Procedural Letter adressed to Ann Mainville-Neeson and Susan Wheeler (TELUS Communications Company and Rogers Media Inc.)

Ottawa, 9 February 2018

BY E-MAIL

Ms. Ann Mainville-Neeson
Vice President, Broadcasting Policy and Regulatory Affairs
TELUS Communications Company
Ann.Mainville-Neeson@telus.com

Ms. Susan Wheeler
Vice-President, Regulatory, Media
Rogers Media Inc.
susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com

Re: Application (2017-0309-1) for final offer arbitration between TELUS Communications Company and Rogers Media Inc.

This is with respect to the application for final offer arbitration filed by TELUS Communications Company (TELUS) on 6 March 2017 with respect to the carriage of Rogers Media Inc. (Rogers) specialty services Sportsnet and Sportsnet ONE.

The Commission notes that the parties and Commission staff undertook considerable efforts to resolve this dispute. Multiple sessions of mediation, facilitation and negotiation took place both prior to and during the course of the final offer arbitration process. On 7 September 2017, noting that they had had a productive mandatory mediation session, the parties jointly requested that the Commission suspend the final offer arbitration proceeding, pending the execution of a final agreement.

The Commission’s dispute resolution framework prioritizes negotiated settlements. As noted in Information Bulletin 2013-637, the Commission encourages parties to exhaust all other means to resolve outstanding issues in an efficient and effective manner before applying for the Commission’s formal dispute resolution processes, which include final offer arbitration as a mechanism of last resort.

Having received a copy of the signed affiliation agreement, we would like to congratulate you on arriving at a negotiated solution, noting Commission staff’s efforts in this respect. Accordingly, the Commission is closing this dispute file.

Sincerely,

Tandy Yull
Senior Manager, Alternative Dispute Resolution
Broadcasting

Date modified:

Lettre Procédurale adressée à Ann Mainville-Neeson et Susan Wheeler (Société TELUS Communications et Rogers Media inc.)

Ottawa, le 9 février 2018

PAR COURRIEL:

Madame Ann Mainville-Neeson
Vice-présidente, Politique de radiodiffusion et affaires réglementaires
Société TELUS Communications
Ann.Mainville-Neeson@telus.com

Madame Susan Wheeler
Vice-présidente, Affaires réglementaires – Médias
Rogers Media inc.
susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com

Objet : Demande (2017-0309-1) d’arbitrage de l’offre finale entre la Société TELUS Communications et Rogers Media inc.

Mesdames,

La présente fait suite à la demande déposée le 6 mars 2017 par la Société TELUS Communications (TELUS) concernant l’arbitrage de l’offre finale (AOF) en ce qui a trait à la distribution par Rogers Media inc. (Rogers) des services spécialisés Sportsnet et Sportsnet ONE.

Le Conseil fait remarquer que les parties et le personnel du Conseil ont déployé des efforts importants pour régler ce différend. De nombreuses séances de médiation, de facilitation et de négociation ont eu lieu avant et pendant le processus d’arbitrage de l’offre finale. Le 7 septembre 2017, soulignant qu’elles avaient eu une séance de médiation obligatoire productive, les parties ont conjointement demandé au Conseil de suspendre l’instance d’arbitrage de l’offre finale en attendant la signature d’un accord final.

Le cadre de règlement des différends du Conseil accorde la priorité aux règlements négociés. Comme il est indiqué dans le bulletin d’information 2013-637, le Conseil encourage les parties à épuiser les autres moyens de règlement des questions en suspens de façon efficiente et efficace avant de demander le recours aux processus officiels de règlement de différends du Conseil, y compris à l’arbitrage de l’offre finale comme mécanisme de dernier recours.

Ayant reçu une copie de l’entente d’affiliation signée, on félicite les parties d’en être arrivées à une solution négociée en soulignant les efforts du personnel du Conseil à cet égard. Par conséquent, le Conseil ferme le dossier concernant ce différend.

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Tandy Yull
Gestionnaire principale, Résolution des différends
Radiodiffusion

Date de modification :