entente. Tous les avis nécessaires aux termes de l'entente sont livrés comme suit :

Pour le commissaire :

Yves Côté
Commissaire des élections fédérales
30, rue Victoria
Gatineau (Québec)
(819) 939-2060

Pour le CRTC :

Jean-Pierre Blais
Président et premier dirigeant CRTC
1, promenade du Portage
Gatineau (Québec)
(819) 997-3430

9. RESPONSABILITÉS

Chaque participant sera responsable des dommages découlant de la conduite de ses employés ou de ses agents lors de l'exécution des conditions de l'entente.

10. RÈGLEMENT DES DIFFÉRENDS

Tout différend attribuable à l'interprétation ou à la mise en œuvre de l'entente sera soumis aux représentants des participants indiqués ci-dessus, qui feront de leur mieux pour le résoudre à l'amiable.

11. SURVEILLANCE

Les participants conviennent de se réunir dans les 90 jours suivant le jour du scrutin de la prochaine élection générale fédérale pour examiner et évaluer les conditions et l'efficacité de l'entente.

12. ENTENTE FINANCIÈRE

Chaque participant assume les frais et les dépenses inhérents à l'entente.

13. DURÉE

Aux termes de l'article 14, l'entente entre en vigueur à la date de signature par les participants.

14. RÉSILIATION

Les participants peuvent résilier l'entente sur préavis écrit de trente (30) jours. La résiliation ne les libère pas des engagements convenus pendant qu'elle était en vigueur. De plus, cela ne dégage pas le CRTC de son obligation aux termes de l'article 348.15 de la LEC.

15. MODIFICATIONS À L'ENTENTE

L'entente ne peut être modifiée qu'avec le consentement écrit des participants.

Signature des représentants autorisés des participants

Pour le commissaire :

Yves Côté
Commissaire des élections fédérales
30, rue Victoria
Gatineau (Québec)
(819) 939-2060

Pour le CRTC :

Jean-Pierre Blais
Président et premier dirigeant
Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes
1, promenade du Portage
Gatineau (Québec)
(819) 997-3430

Date de modification :