Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Lisa Anderson-Kellett (Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee) and Frank Folino (Canadian Association of the Deaf)

 

Ottawa, 14 December 2016

Our reference: 1011-NOC2016-0116

BY EMAIL

Lisa Anderson-Kellett
Chair
Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee
lisa@deafwireless.ca

Frank Folino
President
Canadian Association of the Deaf/
Association des Sourds du Canada
ffolino@cad.ca

Dear Ms. Anderson-Kellett and Mr. Folino:

My colleague, Ms. Roy, has referred to me your letter dated 8 December 2016 in which you ask for an explanation as to why certain accessibility measures requested in your correspondence of 2 December 2016 relating to your participation in Establishment of a regulatory framework for next-generation 9-1-1 in Canada, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2016-116, were not accepted.  Specifically, you request an explanation as to why ASL and LSQ interpretive services, as well as English real-time captioning services, are not being provided for the duration of the public hearing associated with the proceeding.  You also request an explanation as to why the Commission was not providing you with access to ASL interpretive services for three hours to prepare for your appearance before the Commission.

In our 8 December 2016 email, we informed you that ASL interpretation and English CART services would be provided for all presentations and questions scheduled on Thursday, 19 January until lunch time, thereby encompassing your organizations’ presentation.  We also informed you that electronic copies of the hearing transcript would be made available to you in accessible format each day of the hearing once they come into staff’s possession.

The accessibility measures set out in our 8 December 2016 email will ensure that your respective organizations can effectively participate in the hearing and the proceeding more generally.  In the case of your and similarly situated organizations, reliance on the transcripts is an effective means of following the hearing as they will be available to you in accessible format.  Our assessment of the needed measures was also based on the fact that the oral hearing component of the proceeding does not contain an oral reply phase and that parties will have access to the official transcripts and will have 11 days following the end of the hearing to submit final written comments.

We further note that in your 2 December 2016 letter, you indicate that three of your deaf panelists intend to attend the full duration of the public hearing to listen to interveners with the goal of taking notes for your post-hearing reply.

Access to official transcripts, which are released daily, will allow all parties, including your organizations, to accurately follow what is said at the hearing. Further, parties’ presentations to the hearing panel are primarily intended to allow parties to highlight their positions on the various proceeding issues and less as a means to rebut other parties’ positions.  Parties have a full opportunity of engaging in reply comment in their final written comments. 

Finally, with respect to your request for the Commission to arrange for and provide ASL interpretive services the day prior to your scheduled appearance in order to assist with the preparation of your presentation, your organizations may apply for costs in relation to the expenses incurred for such services.  As indicated in our 8 December 2016 email response, the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure provide that costs may be awarded to applicants who can demonstrate that, among other things, the costs were necessarily and reasonably incurred.  You should include in your costs application the information supporting these criteria; where the Commission is satisfied that the criteria are met, an award of costs is made.

We hope that this response is helpful to you.  The Commission values your organizations’ contribution in its public hearings and has taken these accessibility measures to accommodate and facilitate your participation fairly in this proceeding.  We look forward to hearing from you at the hearing.

Eric Bowles
Legal Counsel, Legal Sector
Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
Ottawa, ON, K1A 0N2
Tel.: 819-953-5204
eric.bowles@crtc.gc.ca

c.c.: Gary Malkowski, gmalkowski@chs.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Lisa Anderson-Kellett (Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee) et Frank Folino (Association des Sourds du Canada)

Ottawa, le 14 décembre 2016

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2016-0116

PAR COURRIEL

Lisa Anderson-Kellett
Présidente
Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee
lisa@deafwireless.ca

Frank Folino
Président
Canadian Association of the Deaf/
Association des Sourds du Canada
ffolino@cad.ca

Madame Anderson-Kellett, Monsieur Folino,

Ma collègue, Mme Roy, m’a acheminé votre lettre datée du 8 décembre 2016 dans laquelle vous demandez pourquoi on a refusé de mettre en place certaines mesures d’adaptation mentionnées dans votre correspondance du 2 décembre 2016 concernant votre participation au processus annoncé dans l’Avis de consultation de télécom 2016-116, Établissement d’un cadre réglementaire pour le 9-1-1 de prochaine génération au Canada. Précisément, vous demandez pourquoi les services d’interprétation en ASL et en LSQ ainsi que les services de sous-titrage en anglais en temps réel ne seront pas offerts durant toute l’audience publique associée à l’instance. Vous demandez également pourquoi le Conseil n’accepte pas de vous fournir l’accès à des services d’interprétation en ASL pendant trois heures afin que vous puissiez vous préparer à votre comparution devant lui.

Dans notre courriel daté du 8 décembre, on vous informe que des services d’interprétation en ASL et des services de sous-titrage en anglais en temps réel seront offerts pour toutes les présentations données et les questions posées durant l’avant-midi du 19 janvier, et que votre présentation serait donc visée par ces services. On vous informe également que des versions électroniques de la transcription d’audience vous seront communiquées dans un format accessible chaque jour de l’audience dès que le personnel les aura en sa possession.

Les mesures d’adaptation décrites dans le courriel du 8 décembre garantiront que vos organisations respectives puissent participer efficacement à l’audience et à l’instance en général. En ce qui concerne vos organisations et d’autres dans une situation similaire à la vôtre, l’utilisation des transcriptions est un moyen efficace de suivre le déroulement de l’audience compte tenu du fait qu’ils seront à votre disposition en format accessible. L’évaluation des mesures nécessaires fut également fondée sur le fait que le volet oral de l’audience ne comporte pas de période de réplique. En effet, les parties auront accès aux transcriptions officielles et disposeront de onze jours après la fin de l’audience pour présenter leurs observations écrites.

Nous notons également que dans votre lettre du 2 décembre 2016, vous mentionnez que trois de vos conférenciers sourds comptent assister à toute l’audience afin de connaître les observations des répondants et de prendre des notes qui serviront à préparer votre réponse.

L’accès aux transcriptions officielles, qui seront publiées quotidiennement, permettra à toutes les parties, y compris vos organisations, de fidèlement suivre ce qui se dit durant l’audience. Qui plus est, les présentations au comité d’audience visent principalement à permettre aux parties de faire connaître leur position sur les diverses questions pertinentes à l’instance et non pas à réfuter la position des autres parties. Les parties ont l’entière possibilité de fournir une réponse dans leurs commentaires écrits définitifs. 

Enfin, pour ce qui est de votre demande visant à ce que le Conseil organise et offre des services d’interprétation en ASL la veille de votre comparution afin de faciliter la préparation de votre présentation, vos organisations peuvent faire une demande pour le remboursement de dépenses liées au recours à de tels services. Comme l’indique notre courriel du 8 décembre, les règles de pratique et de procédures du Conseil stipulent qu’une ordonnance de frais peut être émise en faveur des réclamants qui peuvent démontrer, entre autres choses, que les frais ont été  raisonnablement et nécessairement encourus. Vous devriez inclure dans votre application pour le recouvrement de frais l’information nécessaire pour démontrer que vous avez satisfait ces critères.  Advenant que le Conseil est satisfait que les critères ont été rencontrés, une ordonnance de frais est émise.

Le Conseil espère que cette réponse vous est utile. Le Conseil valorise la contribution faite par vos organisations dans le cadre de ses instances et a pris les mesures d’accessibilité retenues afin d’accommoder et faciliter votre participation équitable dans l’instance.  Nous avons hâte d’entendre vos observations.

 

Eric Bowles
Conseiller juridique
Secteur juridique
Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0N2
Tél. : 819-953-5204
eric.bowles@crtc.gc.ca
c.c. : Gary Malkowski, gmalkowski@chs.ca

Date de modification :