Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 28 November 2016

Our references: 8640-N1-201609893

BY EMAIL

Distribution List

RE: Northwestel – Request to Forbear on the Operation and Maintenance of the Mackenzie Valley Fibre Link Network – Request for Information

On 10 August 2016, the Commission received a Part 1 application from Northwestel, requesting that the Commission refrain from exercising its powers and performing its duties under sections 25, 27, 29, and 31 of the Act in relation to services provided by Northwestel on behalf of Northern Lights General Partnership (NLGP), who has been contracted by the Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT) to design, build, maintain and operate the GNWT’s Mackenzie Valley Fibre Link (MVFL) network. Specifically, Northwestel seeks forbearance for the operation and maintenances services to support the MVFL network for the GNWT.

Pursuant to paragraph 28(1)(a) of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure, the Commission may require a party to provide information, particulars or documents that it considers necessary to enable the Commission to reach a full and satisfactory understanding of the subject matter of the proceeding.

Northwestel is requested to provide comprehensive answers, including any supporting information, to the attached questions with respect to the above-noted forbearance applications. 

Responses to the attached requests for information are to be filed with the Commission, serving a copy on all those listed in the distribution list, by 8 December 2016.

Any party to these proceedings may file interventions on the responses to the requests for information with the Commission, serving a copy to all those listed in the distribution list, by 19 December 2016. Northwestel may file a final reply, serving a copy to all those listed in the distribution list, by 22 December 2016.

As set out in section 39 of the Act and in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, persons may designate certain information as confidential.  A person designating information as confidential must provide a detailed explanation on why the designated information is confidential and why its disclosure would not be in the public interest, including why the specific direct harm that would be likely to result from the disclosure would outweigh the public interest in disclosure. Furthermore, a person designating information as confidential must either file an abridged version of the document omitting only the information designated as confidential or provide reasons why an abridged version cannot be filed.

Where a document is to be filed or served by a specific date, the document must be actually received, not merely sent, by that date.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Sheehan Carter
A/Director, Competition and Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.      Jean-François Roof, CRTC, 819-639-2537
Kim Wardle, CRTC, 819-997-4945

Distribution List

Northwestel, Dallas C. Yeulett, regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca
SSi Micro LTD, Dean Proctor, regulatory@ssimicro.com
Government of the Northwest Territories, Linda Maljan, linda_Maljan@gov.nt.ca

Questions for Northwestel

  1. As noted in Decision 94-19, the first step in assessing competitiveness is generally the definition of the relevant market, which forms the basis for the forbearance exercise.

    In Paragraph 14 of its application, Northwestel defined the relevant market as “the operation of the MVFL” in the Northwest Territories. However, in Paragraph 21 of its response to SSi’s intervention, Northwestel defined the relevant market as ‘the provision of operating and maintaining a fibre network for a third party”.

    1. Please clarify Northwestel’s definition of the relevant market.
    2. Please provide rationale as to why the Commission should not consider the Operation of a Customer-Owned Fibre Facility (as described in its Special Facilities Tariff) as the relevant market.
  2. Throughout its application and its response to SSi’s intervention, Northwestel makes use of the term “NLGP” interchangeably with Northwestel or GNWT. Please clarify and explain 1) the relationship between Northwestel and Northern Lights General Partnershipand file in confidence the service agreement between Northwestel and NLGP; and 3) the relationship between Northern Lights General Partnership and the Government of Northern Territories.
  3. At paragraph 7 of its application, Northwestel outlines the NLGP’s responsibilities for operations and maintenance of the MVFL.
    1. Please confirm that Northwestel performs these responsibilities, on behalf of NLGP
    2. Please confirm that the provision of the services in question is currently subject to Northwestel’s Special Services Tariff CRTC 3010, 772 – Operation of Customer-Owned Fibre Facility Service. If the services differ from those provided under that tariff, explain.
    3. In Paragraph 16 of Northwestel’s reply comments, the company states that, should the Commission deny forbearance, it will be forced to file a “permanent tariff” for all the services outlined in Paragraph 6, in a form similar to the Special Assembly tariff it has already filed for those services (referring to Item 772). Confirm whether a “permanent tariff” is a reference to a tariff approved on a final basis. Explain why Northwestel claims it will need to file another tariff.
  4. At Paragraph 11 of its application, Northwestel states that the rates which are the subject of its forbearance application are the service fees that Northwestel will charge GNWT to operate the MVFL on its behalf.
    1. Please explain whether or not the service fees being referenced are equivalent to the service fees NLGP is charging GNWT to operate and maintain the MVFL network on its behalf, as indicated in its bidding contract.
    2. Please file the relevant operation and maintenance service rates, terms and conditions from the contract between NLGP and GNWT. If there is a second contract, between Northwestel and NLGP, please also file the relevant section (operation and maintenance service rates, terms and conditions) of that contract.
    3. In Paragraph 11 of its application, Northwestel states that the rates it would charge GNWT for the operation and maintenance of the MVFL, are the result of a competitive bidding process and are locked in by contract for 20 years. If the said rates for the operation and maintenance services are locked in a contract for 20 years, please justify why forbearance is necessary, including benefits and potential impacts for competition and GNWT.
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de Distribution

Ottawa, le 28 novembre 2016

Notre référence : 8640-N1-201609893

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Objet : Norouestel – Demande visant une abstention concernant l’exploitation et l’entretien du réseau de liaison par fibre de Mackenzie Valley – Demande de renseignements

Madame, Messieurs,

Le 10 août 2016, le Conseil a reçu une demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par Norouestel, dans laquelle l’entreprise réclame qu’il s’abstienne d’exercer les pouvoirs et les fonctions que lui confèrent les articles 25, 27, 29 et 31 de la Loi en ce qui a trait aux services qu’elle fournit au nom de Northern Lights General Partnership (NLGP), entreprise qui a été mandatée par le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (GTNO) pour concevoir, construire, entretenir et exploiter le réseau de liaison par fibre de Mackenzie Valley du GTNO. Plus précisément, Norouestel demande une abstention concernant les services d’exploitation et d’entretien qui appuient le réseau de liaison par fibre de Mackenzie Valley pour le GTNO.

Conformément au paragraphe 28(1)a) des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications, le Conseil peut exiger d’une partie qu’elle fournisse des renseignements ou des documents particuliers qu’il estime être nécessaires pour bien comprendre dans son ensemble la question sur laquelle porte l’instance.

Norouestel est tenue de fournir des réponses complètes, y compris tout renseignement à l’appui, aux questions ci-jointes, lesquelles portent sur la demande d’abstention susmentionnée. 

Norouestel a jusqu’au 8 décembre 2016 pour déposer les réponses aux questions de la demande de renseignements ci-jointe et signifier copie de celles-ci à toutes les personnes qui figurent dans la liste de distribution.

Toute partie à l’instance a jusqu’au 19 décembre 2016 pour déposer des interventions portant sur les réponses à la demande de renseignements ci-jointe auprès du Conseil, tout en signifiant copie de celles-ci à l’ensemble des personnes de la liste de distribution.

Norouestel a jusqu’au 22 décembre 2016 pour déposer une réplique finale et signifier copie de celle-ci à l’ensemble des personnes de la liste de distribution.

Comme il est énoncé à l’article 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications et dans le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961 intitulé Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, les personnes peuvent désigner certains renseignements comme confidentiels; elles doivent alors fournir une justification présentant en détail les raisons pour lesquelles il ne serait pas dans l’intérêt du public de communiquer les renseignements en question, en précisant pourquoi la divulgation de ceux-ci entraînerait un préjudice direct précis plus important que l’intérêt qu’il y aurait pour le public à les divulguer.

Lorsqu’un document doit être déposé ou signifié à une date précise, il doit être effectivement reçu, et non pas seulement envoyé, à la date indiquée.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

L’original signé par

Sheehan Carter
Directeur p.i., Politique de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c.      Jean-François Roof, CRTC, 819-639-2537
Kim Wardle, CRTC, 819-997-4945

Liste de distribution

Norouestel, Dallas C. Yeulett, regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca
SSi Micro LTD, Dean Proctor, regulatory@ssimicro.com
Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, Linda Maljan, linda_Maljan@gov.nt.ca


Questions adressées à Norouestel

  1. Comme indiqué dans la décision 94-19, la première étape de l’évaluation de la compétitivité consiste généralement à définir le marché pertinent, lequel constitue le point de départ de l’exercice d’abstention.

    Au paragraphe 14 de sa demande, Norouestel a défini le marché pertinent comme étant [traduction] « l’exploitation du réseau de liaison par fibre de Mackenzie Valley » dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Toutefois, au paragraphe 21 de sa réponse à l’intervention de SSi, Norouestel a défini le marché pertinent comme étant [traduction] « la fourniture de services d’exploitation et d’entretien d’un réseau de fibre pour un tiers ».

    1. Veuillez clarifier la définition de « marché pertinent » de Norouestel.
    2. Veuillez justifier pourquoi le Conseil ne devrait pas considérer l’exploitation d’une installation de fibre appartenant au client (telle que décrite dans son tarif des montages spéciaux) comme étant le marché pertinent.
  2. Partout dans sa demande et dans sa réponse à l’intervention de SSI, Norouestel utilise « NLGP » comme si cette entité était interchangeable avec le « GTNO » ou avec « Norouestel ». Veuillez clarifier et expliquer : 1) la relation qui existe entre Norouestel et Northern Lights General Partnership et déposer sous le sceau de la confidentialité l’entente de services conclue entre Norouestel et NLGP et 2) la relation qui existe entre Northern Lights General Partnership et le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest.
  3. Au paragraphe 7 de sa demande, Norouestel présente les responsabilités de NLGP concernant les services d’exploitation et d’entretien du réseau de liaison de fibre de Mackenzie Valley.
    1. Veuillez confirmer que Norouestel s’acquitte de ces responsabilités pour le compte de NLGP.
    2. Veuillez confirmer que la fourniture des services en question est actuellement assujettie au Tarif des montages spéciaux de Norouestel CRTC 3010, 772 – Introduction du service d’exploitation de l’installation de fibre du client. Si les services diffèrent de ceux à fournir selon les termes de ce tarif, veuillez l’expliquer.
    3. Au paragraphe 16 des observations en réplique de Norouestel, celle-ci affirme que, si le Conseil rejetait sa demande d’abstention, elle serait forcée de déposer un « tarif permanent » pour tous les services mentionnés au paragraphe 6, soit un tarif d’un type similaire à celui du tarif des montages spéciaux qu’elle a déjà déposé pour ces services (faisant ici renvoi à l’article 772). Veuillez préciser si un « tarif permanent » fait référence à un tarif approuvé de façon provisoire. Veuillez expliquer pourquoi Norouestel affirme qu’elle devrait déposer un autre tarif.
  4. Au paragraphe 11 de sa demande, Norouestel affirme que les tarifs, qui sont l’objet de sa demande d’abstention, sont les frais de service qu’elle imposera au GTNO pour exploiter en son nom le réseau de liaison par fibre de Mackenzie Valley.
    1. Veuillez expliquer si les frais de service auxquels il est fait référence sont équivalents aux frais de service qu’impose NLGP au GTNO pour exploiter et entretenir le réseau de liaison par fibre de Mackenzie Valley pour son compte, comme indiqué dans le contrat avec appel d’offres.
    2. Veuillez déposer les tarifs, modalités et conditions qui figurent dans le contrat conclu entre NLGP et le GTNO. Si un second contrat existe entre Norouestel et NLGP, veuillez aussi déposer la section pertinente de celui-ci (tarifs, modalités et conditions ayant trait aux services d’exploitation et d’entretien).
    3. Au paragraphe 11 de sa demande, Norouestel affirme que les tarifs qu’elle imposerait au GTNO pour l’exploitation et l’entretien du réseau de liaison par fibre de Mackenzie Valley sont le résultat d’un appel d’offres concurrentiel et qu’ils sont gelés pour 20 ans aux termes d’un contrat. Si lesdits tarifs applicables aux services d’exploitation et d’entretien sont gelés aux termes d’un contrat de 20 ans, veuillez justifier pourquoi une abstention est nécessaire en précisant les avantages et les incidences potentielles pour la concurrence et le GTNO.
Date de modification :