Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 18 November 2016

File number: 8638-T102-201607657

BY EMAIL

To: Distribution List

Re: TELUS Communications Company’s Part 1 Application, Show cause proceeding for use of deferral account funds to improve access to telecommunication services for persons with disabilities – Response to request for interrogatory process and revised timelines

Dear Sirs/Madams:

The Commission received a procedural request filed by the Neil Squire Society (NSS), dated 8 November 2016 requesting that the Commission modify the process set out for the above noted application by adding an additional interrogatory process between parties.

NSS noted that it had asked a number of questions in its intervention to the current process, adding that the answers to these questions will allow all participants to fairly evaluate the proposed initiatives in the application.  NSS was of the view that TELUS Communications Company (TELUS) had not fully answered these questions and, as a result, it feels that the addition of a formal interrogatory process is necessary.  NSS submitted that the deferral account funds are a finite source of funds and it is important that all initiatives covered by these funds make impactful and meaningful progress for the accessibility of telecommunication services for persons with disabilities.

Commission staff considers that it would be in the public interest to grant NSS’ request. Commission staff therefore invites interested parties who have already participated in the current proceeding to address interrogatories to TELUS according to the revised process set out below.

Commission staff reminds parties that interrogatories must remain in scope of the current proceeding, and must be related to the proposals outlined in TELUS’ current application.

Set out below are the dates for the interrogatory process and the revised dates for TELUS’ reply:

Sincerely,

[Original signed by]

Nanao Kachi
Director 
Social and Consumer Policy
Consumer Affairs and Strategic Policy

c.c.:  Meghan Zwiers, meghan.zwiers@crtc.gc.ca
Megan Maloney, megan.maloney@crtc.gc.ca

Distribution List:
regulatory.affairs@telus.com; Eric Edora, eric.edora@telus.com; Isabell Morneau, ISABELLE.MORNEAU@telus.com; Harry Lew, harryl.neilsquire@gmail.com; Anthony Tibbs, anthony@tibbs.ca; Gary Birch, garyb@neilquire.ca; Lui Greco, lui.greco@cnib.ca; Rob Falconer, rbflaconer@me.com

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 18 novembre 2016

Numéro de dossier : 8638-T102-201607657

PAR COURRIEL

Destinataires : Liste de distribution

OBJET : Demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par la Société TELUSCommunications, Instance de justification concernant l’utilisation des fonds du compte de report pour améliorer l’accès des personnes handicapées aux services de télécommunication – Réponse à la demande de renseignements et de modification de délais  

Mesdames, Messieurs,

Le Conseil a reçu une demande procédurale datée du 8 novembre 2016 présentée par la Société Neil Squire (NSS), dans laquelle l’entreprise demande au Conseil de modifier le processus établi pour la demande susmentionnée en y ajoutant un processus de demande de renseignements entre parties.

NSS a souligné qu’elle avait posé plusieurs questions dans son intervention relative à la présente instance, et a ajouté que les réponses à ces questions permettraient à tous les participants d’évaluer équitablement les initiatives proposées dans la demande. NSS était d’avis que la Société TELUS Communications (TELUS) n’avait pas répondu à ces questions de façon exhaustive et, par conséquent, estime que l’ajout d’un processus de demande de renseignements officiel est nécessaire. NSS a fait valoir que les fonds des comptes de report sont limités et qu’il est important que toutes les initiatives financées par ces fonds réalisent des progrès concrets en vue de l’amélioration de l’accès des personnes handicapées aux services de télécommunication.

Le personnel du Conseil considère qu’il serait dans l’intérêt du public d’accéder à la demande de NSS. Ainsi, il invite les parties intéressées qui ont déjà pris part à la présente instance de faire parvenir leurs demandes de renseignements supplémentaires à TELUS conformément au processus révisé décrit ci-dessous.

Le personnel du Conseil rappelle aux parties que toutes les demandes de renseignements doivent cadrer avec la portée de la présente instance et être liées aux propositions énoncées dans la demande susmentionnée de TELUS.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous les dates associées au processus de demande de renseignements ainsi que les dates modifiées relatives aux réponses de TELUS :

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs, mes sincères salutations.

[Original signé par]

Nanao Kachi
Directeur
Politique sociale et des consommateurs
Consommation et Politique stratégique

c.c. : Meghan Zwiers, meghan.zwiers@crtc.gc.ca
Megan Maloney, megan.maloney@crtc.gc.ca

Liste de distribution :
regulatory.affairs@telus.com; Eric Edora, eric.edora@telus.com; Isabell Morneau, ISABELLE.MORNEAU@telus.com; Harry Lew, harryl.neilsquire@gmail.com; Anthony Tibbs, anthony@tibbs.ca; Gary Birch, garyb@neilquire.ca; Lui Greco, lui.greco@cnib.ca; Rob Falconer, rbflaconer@me.com

Date de modification :