Notice of Violation: Raid Inc.

Ottawa, 31 March 2016

NOTICE OF VIOLATION

File No.: PDR 9174-1622

To: Raid Inc.

Address:
774, Saint-paul Ouest, 3rd floor
montréal (québec)
H3C1M4

Date of Notice and Payment: 31 March 2016

Penalty: $500,000

Pursuant to section 72.07 of the Telecommunications Act, S.C. 1993, c. 38(the Act), the undersigned has issued this Notice of Violation finding Raid Inc. to have committed the following violations contrary to the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission’s (CRTC’s) Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules (the Rules) made under section 41 of the Act:

On and between 6 January 2014 and 26 november 2015, telemarketing telecommunications were made by Raid Inc., resulting in violations of Part II, section 4 of the Rules, for initiating telemarketing telecommunications to telephone numbers registered on the National Do Not Call List (DNCL) together with Part II, section 7 of the Rules, for initiating these telemarketing telecommunications of behalf of a client that had not purchased a subscription to the National DNCL and Part III, section 3 of the Rules for initiating these telemarketing telecommunications of behalf of a client that was not registered with the National DNCL operator.

In addition,  Raid Inc.obtained and disclosed contents of the National  Do Not Call List (DNCL) to clients of its service. These actions constituted repeated violations of part II, section 10 of the Rules, for having disclosed portions of the National DNCL to persons outside of the organization.

Pursuant to section 72.01 of the Act, the undersigned has determined that the penalty for the violations identified above is $500,000.

The penalty of $500,000 must be paid by Raid Inc.. to “The Receiver General for Canada” in accordance with subsection 72.09(3) of the Act.

Manon Bombardier, Chief
Compliance and Enforcement Sector

Date modified:

Procès-verbal de violation : Raid Inc.

Ottawa, le 31 mars 2016

PROCÈS-VERBAL DE VIOLATION

No de dossier : EPR 9174-1622

À : Raid Inc.

Adresse :
774, Saint-paul Ouest, 3e étage
Montréal (Québec)
H3C1M4

Date du procès verbal et paiement : le 31 mars 2016

Pénalité : 500 000 $

En vertu de l'article 72.07 de la Loi sur les télécommunications, L.C. 1993, ch. 38 (la Loi), la soussignée a émis le présent procès-verbal de violation à l’encontre de Raid Inc. qui aurait commis les violations suivantes et ce contraire aux Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées (les Règles) du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) instituées en vertu de l’article 41 de la Loi :

Le et entre le 6 janvier 2014 au 26 novembre 2015, des télécommunications de télémarketing ont été faites par Raid Inc., résultant en des violations au paragraphe II, article 4, soit avoir fait des télécommunications de télémarketing aux numéros de téléphone figurant sur la Liste nationale de numéros de télécommunications exclus (LNNTE), ainsi qu’au paragraphe II, article 7 et au paragraphe III, article  3, soit avoir fait ces télécommunications de télémarketing au nom d’un client qui n’avait pas acheté un abonnement à la LNNTE et qui n’était pas inscrit auprès de l’administrateur de la LNNTE.

Également, durant cette même période, Raid Inc. a obtenu et divulgué le contenu de la Liste nationale de numéros de télécommunication exclus (« LNNTE ») aux clients de son service. Ce faisant, Raid Inc.  a commis des violations répétées de l’article  10 de la partie II des Règles pour avoir divulgué, en partie, le contenu de la LNNTE à des personnes extérieures à son organisme.

Conformément à l'article 72.01 de la Loi, la soussignée a déterminé que la pénalité totale pour les violations identifiées ci-dessus est de 500,000 $.

La pénalité de 500,000 $ doit être versée au  « receveur général du Canada », par  Raid Inc., conformément au paragraphe 72.09(3) de la Loi.

Manon Bombardier
Cadre en chef - secteur de la conformité et des enquêtes

 

Date de modification :