Notice of Violation: Toronto Star Newspapers Limited

Ottawa, 1 August 2017

File number: PDR 9174-2376

To: Toronto Star Newspapers Limited

Address:
1 Yonge Street
Toronto, ON M5E 1E6

Date of Notice:
1 August 2017

Penalty: $65,000

Pursuant to section 72.07 of the Telecommunications Act, S.C. 1993, c. 38 (the Act), the undersigned has issued this Notice of Violation finding Toronto Star Newspapers Limited to have committed the following violations contrary to the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission’s (CRTC’s) Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules (the Rules) made under section 41 of the Act:

On and between 18 March 2015 and 10 May 2016, telemarketing telecommunications were initiated on behalf of Toronto Star Newspapers Limited, resulting in violations of Part III, section 3 of the Rules for not registering with the National Do Not Call List (DNCL) operator, and Part III, section 15 of the Rules for failing to make all reasonable efforts to ensure that its telemarketer did not initiate these telemarketing telecommunications to consumers who are or should have been its do not call list.

Pursuant to section 72.16 of the Act, a person is liable for a violation that is committed by an employee of the person acting in the course of the employee’s employment, or by an agent or mandatary of the person acting within the scope of the agent’s or mandatary’s authority, whether or not the employee or agent or mandatary who actually committed the violation is identified or proceeded against.

Pursuant to section 72.01 of the Act, the undersigned has determined that the total penalty for the violations identified above is $65,000

The penalty of $65,000 must be paid by Toronto Star Newspapers Limited to “The Receiver General for Canada” in accordance with subsection 72.09(3) of the Act.

Alain Garneau
Original Signed by Michel Doiron
Director – Telecommunications Enforcement

Date modified:

Procès-verbal de violation : Toronto Star Newspapers Limited

Ottawa, le 1 août 2017

No de dossier : EPR 9174-2376

À : Newspapers Call Center Inc.

Adresse :
1 rue Yonge
Toronto, ON M5E 1E6

Date du procès-verbal :
le 1 août 2017

Pénalité : 65 000 $

En vertu de l'article 72.07 de la Loi sur les télécommunications, L.C. 1993, ch. 38 (la Loi), le soussigné a émis le présent procès-verbal de violation, car, selon lui, Toronto Star Newspapers Limited a commis les violations suivantes des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées (les Règles) du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) instituées en vertu de l’article 41 de la Loi :

Le et entre le 18 mars 2015 et le 10 mai 2016, des télécommunications de télémarketing ont été effectuées au nom de Toronto Star Newspapers Limited alors qu’elle n’était pas inscrite auprès de l’opérateur de la Liste nationale de numéros de télécommunications exclus (LNNTE) contrevenant à l’article 3 de la Partie III des Règles, et pour n’avoir pas pris toutes les mesures raisonnables pour veiller à ce que le télévendeur ne fasse en leur nom des télécommunications à des fins de télémarketing auprès d'un consommateur dont le nom figure ou devrait figurer sur leur liste de numéros de télécommunication exclus contrevenant ainsi à l’article 15 de la Partie III des Règles

En vertu de l’article 72.16 de la Loi, l’employeur ou le mandant est responsable de la violation commise par son employé ou son mandataire dans le cadre de son emploi ou de son mandat, selon le cas, que l’auteur de la violation fasse ou non l’objet de procédure en violation.

En vertu de l’article 72.01 de la Loi, le soussigné a établi que l’amende totale pour les violations indiquées ci-dessus est 65 000 $.

La pénalité de 65 000 $ doit être versée au  « receveur général du Canada », par Toronto Star Newspapers Limited, conformément au paragraphe 72.09(3) de la Loi.

Alain Garneau
Original signé par Michel Doiron
Directeur - secteur de la conformité et des enquêtes

Date de modification :