Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Mr. Stephen Schmidt (TELUS Communications Company)

Ottawa, 9 November 2016

Our reference: 8663-C12-201015470 and 752802

BY EMAIL

Mr. Stephen Schmidt
Vice-President - Telecom Policy & Chief Regulatory Legal Counsel
Telecom Policy & Regulatory Affairs
TELUS Communications Company
215 Slater Street, Floor 8
Ottawa, Ontario K1P 0A6
regulatory.affairs@telus.com

RE: 9-1-1 calling using TELUS Extend service

Dear Mr. Schmidt:

Thank you for your letter dated 11 October 2016 wherein TELUS Communications Company (TELUS) provided responses to the request for information from Commission staff dated 28 September 2016 which was intended to assist the Commission in determining whether the provision of the TELUS Extend service by TELUS complies with the Commission’s obligations concerning the provision of 9-1-1 services.

Commission staff notes that TELUS designated the entirety of its response to the request for information as confidential pursuant to section 39 of the Telecommunications Act and Rule 32 of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure.

In the event that the Commission were to initiate a proceeding, a public file with respect to this matter which will include the two letters noted above, will be created. As such, please provide an abridged version of TELUS’ response to be made available as part of the public file, or provide reasons, as well as any supporting documents why an abridged version cannot be filed.

TELUS is requested to file this information with the Commission by 14 November 2016.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector
c.c.:  Jesslyn Mullaney, CRTC, 819-953-5255, jesslyn.mullaney@crtc.gc.ca

 

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à M. Stephen Schmidt (Société TELUS Communications)

Ottawa, le 9 novembre 2016

Notre référence : 8663-C12-201015470 et 752802

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Stephen Schmidt
Vice-président – Politique de télécommunications et conseiller principal en réglementation
Politique de télécommunications et Affaires réglementaires
Société TELUS Communications
215, rue Slater, 8e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 0A6
regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Objet : Appels au service 9-1-1 effectués au moyen de l’application Extension de TELUS

Monsieur,

Nous avons bien reçu votre lettre du 11 octobre 2016 dans laquelle la Société TELUS Communications (TELUS) répond aux questions que le personnel du Conseil lui a adressées le 28 septembre 2016 dans le but d’aider le Conseil à établir si le service Extension TELUS qu’offre la compagnie respecte les obligations imposées par le Conseil à l’égard du service 9-1-1.

Le personnel du Conseil souligne que TELUS a désigné l’ensemble de sa réponse comme confidentielle, conformément à l’article 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications et à l’article 32 des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes.

Si le Conseil décide de lancer une instance, il créera un dossier public qui contiendra les deux lettres susmentionnées. Par conséquent, veuillez nous remettre une version abrégée de la réponse de TELUS qui serait destinée au dossier public, ou nous exposer les raisons pour lesquelles TELUS ne peut le faire et fournir tout document à l’appui.
TELUS a jusqu’au 14 novembre 2016 pour fournir les renseignements demandés au Conseil.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.
Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications
c. c.  Jesslyn Mullaney, CRTC, 819-953-5255, jesslyn.mullaney@crtc.gc.ca

Date de modification :