Telecom Procedural Letter addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 22 November 2016

Our reference:  1011-NOC2016-0192

BY EMAIL

To: Distribution List

Re: Telecom Notice of Consultation 2016-192 – Examination of differential pricing practices related to Internet data plans (the Notice) – Requests for increase to page limit and additional time for final submissions

Dear Madam, Sir:

On 3 November 2016, at the oral phase of the proceeding initiated by the aforementioned Notice, TekSavvy Solutions Inc. (TekSavvy) undertook to provide the Commission with a draft Net Neutrality Code (Code) reflecting the principles set out in its written and oral submissions. On 14 November 2016, TekSavvy filed its proposed Net Neutrality Code with the Commission.

On 17 November 2016, TELUS Communications Company (TCC) submitted a procedural request seeking an increase to the 15-page limit for final submissions set out in the Notice. TCC requested that all parties other than TekSavvy be given a right of reply to TekSavvy’s proposal in the form of an allowed additional filing, of no more than five pages in length, to be filed concurrently with their final submissions due on 23 November 2016. In TCC’s view, parties responding to TekSavvy’s proposal should be given a proportional opportunity to respond to the issues without having to dedicate a portion of their final submissions to the proposal.

On 18 November 2016, comments in support of a revised process were received from the Equitable Internet Coalition (Coalition) and Vaxination Informatique (Vaxination). The Coalition considered that parties have not had a chance in the written and public hearing phases of this proceeding to comment on TekSavvy’s proposal. The Coalition therefore argued that it would be unfair to require parties to use their allotment of 15 pages to address whether TekSavvy’s proposal would be an effective approach to the issues in this proceeding. Vaxination considered that all parties have had opportunities to propose similar regulatory frameworks in the course of the proceeding. It nonetheless argued that, should TCC’s request be approved, all parties should be given an opportunity to respond to any concrete proposals submitted. Vaxination therefore requested that the deadline for final submissions be extended to 10 days following receipt of these proposals, with the corresponding page limit increased to 20 pages.

In a letter also received on 18 November 2016, TekSavvy stated that it did not object to the proposals of either TCC or Vaxination. It further noted an intention to submit a revised Net Neutrality Code as an integral part of its up-to-15-page final submission as a result of suggestions it has received from other parties seeking to work collaboratively with TekSavvy.
Having carefully reviewed the submissions by TCC, the Coalition, Vaxination, and TekSavvy, the Commission has concluded that the existing process affords all parties a meaningful opportunity to participate in this proceeding. Parties have had the opportunity to file two rounds of interventions and to appear at the oral phase of the hearing, and they can file final submissions by 23 November 2016.

During the course of the oral phase of the hearing, panel members asked a number of parties, including TekSavvy, to undertake to expand on their responses provided to a question at the hearing or to a particular aspect of their submissions, or to file specific data. The Code submitted by TekSavvy in response to a request by a panel member generally reflects the submissions made by TekSavvy in its written and oral submissions.

The Commission considers that the 15-page limit on final submissions is appropriate and is sufficient to allow parties to respond fully to any matter raised on the record of this proceeding, including any new matter that may have been raised at the oral phase of the hearing and in the undertakings filed by parties on 14 November 2016. In particular, with respect to the requests made by TCC and Vaxination, the Commission does not consider that parties require additional time or the ability to file an additional five pages to respond to TekSavvy’s undertaking.

The Commission therefore denies the requests in question.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Danielle May-Cuconato
Secretary General


Distribution List

Andrew Falcone, Andrew.Falcone@crtc.gc.ca;
Suneil Kanjeekal, Suneil.Kanjeekal@crtc.gc.ca;
Josiane Lord, josiane.lord@crtc.gc.ca;
Eric Macfarlane, Eric.Macfarlane@crtc.gc.ca;
Regulatory.affairs@telus.com; benjiklass@hotmail.com; regulatory@teksavvy.ca; gwhite@piac.ca; tisrael@cippic.ca; stephen.scofich@tbaytel.com; jfmezei@vaxination.ca; michel.messier@cogeco.com; dennis.beland@quebecor.com; regulatory@distributel.ca; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca; cj.prudham@corp.xplornet.com; regulatory@openmedia.org; bell.regulatory@bell.ca; david.watt@rci.rogers.com; schewick@stanford.edu; vicky.eatrides@canada.ca; dbrake@itif.org; regulatory@sjrb.ca; document.control@sasktel.com; DBINGLEY@COBROADCASTING.COM; jay.thomson@cmpa.ca; aprovencher@adisq.com; jfortune@fortunelaw.ca;regulatory@cnoc.ca; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca; kevinskchan@fb.com; sylvie.courtemanche@corusent.com; sadams@cdt.org; barry@ncra.ca; regulatory@pelmorex.com; anthony@tibbs.ca; roslyn@layton.dk; rwadsworth@sandvine.com; bob.allen@abccomm.com; tim@tmdenton.com; Jennifer.Simpson@telus.com; Stephen.Schmidt@TELUS.COM; Daniel.Stern@telus.com; Eric.Edora@TELUS.COM;lawford@piac.ca; bsegel-brown@piac.ca

Date modified:

Télécom lettre procédurale adressée à liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 22 novembre 2016

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2016-0192

PAR COURRIEL

Destinataires : Liste de distribution

Objet : Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2016-192 – Examen des pratiques de différenciation des prix se rapportant aux forfaits de données Internet (Avis) – Demandes d’augmentation du nombre de pages permis pour les mémoires finaux et de temps supplémentaire

Mesdames, Messieurs,

Le 3 novembre 2016, durant la partie orale de l’instance initiée par l’Avis cité plus haut, TekSavvy Solutions Inc. (TekSavvy) s’est engagée à fournir au Conseil une ébauche de son Code de la neutralité de l’Internet (Code) reflétant les principes émis dans ses observations écrites et orales. Le 14 novembre 2016, TekSavvy a déposé son Code auprès du Conseil.

Le 17 novembre 2016, la Société TELUS Communications (STC) a soumis une requête procédurale demandant d’augmenter à 15 pages la limite pour les mémoires finaux énoncée dans l’Avis. La STC a demandé à ce que toutes les parties, excepté TekSavvy, aient le droit de répondre à la proposition de TekSavvy sous la forme d’un dépôt additionnel d’au plus cinq pages, devant être déposé concurremment à leur mémoire final au plus tard le 23 novembre 2016. Selon la STC, les parties répondant à la proposition de TekSavvy devraient recevoir une opportunité proportionnelle de répondre aux questions sans devoir dédier une partie de leur mémoire final à la proposition.

Le 18 novembre 2016, des commentaires en appui à un processus révisé ont été reçus de l’Equitable Internet Coalition (Coalition) et de Vaxination Informatique (Vaxination). La Coalition a estimé que les parties n’ont pas eu la chance de commenter la proposition de TekSavvy dans la phase écrite et à l’audience publique de l’instance. La Coalition a de ce fait argumenté qu’il serait injuste d’exiger que les parties utilisent leur attribution de quinze pages pour discuter de l’efficacité de la proposition de TekSavvy pour les questions de l’instance. Vaxination a estimé que toutes les parties ont eu l’opportunité de proposer des cadres réglementaires similaires au cours de l’instance. Il a néanmoins fait valoir que, si la demande de la STC devait être approuvée, toutes les parties devraient avoir l’opportunité de répondre à toute proposition concrète soumise. Vaxination a de ce fait demandé que la date limite pour les mémoires finaux soit repoussée de 10 jours suivant la réception de ces propositions, avec une augmentation correspondante de la limite de pages à 20 pages.

Dans une lettre aussi reçue le 18 novembre 2016, TekSavvy a déclaré qu’elle ne s’objectait pas aux propositions de la STC et de Vaxination. Elle a aussi noté qu’elle avait l’intention de soumettre un Code révisé résultant des suggestions qu’elle a reçues d’autres parties voulant travailler en collaboration avec TekSavvy, en tant que partie intégrante de son mémoire final ne devant pas dépasser quinze pages.

Ayant revu les observations de la STC, de la Coalition, de Vaxination et de TekSavvy avec attention, le Conseil a conclu que le processus existant offre à toutes les parties une opportunité significative de participer à l’instance. Les parties ont pu participer à deux rondes d’interventions et de comparaître lors de la partie orale de l’audience, et peuvent déposer des mémoires finaux d’ici le 23 novembre 2016.

Au cours de la phase orale de l’audience, les membres du comité d’audition ont demandé à certaines parties, incluant TekSavvy, de s’engager à développer leur réponse à une question lors de l’audience ou un aspect particulier de leurs observations ou de déposer des données spécifiques. Le Code soumis par TekSavvy en réponse à une requête d’un membre du comité d’audition reflète généralement les affirmations faites par TekSavvy lors de ses observations écrites ou orales.

Le Conseil estime que la limite de quinze pages pour les mémoires finaux est appropriée et suffisante pour permettre aux parties de répondre de façon complète à toute question soulevée au dossier de l’instance, incluant toute nouvelle question soulevée lors de la partie orale de l’audience ou des engagements déposés par les parties le 14 novembre 2016. En particulier, en ce qui concerne la requête de la STC et de Vaxination, le Conseil n’estime pas que les parties nécessitent la possibilité de déposer cinq pages additionnelles, ou ont besoin de temps supplémentaire, pour répondre à l’engagement de TekSavvy.

Le Conseil rejette par conséquent les demandes en question.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La secrétaire générale,

L’original signé par

Danielle May-Cuconato


Liste de distribution :

Falcone, Andrew Andrew.Falcone@crtc.gc.ca;
Kanjeekal, Suneil Suneil.Kanjeekal@crtc.gc.ca;
Lord, Josiane josiane.lord@crtc.gc.ca;
Macfarlane, Eric Eric.Macfarlane@crtc.gc.ca;
Regulatory.affairs@telus.com; benjiklass@hotmail.com; regulatory@teksavvy.ca; gwhite@piac.ca; tisrael@cippic.ca; stephen.scofich@tbaytel.com; jfmezei@vaxination.ca; michel.messier@cogeco.com; dennis.beland@quebecor.com; regulatory@distributel.ca; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca; cj.prudham@corp.xplornet.com; regulatory@openmedia.org; bell.regulatory@bell.ca; david.watt@rci.rogers.com; schewick@stanford.edu; vicky.eatrides@canada.ca; dbrake@itif.org; regulatory@sjrb.ca; document.control@sasktel.com; DBINGLEY@COBROADCASTING.COM; jay.thomson@cmpa.ca; aprovencher@adisq.com; jfortune@fortunelaw.ca;regulatory@cnoc.ca; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca; kevinskchan@fb.com; sylvie.courtemanche@corusent.com; sadams@cdt.org; barry@ncra.ca; regulatory@pelmorex.com; anthony@tibbs.ca; roslyn@layton.dk; rwadsworth@sandvine.com;bob.allen@abccomm.com; tim@tmdenton.com; Jennifer.Simpson@telus.com; Stephen.Schmidt@TELUS.COM; Daniel.Stern@telus.com; Eric.Edora@TELUS.COM; lawford@piac.ca; bsegel-brown@piac.ca

Date de modification :